We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Where to backpack in Europe

Florida Keys...
7 posts
Save Topic
Where to backpack in Europe

I am a college student spending May in Verona Italy and July in Marseilles, France. I have all of June to explore the area, what is the best route? I am thinking of going to Venice during the study abroad, and then traveling down to Rome, flying from Rome to Athens then going from there someplace else until the Marseilles trip where I would like to go to Paris. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to fill the 3 week gap?

Mentioned in this post
Verona
Verona
Province of Verona, Italy
France
France
Europe
Venice
Venice
City of Venice, Italy
Rome
Rome
Lazio, Italy
Athens
Athens
Attica, Greece
Paris
Paris
Ile-de-France, France
Eiffel Tower Summit Priority Access...
584 Reviews
from US$74.70*
Likely To Sell Out
Moulin Rouge Show Paris
3,240 Reviews
from US$103.20*
Likely To Sell Out
Eiffel Tower Priority Access Ticket...
646 Reviews
from US$48.60*
2 replies to this topic
r c
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8,125 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: Where to backpack in Europe

welcome,

you have all of Europe in your back yard.

Have you looked at any travel books? have you tried to google for anything? There are travel shows too. You can look at the top of each destination for "things to do and see" but you need a desktop to view. You can go to your local library to find travel books. Or you can head to a book store too. So much info out there.

you dont say what interests you have either..

also, "backpack" will mean different things to different people.

- do you mean you will be carrying your stuff in a pack/bag/duffle? and using trains, buses, and planes to get around?

- or do you mean walking/hiking and camping with a tent and sleeping bag your way across Europe?