We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Want to speak Dutch

Appalachian...
Level Contributor
12 posts
53 reviews
Save Topic
Want to speak Dutch

All Dutch students are required to become proficient in English, I realize.

I'm going to Holland for two weeks in September. I'm studying Dutch, can read it fine, want to practice speaking it.

I'm looking for more chances to speak. Is Deventer such a place? Any other suggestions?

Steve

Dutch restaurants in Deventer
Restaurant Huis Vermeer
$$ - $$$, French, Dutch, Seafood
Fooddock
$$ - $$$, Dutch, Bar, International
Deventer
Belgian, Dutch, European
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Destination Expert
for Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
59,362 posts
214 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Want to speak Dutch

Hi Steve,

Mmmm... difficult one. Sandya also learned this the hard way in her route to become proficient - esp. in Amsterdam they immediately start to reply in English once they hear a non-Dutch accent.

On the other hand, in the countryside (where English proficiency is less common) some people tend to use dialect, which is not really good for improving your 'ABN' (standard Dutch). For that matter, the region where the best standard Dutch seems to be spoken is Haarlem and surroundings.

Midsize cities further away from 'Randstad', but not in far-off provinces with a strong cultural identity like Groningen/Friesland/Limburg, might be the optimum. Deventer is an example, Apeldoorn and Arnhem also come to my mind. And if someone replies in English simply tell them 'Sorry, kunt u mij helpen om beter Nederlands te spreken' and that should bring them back on their Dutch feet again...

But anyhow that trick _should_ work even in Amsterdam or Rotterdam or so.

Have a nice time,

<Erik> & [Sandya]

Mentioned in this post
Amsterdam
Amsterdam
North Holland Province, The Netherlands