We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vienna, OEBB newbie: Train & tickets Vienna to Budapest

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
98 posts
Save Topic
Vienna, OEBB newbie: Train & tickets Vienna to Budapest

Hello, I'm from the US and traveling from "Vienna to Budapest" early September. 1st class, 2 people traveling. So excited as this is my first time in both cities.

How much is first class if bought on the day of travel? Do this route ever sell out? Will buy online now if I can save $$. No experience buying from oebb.at.

I want to ride in an Austrian railjet. I was looking at schedules at oebb.at. When the train type says railjet for a schedule, is there a possibility that eobb changes the train to an EC or older train models due to glitches on the day of travel? Or if it says railjet on my ticket, it will be a railjet?

At oebb.at, I played around with a date of travel just so I get familiar with the website, then the ticket price kept going up online for that date because I kept going back and forth between the previous page and current page. That's why my question about pricing on the day of and if route sells out as I think this is a popular route(?).

Thanks.

Mentioned in this post
Vienna
Vienna
Vienna Region, Austria
Budapest
Budapest
Central Hungary, Hungary
11 replies to this topic
Vienna, Austria
Destination Expert
for Vienna, Austria, Innsbruck
Level Contributor
25,376 posts
29 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Vienna, OEBB newbie: Train & tickets Vienna to Budapest

If you want to know the price for a regular, fully flexible 1st class train ticket, just do a search for tomorrow morning, when discounted tickets aren't available anymore.

www.oebb.at/en