We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

10 days, starting and ending in Budapest - where to go?

San Diego...
1 post
Save Topic
10 days, starting and ending in Budapest — where to go?

I'll be flying in to Budapest July 1 and leaving July 12 — both days in which I'll be getting in late and leaving early, so they're pretty much out in terms of checking out the city. That leaves me 10 days, starting in (but not limited to) Eastern Europe. Thinking realistically about travel time (I don't want to spend all my time on a train), where else should I go? Vienna is pretty much a shoe-in, because it's so close, but it's less on my personal priority list than, say, Munich, Prague, Berlin, or Krakow. I'm also tempted to do a more southern loop and go to Croatia, since it'll be beautiful in July, but it's my first time in Europe so I do want to hit some of the major spots. Keep in mind I have Hungarian heritage, so I also want to spend a decent amount of time in the homeland. I'm also a 21 year old girl traveling alone, so I'm going to be a cautious traveler (but I'm also going to be seeking good night life/beer/music/etc). I'm trying to be thrifty, but I'm also flying in from Tel Aviv after my free Birthright trip for like $150 roundtrip, so since I'm spending virtually nothing on airfare I could probably spend a bit more on budget flights/train rides between countries.

I'm a bit at a loss to what is feasible given the amount of time I have, but since I'll be alone I have a feeling I'll be bored by more than 2-3 days in a city.

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
1,824 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: 10 days, starting and ending in Budapest — where to go?

Bumping, as this post encountered a technical glitch. Sorry for the inconvenience, Arielle; hopefully other members will be able to assist you now.

Dan