We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How much safe the place is?

3 posts
Save Topic
How much safe the place is?

Hello,

I am a student from UK and going to Kualalampur for a conference. I wanted to visit any of the islands in MY and Langkawi just blew my mind. So I booked tickets there. However, during filling in the form of insurance coverage from university, I came to know that UK government does not approve this place to be a very safe place to go. So if I want to visit, I shall get my coverage for Kuala lampur and not for Langkawi. Well since I already booked my tickets, I am surely going! I just wanted to know how this places for a traveller from foreign? Kindly let me know if any proper medicine/ vaccination can be considered? Is this a place where normally many tourists go, or it is just for locals? Thanks a lot.

Mentioned in this post
Langkawi
Langkawi
Langkawi District, Malaysia
8 replies to this topic
Leeds, United...
Destination Expert
for Langkawi, Langkawi District
Level Contributor
11,789 posts
230 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: How much safe the place is?

Hi

I spend quite a lot of time on Langkawi and it is very safe indeed. There are numerous tourists visiting from many different countries without a problem and you will have no problems either.

As for what injections you may need, then you should seek the advice of your GP as we do not know your medical history or what injections you have had previously.

Oh and BTW it is Kuala Lumpur or KL for short, not Kualalampur.

Mentioned in this post
Langkawi
Langkawi
Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur
Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
3 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: How much safe the place is?