We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Algonquin canoe route and campsite suggestion

sepandee
Level Contributor
88 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Algonquin canoe route and campsite suggestion

Hi everyone, at the risk of angering the Internets (because I've asked this elsewhere as well), here I go:

So this is for (please don't laugh) The canada day long weekend, Friday to Monday. I'm not that experienced, but have done this about a dozen times. The other 5-7 people in the group, pretty new to this.

What we're looking for:

* Access Point: No more than a 4-hour drive from Toronto; Outfitter or canoe delivery available;

* Route difficulty: easy to medium; No more than 6 hours of total travel and 1.5km of portaging

* Lake (where campsite is): *MUST* be scenic. I want some of that 'wow' factor. Killarney and Lake OSA are 'wow. North Tea is 'wow' (in a different way). So yes, wow! And a lake that's good for swimming (clear, not famous for leeches or algae)

* Campsite: looking to stay only in 1 campsite.

Large and flat enough to fit 3 tents.

Ideally relatively open and elevated with some breeze to keep the bugs away.

A sunny front (beach or flat rock) to enjoy the sun (Algonquin owes me this!) would be nice.

And relatively easy access to firewood

Of course a lot of sites are taken for the long-weekend. My fallback plan is North Tea, but this time on the west side in case the winds are too crazy.

PLEASE MAKE THE DECISION FOR ME. I WILL INVITE YOU TO A PINT IF WE EVER CROSS PATHS!

But in all seriousness, (a Canadian) apologies for asking this questions again, and thank you. I really do appreciate it.

Mentioned in this post
Toronto
Toronto
Ontario, Canada
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
269 Reviews
Algonquin Provincial Park, Canada
12 replies to this topic
sepandee
Level Contributor
88 posts