We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Altitude adjustment concerns.....

3 posts
Save Topic
Altitude adjustment concerns.....

Hello,

Flatlander here...traveling to Colorado for the first time for a wedding in telluride.

I have zero experience with high altitude and do not know how I am going to fair regarding altitude sickness, we are staying one night in montrose which I hope will help with acclimization a bit. But I have a random question and just looking for some general feedback.

I heard somewhere that taking a bath is not safe in high altitude? I don't know if that is in reference to extreme altitude or not... but it concerns me because I am a big bath addict... can't sleep without one and so is my daughter, is this something I need to be concerned about?

I am a bit of a worry wort and have been spending way to much time googling altitude sickness.

Thank you for any info you can give me

Mentioned in this post
Colorado
Colorado
United States
10 replies to this topic
Colorado
Level Contributor
12,422 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Altitude adjustment concerns.....

That is one of the strangest things I have ever heard. Where did you read/hear that? People come to the mountains and soak in hot tubs and hot springs, and I assume many people take baths as well.

Excellent information here, please read: https:/…

www.altitudemedicine.org/altitude-illness/

altitudemedicine.org/myths-about-altitude/

3 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Altitude adjustment concerns.....

I know it is a weird question... I fell down the Google rabbit hole and found it on some website regarding how to avoid altitude sickness in which it stated to avoid baths, alcohol and smoking.

3 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Altitude adjustment concerns.....

Thanks for the links 😉

Colorado Springs...
Level Contributor
238 posts