We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Photography around Longyearbyen (and souvenirs within!)

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
281 posts
61 reviews
Save Topic
Photography around Longyearbyen (and souvenirs within!)

I'm a hobbyist photographer and I've seen a number of photographs of a row of coloured houses and an area of cotton grass in front set in Longyearbyen. Can someone please say where it is, and if it is safe to walk to by myself?

Is it near a lagoon and/or dog kennels?

I've also read of a church in Longyearbyen - is it photogenic? :)

Any other recommendations for places I can safely walk to for photographic purposes?

Also - I love to pick up a souvenir of a trip. Typically something like a handmade carving - so in this case I'd be looking for a polar bear, arctic fox, walrus - an animal I hope to see on my cruise :) Is there anywhere in Longyearbyen to buy something like that? Or will I try my luck back in Oslo?

Thanks!

16 replies to this topic
Harstad, Norway
Destination Expert
for Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
32,756 posts
39 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Photography around Longyearbyen (and souvenirs within!)

The houses and the church are within the settlement where you can safely walk around.

Anywhere else, you would need transport.

For souvenirs, try the supermarket.

http://tinyurl.com/y9lqq7a4

Oslo, Norway
Destination Expert
for Oslo
Level Contributor
938 posts
94 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Photography around Longyearbyen (and souvenirs within!)

This photo from Wikipedia covers nearly all of Longyearbyen: https:/…Longyearbyen_panorama_july2011.jpg

I'm guessing the photos you've seen are of some of the houses in this area: https://goo.gl/maps/4mWWNH6C4zG2 There isn't a lagoon, but the northern edge of town is on the Adventfjord.