We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Darrea H wrote a review Mar 2020
Trenton18 contributions23 helpful votes
I just returned home from 4 day cruise on the re-conditioned Carnival Sunrise. The cruised was chartered by Invicta Watch. I must say this was one of the best cruises I have been on and I have over 100 cruise days under my belt. Carnival did a great job updating the old ship.
Read more
Sail Date: March 2020
Cabin Type: Balcony
Type of Trip:
Destination: Bahamas
Cabin
Dining
Service
Pools & Sundecks
Onboard Activities
Entertainment
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Carnival Sunshine

105 reviews
 All photos (2,727)2,727
Full view
Traveller (472)
Common Areas (1,538)
Dining and Bars (730)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary

Overview

About
Passengers: 3,006   |   Crew: 1,040
Passengers to crew: 2.89:1
Passengers to space: 34.2:1
Launched: 1996   

Decks

  • Deck 1
  • Deck 2
  • Deck 3
  • Deck 4
  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
Additional decks
Deck 1 layout
Cabins
  Interior Upper/Lower (1A)  
  Interior (4A)  
  Ocean View (6A)  
  Porthole (PT)  
  Interior (4B)  
  Ocean View (6B)  
 

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 185 - 185 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 12
Accessible rooms: 5
Maximum passengers: 4
Number of cabins: 508
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 33
  • 19
  • 9
  • 5
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
HNGSR wrote a review May 2020
Virginia Beach, Virginia11 contributions12 helpful votes
My wife and I went on a five day Bahamas cruise the first week in March 2020 out of Charleston South Carolina. This by far was the easy port we have ever cruised out of. They are very organized and swiftly get people on and off the ship. This cruise just happen to be during spring break and right before the pandemic hit so the ship was full of life with young college people. The activities was constant and the cruise director was on point. We all had a safe and enjoyable cruise full of fun onboard and at every port of call. Highly recommend sailing out of Charleston SC.
Read more
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
JenAngl24 wrote a review Mar 2020
Lynchburg, Virginia36 contributions20 helpful votes
Overall we had a great vacation but there were definitely areas that could be improved. Detailed review below! Food: Breakfast: We mainly ate at the buffet for breakfast due to time constraints. The buffet itself was not very impressive. The scrambled eggs were not great compared to other hotels/etc boxed scrambled eggs. The potatoes weren't great aside from the last day when they had friend hashbrowns. The bacon was soft and gross. However they do have omelet / egg stations in the 2 stations in the Havana bar so I survived on made to order eggs medium and a little oatmeal from the buffet. Not bad overall, but not great. Lunch: The taco place, pizza place, and the burger place are all amazing! Don't bother with the buffet unless you want a salad to go with the above... The lunch buffet on half moon cay was also great. Also try the empanadas at the Havana Bar - amazing!! Dinner: The meals in the main dining room were good. If you do your time dining, download the app and requesting a table is super easy. We had a party of 6 and never waited more than 10 minutes. Very Easy. Food was good, however service was slow most nights. Also noticed that the quality of items has gone down since last cruises we took and you now have to pay extra for things like filet and lobster. Some nights we had great service in the dining room, but at least 2 nights it was painfully slow. No complaints on the taste of the food. Everything was good. Loved the lamb Shank and the fried chicken! Steakhouse: Food was fine, but not really much better than the dining room. Definitely not worth the $40 each we paid to go there. It was fine but nothing to write home about and not worth the extra fee Beverages: We ordered the CHEERs package. Not super impressed. My counterpart drinks miller light and that was fine. However, service at the bars was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Slow. The bartenders know how to ignore you and not make eye contact until they are ready to serve you. Cheers doesn't really work well and is biting bartenders in the A$s because bartenders have to ring up all possible 15 drinks separately and cant combine anything. We really would have liked to have drinks in the room but we would go to the bar and have to wait like 15-20 minutes to get a drink. Ridiculous. They really need more bartenders. They have 2-3 a bar but a lot of times only one is service drinks and the other 2 are ringing in the receipts and stocking the bar. Cheers really didn't feel worth it because of the wait for drinks. We weren't ever able to actually order more than 10-11 drinks in a day per person! Additionally I'm a vodka soda drinker and you aren't allowed to get more than 1 shot with a drink. I believe their shots are just 1 ounce. So I wasn't even able to get slightly tipsy on the cruise between the watered down pours and slow service. Definitely a turn off!!!! If you drink liquor don't get the drink package. Also very hard to have drinks in your room with Cheers. We ordered a nice balcony room and would have loved to enjoy drinks on the deck but between the waits on the drinks and the weak drinks we spent more time going to the bar and waiting than being able to enjoy drinks on our balcony. Carnival should have a better package with this in mind. Also they need a ALOT more bartenders because this was ridiculous. I really don't want to spend hours of my vacations hanging out at the bar with bartenders avoiding eye contact until they are ready to take your drink order. Drink service was also very slow in the dining room. Very Disappointed in the Cheers Package. They promote $3 extra for a double but you cant get this with Cheers so you are stuck with super weak drinks!!!!!! I suppose it helps curb some craziness but for someone who just wanted to get a few drinks to feel good it was freaking impossible!! Lastly they have switched to diet pepsi instead of coke! Yuck! Would much Prefer Coke. And you have to go to a bar even if you have the bubbles package and again wait for the bartender to wait on you to serve you a soda....Grrrrrrrrr!!! Lastly, never once was I offered a drink laying by the pool...….whaaaaat? Room: We had a Balcony Spa Room on 12. Can't recommend this enough. The balconies are bigger than most. And this is close to the adults only pool areas. You get access to spa services and free thermal suites. It would be nice if they would block some lounge chairs for these rooms. The only complaint was that the water pressure would cut off at times. I was in the shower and lost hot water all together and had to turn on cold water to finish my shower. Also wish we could have enjoyed the balcony with drinks easier as mentioned above. Entertainment: Comedy shows and shows were good. No complaints. Ports: Freeport has not recovered from the hurricane. We had a good time but isn't a lot to do in the port and shop owners hound you for purchases. Half Moon Cay was great. Tender boats were good. We got off early and didn't wait for the boat and got good seats. No excursion needed here if you just want to chill on the beach this is your place. Tons of servers to SELL drinks and the rum punch at the pirates bar was great. Overall it was a fun time with friends and luckily we had mostly good weather (last day at sea was cold and windy) but there are definitely things carnival should take into consideration.
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
2bemullins5 wrote a review Mar 2020
Bristol, Tennessee376 contributions166 helpful votes
Family cruise for New Years Eve...we have raised on several different lines, incl Carnival. This was a 5 night cruise to Bahamas and Coco Cay. We had two balcony rooms beside of e other. Sailed out of Charleston, SC. The cruise itself was fine...loved the NYE celebration on the ship! We would definitely take another NYE cruise! The ship itself was ok. We didn't care for the layout (not easy to navigate). The specialty restaurants were very good. We ate at all of them and didn't eat at the buffets. Def try the asian and the Italian specialty restaurants. Avoid the other restaurants that are included with your cruise fee. The bars were quite crowded and there usually was only one or two bartenders on staff for each so wait times were long. Service was just 'meh' at the bars in general. The cruise director was amazing and really created excitement though...made our cruise so much better! Overall, go for the NYE event and def get a balcony or better room. Our rooms were small and standard cruise rooms. Noise level above them was high. Room steward did a. nice job though. Overall, wasn't our worst or best cruise.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Darrea H wrote a review Mar 2020
Trenton18 contributions23 helpful votes
I just returned home from 4 day cruise on the re-conditioned Carnival Sunrise. The cruised was chartered by Invicta Watch. I must say this was one of the best cruises I have been on and I have over 100 cruise days under my belt. Carnival did a great job updating the old ship.
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Cheryl l wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
Everyone should try the italian restaurant on the ship. The food was excellent and the staff was very helpful.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456