We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norm M wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
This review is actually for Carnival Cruise Lines as a whole. They should be ashamed of themselves. I was originally booked on the ship July 2019. Two weeks before the cruise I was notified that my cruise was cancelled due to a mechanical issue. Ok, things happen. We understood but were disappointed. We ended up booking the exact same cruise for 3/14/20. We flew out on the 13th for the cruise. We were notified by Carnival around 8pm on the 13th that the cruise was canceled due to the Coronavirus. Ok, we understood this. However, we were already in town & ended up flying back the next day. Thank you Southwest Airlines for not charging me the extra air fare cost that you could have which would have been about $2000. I contacted Carnival to either be refunded for my airfare or provide me travel credit or whatever so I can cruise with them again. I was told 100% NO by someone named Janet who said she's the highest person that I can talk to. I highly doubt someone that answers the phone is the highest person I can talk to. She said the only thing she can do is have another person(a peer of hers) call me back. What a joke. If Carnival had canceled the cruise earlier when most other cruise lines had I would never have flown out. That was a terrible decision by Carnival to wait so long. I understand they don't want to cancel cruises but if you're going to cancel so last second you should take care of the people that were already there. So I've now had 2 of the exact same cruises cancelled by Carnival in 9 months. Ok things happen, but how can you not address the airfare I paid due completely to decisions Carnival made. If the original cruise wasn't cancelled which was completely a Carnival issue I would never have been in this position in the first place. My situation is very unique. Janet could have cared less. She said we are offering you a refund so you're getting your money back. Really, legally you have to give me my money back as you cancelled the cruise. The worst thing about this is Carnival clearly has told the people that answer the phone to just say NO & pass them around. There is no way Janet is the highest person I can speak with. Now she's just going to have a peer call me to say the same thing. That's even more insulting than Janet blowing me off. I understand everyone is in a terrible situation & there were others that had flown out the day prior. However, my situation is completely unique due to Carnival already cancelling the same cruise months earlier. Stay away from Carnival. There are companies that do the right thing such as Southwest. Carnival is definitely not one of them. I was going to cruise again with Carnival. I do cruise a lot & will now take my money and cruise on the many other cruise lines there are & you should to.
Read more
Sail Date: March 2020
Cabin Type: Outside
Type of Trip:
Destination: Caribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Carnival Vista

66 reviews
 All photos (2,816)2,816
Full view
Traveller (799)
Common Areas (1,365)
Dining and Bars (799)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary

Overview

About
Passengers: 3,936   |   Crew: 1,450
Passengers to crew: 2.71:1
Passengers to space: 341:1
Launched: 2016   

Decks

  • Deck 1
  • Deck 2
  • Deck 3
  • Deck 4
  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
Additional decks
Deck 1 layout
Cabins
  Interior Upper/Lower (1A)  
  Interior (4B)  
  Porthole (PT)  
  Ocean View (6A)  
  Deluxe Ocean View (6M)  
  Interior (4A)  
  Deluxe Ocean View (6L)  
 

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 185 - 260 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 176
Accessible rooms: 30
Maximum passengers: 4
Number of cabins: 877
Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 16
  • 10
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
January wrote a review 11 Oct
Irving, Texas11 contributions1 helpful vote
Took the 7-day cruise for our Honeymoon, had an amazing time! Here are some of the highlights to our experience: The Blue Iguana Tequila Bar- Mr. Chow, Arif, and Putu were always the life of the party, especially when they found out that we were Honeymooners. You guys were awesome and we miss you already!! The Blue Iguana Cantina- We LOVED the Breakfast burritos from this place, and their tacos were amazing too. Unfortunately, we didn't' get to know these guy's names but they were always ready to make some of the best food on the ship! Aft Pool Bar- Jesse was another guy who became one of my buddies, great service and open til midnight unlike some of the other bars! Thank you Jesse!! Level 5 Coffee Bar - Joe and Wanpen were hard-working baristas and always gave a friendly, positive vibe, even when they were slammed with coffee orders. Joe was so funny too, excellent taste in music (90's all the way bro) and when he found out my wife's name (Faith), he even threw in a "I gotta have FAITH!!" Hahah, thank you both for a wonderful experience! Stateroom Attendants- Gerald and his team were absolutely superb! They were all very friendly and fast! I never had a bad experience with any of them and I remember even asking Gerald "Do you ever sleep!?" He seemed to always be working hard at making our experience the best he could. Thank you Gerald, again you and your team were outstanding! Romaine on the Steel Drums - This guy dropped my jaw, I didn't know what to expect when I first heard there was gonna be a guy playing steel drums. When I heard him, I immediately went to see who was playing the steel drums so flawlessly. Very talented guy. very nice and open for requests! Guy's Burgers- These burgers caught us by surprise, we expected a good burger, but it was so good, I went back for another instead of finishing my fries! I definitely needed a nap after that but it was worth it! I loved that I could completely customize the toppings on my burger as well, great job guys! There were so many other people that made this a great cruise but these were the top ones I can remember. Kendall Fire, the cruise director, was pretty hilarious as well, what a character! She definitely adds to the fun and works hard to keep the energy up.
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Joey C wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions
So we took the Vista out last year, June 2020, then Covid hit. So cancel the next two trips (we’ve been on 14 so far). So now we’re vaccinated and fully tested so that we can cruise again. Now we sit down to eat in the formal dining room about to enjoy a great meal and ask for my favorite drink while in a cruise, double Crown on the rocks. The waiter comes back and says we no longer have Crown. WHAT?!? Carnival is no longer going to serve Crown. I asked the manager and he said sorry, pick something else. Carnival this is unacceptable.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Mandy B wrote a review Mar 2021
Thunder Bay, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
We have been on many cruises (Carnival, RCL, NCL) and the New Year's Eve cruise 2019-20 was the best experience we have ever had on a boat! We travelled as a group of 8 (4 adults, 4 kids ranging in age from 6-16) and everyone had a great time. Our only complaint was dining room food was tepid (not hot) but otherwise everything was excellent.
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
sandslasher wrote a review Oct 2020
Lawton, Oklahoma2 contributions
we had a nice cabin and I enjoyed it. the dining was great. all I have to say it was all the best. I would so do it again. #doing it January but to Hawaii
Read more
Helpful
Share
guanic wrote a review Apr 2020
Cedar Hill, Texas34 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Highly recommend it 👍🏻 To much to say but here are a few pictures 😎🛳 we been cruising for 4 years now & we are hook .
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456