We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dr Malcolm B wrote a review Nov 2022
66 contributions59 helpful votes
We went on a transatlantic cruise to the Caribbean on board Marella Discovery2 in October / November 2022.

What was good about the cruise:

* The ship visited all the ports on the dates and times advertised.
* The cabin was excellent and the stewards were friendly and looked after us well.
* A wide variety of free entertainments was available on board - theatre shows, line dancing, dancing lessons, craft courses, lectures etc. All were of a high standard.
* A remembrance service was held on board - excellent.
* The staff aboard were all friendly and helpful
* The cost of the cruise represented good value

What needs improvement:-

They put far too much emphasis on using the tui 'navigate' app during the voyage. for example:
* All bar drinks menus were on the app and varied from bar to bar.
* We were told to check in for our flight home using the app. This required purchase of expensive internet access from the ship. Despite trying to log in for the check in process on many occasions at all times of the day and night this was not possible. It caused a lot of stress and upset at the end of the holiday. Passengers were then told to check in at the cruise terminal in Montego Bay, Jamaica. This involved queuing for an hour in the terminal, return to the ship, then once more to go ashore to the terminal for immigration clearance. This took one and a half hours more queuing for hundreds of people in line in the hot sun. This process was totally unacceptable in terms of organisation, particularly as many passengers were elderly.
* Internet access on the ship is expensive and very very slow
* The food provided was adequate but nowhere near as the high standard on a previous cruise.
* The food provided on the long Tui flight home from Jamaica was of a very poor standard.

Positive suggestions for improvement:-

* Have a standard list of drinks with ingredients available at ALL bars in a printed booklet provided to passengers. This is what happened on a previous cruise several years ago on the same ship and worked well.
* The check in process for the return flight needs radical improvement. On the same cruise a few years ago, immigration officers were invited on board the air conditioned ship. Passengers had times allocated to deal with the formalities and all proceeded smoothly and swiftly. PLEASE GO BACK TO THIS METHOD - IT WORKS!
* The food provided in 'Islands' self-service restaurant requires improvement.
* Some drinks were not available and others were very dilute
* Improve the speed of the internet access on board
Read more
Sail Date: October 2022
Cabin Type: Suite
Type of Trip:
Destination: Caribbean
Cabin
Dining
Service
Pools & Sundecks
Onboard Activities
Entertainment
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Marella Discovery 2

305 reviews
 All photos (534)534
Full view
Traveller (505)
Common Areas (109)
Dining and Bars (55)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary

Overview

About
Passengers: 1,836   |   Crew: 771
Passengers to crew: 2.38:1
Launched: 1996   

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 139 - 172 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 54
Accessible rooms: 0
Maximum passengers: 4
Number of cabins: 268
Traveller rating
  • 137
  • 85
  • 38
  • 19
  • 27
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Lucy b wrote a review Today
1 contribution
+1
First time on a cruise and we had the best time. Food & drinks were brilliant. Staff were lovely & friendly Entertainment was good especially the evening shows. All destinations we went to were lovely. Definitely book again with this cruise line x
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John G wrote a review Jan 2023
Durham18 contributions33 helpful votes
My wife and I were first time cruisers so have no benchmark to compare the Marella Cruise 'Flavours of the Caribbean'. We enjoyed the experience but are unlikely to take another cruise. Mainly for the following reasons: a) Although the ship was large, facilities and entertainment excellent and all staff helpful, friendly and efficient, we still felt a little confined, looking at the Caribbean but unable to swim or enjoy the palm fringed beaches which we would have available in an hotel. b) We understand that there are circumstances where the itinerary may have to be changed, but we were told many weeks prior to the sailing date that the trip to Grand Cayman would not take place as the port was too busy on that day and that a visit to Ocho Rios would be included in its place. c) However, the visit to Ocho Rios turned out to be only a few hours on the morning of the first day, leaving no time to take any excursions, e.g. Dunns River Falls. Presumably this was due to the delayed arrival of our flight from UK. d) In addition, on boarding we were told that the visit to Mexico would not occur due to a problem with the ship being unable to manoeuvre in a small harbour. We were advised that this would now be replaced by a visit to Grand Cayman! We appreciate that this was arranged for a different day to the original date for the Grand Cayman visit. e) Because of high winds, the ship had to stay in Havana Port overnight instead of leaving in the afternoon, consequently arriving at Grand Cayman much later and thus shortening the visit. This meant that instead of the 3 excursions originally included in the itinerary, there was only one (the Havana visit) that was as advertised - and of the remaining two, Cozumel was totally cancelled and substituted by a few hours in Ocho Rios and Grand Cayman was cut short. Obviously not the cruise we had anticipated enjoying. To date, we have not been offered any discount for the loss of the Cozumel visit and its unsatisfactory replacement or for the shortened visit to Grand Cayman.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Denise R wrote a review Jan 2023
Dukinfield, United Kingdom15 contributions4 helpful votes
The boarding experience was long after a delay on the flight but once aboard that was well organised. We had a deluxe cabin which I’m glad about due to the size of the others and there was plenty of storage space. I met FALTON, our cabin worker on the 1st night and he was fantastic from the beginning . He remembered our names, he was there whenever we needed him, he put birthday banners and balloons in the room for my husband after seeing a card. He was extremely polite, friendly, attentive and good st his work the whole week. I was slightly disappointed with some of the food as I did expect 5 star but on some occasions it was just ok. The surf and turf restaurant was amazing though ( you have to pay 3xtra for that). I paid for extra drinks package but not sure it was worth it for us. It was also frustrating that no 2 drinks were the same, 1 night the cocktail was nice, the next it was awful! There was plenty to do throughout the days at sea, so much so that it was very loud with quizzes, shows, music bands etc that it was hard to read a book if you also wanted sunshine. I think we prefer land holidays but will probably do another cruise depending on where it’s going as some of the places we went to weren’t great. Friends we were with went on Marella 3 years ago and commented that the service and food wasn’t as good as it was when they travelled last time.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Helen P wrote a review Jan 2023
Swindon10 contributions7 helpful votes
We had planned and booked our cruise eleven months ago . The night before our departure while at the airport we were informed our cruise destination had completely changed. No option but to accept £200 pp compensation but devastated.The entertainment team did their best but every thing about the cruise was ruined. Not what we had booked at all. Will NOT be cruising with TUI again.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stephen M wrote a review Jan 2023
Amman2 contributions11 helpful votes
We booked a TUI for the selection of destinations and not as a traditional Caribbean cruise. However, the ship has a technical problem, making it not so manoeuvrable during windy conditions, which has been apparently broken since last year. We were only informed that our original planned itinerary was changed whilst onboard and only offered a £200 pp goodwill gesture on a holiday that cost nearly £6000. However, looking at past reviews, this was the same experience for other travellers. Therefore why are passengers not informed in advance as I would have cancelled this cruise? I cannot express our disappointment on this overrated TUI cruise, especially when we specifically booked expecting to visit Mexico, Honduras, Guatemala and Belize and not to spend most of the time in Cuba and Jamaica. I advise anyone looking for a cruise to select a more reliable and honest cruise line. This has put me off selecting TUI for any holiday destination in the future.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456