We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Donny B wrote a review Nov 2022
Amarillo, Texas2 contributions
Beware for Annet (cats duo) in the entertainment department. She will request favors like almost $100 shipping labels. Currently on the Diamond Princess out of San Diego
Read more
Sail Date: November 2022
Cabin Type: Balcony
Type of Trip: Solo
Destination: Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Royal Princess

159 reviews
 All photos (2,737)2,737
Full view
Traveller (609)
Common Areas (1,576)
Dining and Bars (842)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary

Overview

About
Passengers: 3,560   |   Crew: 1,346
Passengers to crew: 2.64:1
Passengers to space: 39.95:1
Launched: 2013   |   Refurbished: 2018

Decks

  • Deck 4
  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
  • Deck 7
  • Deck 8
  • Deck 9
Additional decks
Deck 4 layout
 

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 222 - 233 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 30
Accessible rooms: 29
Maximum passengers: 4
Number of cabins: 1029
Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 30
  • 28
  • 14
  • 15
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
noncorteccia wrote a review Jan 2023
Moab, Utah291 contributions110 helpful votes
We were looking forward to this cruise for a long time. My 81 year old mother, who had never been on one, especially. We were meeting in Seattle, flying in from different states, still covid protocols in place. A couple weeks before departure we were informed that we would be running one engine short due to maintenance. Too late to cancel or change our plans. So we were passing up Ketchikan to our great disappointment. We looked on the bright side, had an excursion planned in each port. When we finally boarded, we found tickets to 2 of our 3 excursions. The first - helicopter to glacier in Juneau, had been cancelled. no reason. But we could rebook a more expensive one, with additional parts to the helicopter ride. Mom can't walk far. we didn't want to pay hundreds more on top of what we already paid. So helicopters went, but only for those who paid premium. Next stop, Skagway. Our boat adventure? cancelled. our time on shore? cut short due to slow boat. Icy Straits, was ok. the boat tour, ok but not great. We were promised whales and saw 2 dorsal fins. whoopee. Our toilet stopped working, with no prior notice due to issues. not working for hours. The next day, it stopped working again. for about 6 hours. Our third excursion in Victoria? cancelled due to short time because of slow boat. The onboard entertainment was ok, probably tainted view due to all the canceled excursion and one guy who led a couple of the activities that really didn't want to be there. In case you're keeping score, all our pre-booked activities were canceled. Every. Single. One. Good parts - a couple of the dinners were really good. and the room service ordering on your app was good. not a lot of variety and the breakfast was ok at the beginning, but toward the end the food didn't seem as fresh and the staff didn't seem as happy. Also, I was celebrating my birthday and thought I was to get a surprise in the cabin. Little did I know my surprise was all my excursions were to be canceled. :( Mom and sister will not go on another cruise due to the horrible time we had on this one. I will try again, but will do Norwegian Cruise Line.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kathie J wrote a review Jan 2023
Sebastopol, California420 contributions20 helpful votes
I did not travel on Royal but Ruby., From San Fran to vancouver bc. 7 days. I had no idea what to expect. My best friend she is on her 4th. It was the best ever. Never disppointed 1 day. Good food. good staff. Good drinks. and very clean. I have no idea why these people are complaining. So impressed Im takng my husband on a trip to MX riveriers for 10 days in March. Will post a trip report upon return.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jim W wrote a review Jan 2023
4 contributions4 helpful votes
Well as you can imagine there's a long story behind the title but in the end this is a beautiful ship with so much potential but unfortunately it sounds like from the top down within the organization princess has decided to become the cruise line of mediocracy. We had reason to expectations good, not great, food, good service, a vacation feel with happy people, to be treated like customers, and to receive what we paid for. After addressing the issues on our 5-day cruise with the cruise lines we were inevitably told that we should find a new cruise line that can deliver what we expect understanding the above was all we really expected. In the end the cruise line fell short in several areas. The food in the buffet was scarce and tough to eat. They were often out of most items and anything for kids was gone shortly after opening and not replaced. Believe it or not it was kind of tough to find something decent to eat on this cruise ship without waiting an extremely long time for it to be delivered through the app which often took two and a half hours or more. We attempted to get into some of the specialty restaurants but they were all fully booked for the cruise yet as we walked by them seem to have several available tables we got the feeling maybe they weren't seating all tables as there was a staffing issue. The first night the lava cake could not be penetrated with a forkery knife seriously we pointed it out to staff they found it quite amusing and continued to stab at it in amazement laughing it off the entire time but it was indicative of quite a bit of the food we attempted to try during the trip including the food in the dining room which was almost unedible on prime rib night. We also encountered a whole lot of grumpy people Don't quite know what it was from the person who made us get up out of our chair when we relaxing on the upper deck watching the Christmas boat parade to the security officer who grabbed my granddaughter's hot chocolate out of her hand and threw it in the garbage as we were exiting the ship as we weren't aware we couldn't leave with a hot chocolate. It wasn't the fact she did it... it was how she did it and we encountered quite a few people that just seemed to be very unhappy in what they were doing on the ship. Oh and by the way if you win something in the casino and can't find anybody to help you cash it in it goes on your account but then they don't send it to you for 12 weeks until after leaving the ship. We have been on several cruises and never heard of such a thing they don't print out tickets to cash in it just goes on your bank but then try to find somebody to cash that bank in was almost impossible. The whole thing was really weird and continues to feel weird as we're told will receive our winnings in another couple of months has the casino is operated by a third-party vendor. The third party vendor happens to be carnival Cruise lines which owns princess. Seems pretty convenient for them to be able to hold on to that money for a long period of time....... Just odd. And finally the one that totally shocked me. I had purchased the premium drink package which allowed me the top shelf alcohol. I was ordering old fashions and was noticing quite a bit of change and taste from bar to bar. Then I got one that was just really lousy and I went back to the bar and asked the bartender if he in fact served me the right alcohol. He responded that they hadn't had any of what I had ordered for quite some time so he had poured me Jack Daniels. I started kind of watching this for the rest of the cruise and noticed when I went bar to bar some places would grab me some Woodford not necessarily the woodford I had ordered as they had a higher grade Woodford on the menu and some would grab me chevis and some would grab me jacked annuals in other words they would pour whatever they had available Even if it was an $8 alcohol and I was ordering and $18 alcohol. You get that's kind of a bait and switch it's not ethical and it's not right and it seemed to happen throughout the ship. Now here's the real rub when I tried to take this information to princess Cruise lines they acted like they don't want to hear it. They're not interested in discussing it they didn't find it interesting or out of the ordinary they just responded that I should shop elsewhere for a different cruise line that could provide what I expect. I expect to get what I paid for which I think is the expectation of any consumer. So in the end if you have any expectations princess is not the cruise lines for you and that's directly from there corporate customer service representatives.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
youonlyliveonce2017 wrote a review Jan 2023
Canada9 contributions4 helpful votes
I recently went on my first cruise! After much research I picked Princess Cruises! It was a great decision! I loved almost everything and would recommend Princess too all! I travelled on Princess Regal with my brother out of Fort Lauderdale for an 8 day cruise. Great service from beginning to end! Great food from beginning to end! Great entertainment from beginning to end! Also, Enjoyed my time off the ship!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lawerance P wrote a review Dec 2022
Houston, Texas5 contributions3 helpful votes
I have thousands of $ in credit refunds that Princess is making so difficult in getting back from 2020. This kind of constant asking for more information is leaving a very bad taste in me and my wife. The cruise was cancelled. Just process my refund. So simple. Now portions are expiring Dec 31, 2022, it seems.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456