We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blown away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Air New Zealand


Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 helpful votes
“Blown away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016

Where do I even begin with the perfection of Air NZ? Flew business class and it was the best flight of my life ever! Lovely and friendly staff, loads of amenities, awesome and diverse in-flight entertainment, so much space and you can even lie down to sleep. They serve a wicked smoothie that I couldn't get enough of... think I had 3 glasses before the plane even took off. Never gonna forget my wonderful experience with Air New Zealand and hopefully I'll have a chance to fly with this airline again.

  • Travelled September 2015
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Seat comfort
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food and Beverage
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Legroom
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, movies)
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value for money
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Helpful?
Thank twiinklex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,995 reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 helpful votes
“Very very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016

We had to take a flight at short notice to LA and thought we would have to rough it, but no, Air Zealand were not only the cheapest on that day but by far the best.

The seats are amazing and different any other airline that we have flown with. To convert to a bed the seat back flips forward. Once flat the crew then come and "make" your bed with another mattress and duvet. Very nice.

Food and service were excellent. This would be our first choice of airline, even better than Emirates.

Travel Tip: Business class is exceptional
See more travel tips
  • Travelled September 2015
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Seat comfort
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food and Beverage
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Legroom
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, movies)
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value for money
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Helpful?
Thank AltonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 helpful votes
“Lack of space and comfort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016

I felt that the capsule style seats we were in were very uncomfortable. The footrest did not go up as such it remained almost level. As the flight was at night it was very hard to sleep in this seat. It wasn't really practical to get up and walk around much because other people were sleeping and kind of sprawled across aisles. I arrived in Los Angeles with almost no sleep and very swollen feet and ankles. Not a very pleasant experience. We actually took this flight in 2013 but the drop down arrow below only goes as far back as Sept 2015 so I chose that option. Hopefully it is better than it was when we flew.

Travel Tip: If you can afford business class do it. If you can fly other than at night non-stop do that also.
See more travel tips
  • Travelled September 2015
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Seat comfort
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food and Beverage
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Legroom
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, movies)
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value for money
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnside, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 helpful votes
“Comfort with character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016

A cheerful smile and NZ accent greeted us into our comfortable and stylish seats. Food was good and the entertainment system clear and easy to use. Seating good for our backs and enough leg room, given it was economy class.

Travel Tip: find a window seat behind the wing for a good view
See more travel tips
  • Travelled November 2015
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Seat comfort
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food and Beverage
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Legroom
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, movies)
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value for money
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Helpful?
Thank CDMLMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 helpful votes
“Good, Comfortable and Reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016

Good quality airline, well run service which I am happy to use again. I have no negative comments to make as I was very please with my flight.

Travel Tip: Can't go wrong with this carrier
See more travel tips
  • Travelled November 2015
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Seat comfort
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food and Beverage
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Legroom
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, movies)
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value for money
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Helpful?
Thank ChrisyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC