We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alitalia still has class and meal choices that impress🍷”
Review of Alitalia


Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

When returning to Italy I always want to stop in Rome and travel with Alitalia . I had some problems with ticketing and limited ground service at JFK, but once airborne they have good service and complimentary wine in my Economy Plus class.

Date of travel: October 2019
2  Thank 60avac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (20,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 176 of 20,135 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2020

From boarding and staying in the plane very pleasant Spacious chairs have great entertainment Delicious food Professional and pleasant staff I had a very positive and good experience for a relatively long flight I will definitely choose always come this airline

Date of travel: January 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Sagit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

I was so happy last year when I used Alitalia but something has changed. It is not the same anymore. We were served a single pastry for breakfast. The air hostesses were really unfriendly. The foldout table of the passenger next to me was broken. We were seated tight behind premium economy and it would have been ideal to move him there since he paid extra for the little extra legroom he had. He didn't want the full service, he just wanted a table that worked. Don't fly with Alitalia!!! I am already dreading my return flight.

Date of travel: March 2020
Thank Marius V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2020

The service was standard. Flight attendants were courteous & professional. The meals were adequate - nothing to write home about. Beverage service was limited - once down the aisle & never seen again. Flight was on time.

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Kleitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2020

We were a party of four, including a boy 12 years old , after a ski vacation in Val Gardena. We had reservations for the morning flight at 11:30 from Verona to Rome AZ 1489 , and from there at 14:30 to Tel Aviv. By the time we completed our vacation , the anxiety with the corona virus was pretty high and therefore we have decided to avoid the public transportation from our hotel in Selva di Val Gardena to the Verona airport ( bus to Bolzano rail station, an hour and a half by train to Verona rail station, and a taxi from the railway station to Verona airport) and took a taxi directly from the hotel to the airport , minimizing unnecessary contact with of people, and thus the risk of contagion.. Upon check-in we were stunned to hear at the counter that we were removed from the flight we were expected to board, "since the subsequent flight to Tel Aviv ( which we were supposed to connect) was cancelled". When we asked why we were removed from the flight to Verona which was on time and nothing to do with the cancelled flight, the lady at the counter retorted that "we were advised about the change by an e-mail to our smartphone".. We told her that we were skiing on the mountain and didn't get any such message, but she told us "that's was our problem' and we have a flight from Verona the next day at 06:30.. Now just imagine this: we were running away from Verona and Alitalia wanted us to go back to the city, look for a hotel and come back at the middle of the night to be ready for the slated early morning flight.. and all that without mentioning the costs of transportation, the hotel bill , food etc.. and mind you, all of this when we have a valid reservation to the plane we were in line to board..and still with no explanation why we were removed from our flight in the first place. Needless to say that we were flabbergasted and outraged- but at no avail. After about 15 minutes oh harsh words and growing frustration we were directed to the nearby ticket office, as there is no Alitalia counter at Verona, to start the process again. Only due to a remarkable and mindful lady at the ticket counter, Francesca? God bless her soul, she managed to reinstate us on our original flight in time for boarding.. The 10 hours the we spent at Rome airport , waiting for our connecting flight at 23:00, were nothing in comparison to the alternative that we had faced - spend another day and half night in Verona. Incidentally, both our original flight from which we were bumped, and the connecting flight from Rome were about third empty. As a veteran of 50 years of countless flights and airline companies, I know that failures could occur with any airline. But shall never forgive Alitalia for totally unnecessary and with rigid stupidity willing to risk the health of my family with their "rules", irrespective of their faulty systems and/or how irrational and dangerous they are. "Thanks for flying Alitalia."

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Customer service
    • Food and Beverage
3  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.