We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost our 1st Class Seats”
Review of American Airlines


Reviewed 4 April 2019

We were coming home from a cruise. We were using AAdvantage miles for FIRST CLASS travel home. We arrived at the airport about 45 minutes before our flight, knowing that we could check in at the 1st Class counter and that we both hold Global Entry Status meaning we're also TSA Pre-Check. AA usually starts boarding domestic flights 30 minutes before departure, so we should have had ample time.

Unfortunately, at the check-in counter we were told that in Puerto Rico one must have checked in ONE HOUR prior to departure, AND your bags have to be cleared through an additional Dept. of Agriculture screening before being presented for check-in.

We missed our flight because of the (previously undisclosed) extra steps, though we were "accommodated" on the next flight out. We also missed our in-flight meal as the next flight was in Coach.

I'd also note that the San Juan airport is extremely crowded and has almost NO OUTLETS available in the concourse area. If you hope to charge anything, be the person who brings a power-strip and you MAY be able to share an already-occupied outlet.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank JCareyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (72,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16,010 - 16,014 of 72,255 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2019

Flight time was great as they saved nearly an hour getting us into and out of Dallas before rush hour. Meal wasn't that great but the snack was very good. Had plenty of leg room and good entertainment selection. Service was a little lacking as we weren't even offered water other than snack and meal.

Date of travel: March 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank larrywhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2019

The flight was ok. Just your typical flight these days however the flight attendants were literally sitting in the back of the plane on the phone the entire flight

Date of travel: March 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2019

No water offered because same old story, flight too short. Sat on the runway way to long in Charlotte to get to gate, guess no one knew we were coming, right? I have taken this flight 3 times in 4 weeks and this keeps happening. If you have another way, by all means take it. You will be glad you did.

Date of travel: April 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2019

I have flown AA two times now. Upgraded seats for 2 on first trip with layovers. Guess what missed it and had to be on stand by. The plane sat at the gate for 20 minutes after the gate was closed. Customer service is horrible and does not care for their passengers. Had a flight the second time around with a lay over in Dallas, had 10 minutes to get off the plane to get to the gate. Guess what? Didn’t make it. I also got a credit card with AA and was promised a $200. Credit for being approved. Guess what, that didn’t happen either. This will be my last flight with them. Always flew United and never had a problem. I believe I will stick to United. BEWARE!....

Date of travel: April 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
4  Thank bleggett2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.