We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking experience”
Review of British Airways


Reviewed 26 December 2019

On the 2/12/19 we arrived at the check in to be told that we were 4 minutes late my wife had used the British Airways APP to book our boarding passes and had allocated our seats due to unforeseen circumstances my sons car tyre was flat and we used his compressor this took a little bit of time the check in staff were very unhelpful and did not offer any advise to cut a long story short all our flights were cancelled and to continue our holiday to the USA cost us another £1490 on top of the £2000 we had paid in August I hope these people are pleased with themselves we have just recently retired after working all our lives disgusting what happened to us

Date of travel: December 2019
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank Stepking123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (55,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,927 - 2,931 of 55,397 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2019

Part I - Our British Airways flight of origin was delayed causing us to miss our NON-STOP flight out of Chicago to Rome.

Part II -
Redirected to another flight out of Chicago to Rome - mechanical delay = 8 hours
Smaller plane than expected for international flight
Seats we previously chose were not available - stuck on the back row against the wall by the bathrooms - CRAMPED!

Routed through Barcelona Spain
Upon arrival to Barcelona, we checked with ticketing and they did not have us on the passenger roster to Rome - had to beg and plead to get on the flight
Ran to the gate to board for departure
Original arrival in Rome schedule for 10AM; ACTUAL arrival 9PM

NO LUGGAGE upon arrival
The delay caused us to miss meeting our transfer (already paid for)
New transfer = $350
The delay also caused us to miss the last ferry to the island we were meeting friends/staying at (apartment paid for)
New hotel reservation for the night = $75

Our luggage did not arrive until four (4) days later
New clothes = $200

British Airways / American Airlines are pointing the fingers at each other for the delays and refuse to take responsibility for the delays / extra costs / delayed luggage.

Lack of concern, customer service is disturbing. LIVE and LEARN!
Would I use them again? Never say never - they wouldn't be my first choice but if I had to . . .

Was our trip spoiled? We were in ITALY - come on!!!

Date of travel: May 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank smstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 December 2019

This was our second time to fly with British Airways in six months.
First experience - great!
This experience - no so great!

Delayed out of Nashville three hours.
Missed our connecting flight in Chicago due to delay.
This began an unfortunate string of events that could have ruined our trip, but we didn't allow it to.

Plane was smaller than we expected but was only about two hours, so it was fine.
Smaller plane = smaller seats/legroom
A snack was served.

I would recommend you see the next review posted from me that continues this flight from Chicago to Rome and see where this adventure took us and how the delays affected us.

British Airways / American Airlines are pointing the fingers at each other and refuse to claim responsibility or offer any form of compensation for delays, missed flights, delayed luggage (4 days), missed transfers, lost hotel nights paid for, etc., etc., etc.

Will I use them again? Never say never - but they won't be on the top of my list.

Date of travel: May 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank smstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 December 2019 via mobile

Excellent service from start to finish. The professionals who work with BA take their jobs as a career and as a client you always feel as though you are in confident and capable hands. I will always travel BA over any discount airline. It’s a simple choice for me

Date of travel: December 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
2  Thank TanyaO345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 December 2019

Packed going, long delay on tarmac. Almost empty returning. It didn’t seem to influence the level or quality of the service??

Date of travel: December 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.