We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice flight but restricted space”
Review of Etihad Airways


Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Had always wanted to travel with Etihad and chose to this year for our holiday to Abu Dhabi. Got to say, I was a little surprised. We flew out on a Dreamliner and I felt very restricted in my seat. The crew worked from the minute we boarded until the second we disembarked.. I just didn’t enjoy the flight experience.

Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hi Cath, we're sorry to hear that you were not happy with your seat. Thanks for your feedback and we will share it with the concerned team. *Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 404 of 11,474 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2018

During check-in I opted for premium seats with additional leg room.
We travelled as a family with a 4 and 8 year old child and obviously we wanted to sit together in one row.

I did pay for 4 seats in one row - but when we got our boarding passes, it was 2 seats in one row and 2 in another row.

As if that wasn't bad enough, Etihad's guest relation service even refused to credit us back the upcharge that I had paid.

Never again!

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank thorstenvoigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hi Thorsten, this doesn't sound ideal. Please send us your case reference and your ticket number in a private message on one of our Social Media channels (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram), so we can have a look into your case and assist you further. *Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

I was a very loyal client of Etihad Airways for the best part of three years (Etihad Guest Platinum) despite living in Switzerland and China and before actually moving to the UAE.

Whilst Etihad still has above average Business and First Class products (with better comfort levels and cabin service) that beat any of the European and US carriers, their Economy class is just unbearable. The service is extremely poor (rude and unprofessional) and comfort is below average (non reclining seats, broken seats etc).

Besides, most of the previous benefits of being loyal to Etihad (Platinum Guest) have been terminated. Not even free standard seat selection prior to 24hrs ahead of boarding is available. As a matter of fact, trying to book on approximately 10 flights recently showed NO standard seats available even 2 weeks prior to a flight! In addition, there’s no more barber service or complimentary chauffeur service (other than full fare first class I believe).

Dealing with their hotline and other ground staff is horrendous. They don’t answer questions, as a matter if fact it appears they don’t even read emails properly. They make tons of mistakes and come up with incredible lies as excuses. Hiring quality instead of quantity would help.

The irrational acquisitions of Alitalia and Air Berlin have taken their toll and the clients are the ones who suffer. One can just hope that Emirates is taking over soon.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
2  Thank MarcusZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hi Marcus, we're sorry to learn about this. Thanks for taking the time to share your review with us. Your feedback will be passed on, as we are constantly trying to improve our services. *Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Flights are always so full you can't get enough space for your bag in the overhead department if you are not first in. They charge you for the emergency exit seat 60-70€ and you will get less leg room than in a low cost airlines because seats are so packed. Awful! Avoid it if you can! It's a no star airliner, not a five one like they like to call themselves!

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
2  Thank Milos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hi Milos, we're sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with the space on board. Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. *Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Initial flight from Bangkok delayed causing numerous passengers to just miss connection at Abu Dhabi. Told at Bangkok and by cabin crew that connecting flight would be held but it wasn’t.

Some offered a subsequent later direct flight to London. Others like me given a flight to Rome at 2am in morning with a further 3 hour wait in Rome for flight to London. Overall delay 18 hours. Etihad offered $100 dollars compensation for use on a further booking. Rubbish offer. Think twice about booking with a non-UK airline who are not bound by EU compensation arrangements.

Thank Extraordinary181361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Hello, I am sorry to learn about your delay.
We appreciate you took your time writing about your experience. *Isi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC