We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we had a bigger plane for the flight to London”
Review of Finnair


Reviewed 25 February 2020

We arrived from Delhi in Helsinki on 15.02.2020 (storm Dennis in UK) at gate 43 and interestingly our flight to London was from the same gate. I suspected that our A 330 would be moved and an A 320 would arrive but how wrong I was. When in the lounge waiting for our London flight I asked what plane we were on and the lady said an A330 so I said was that the Delhi flight and she said yes. I think because of the coronavirus isuue some flights to the Far East had been cancelled so we got a bigger plane back to London that day. Service was "European" but the Finnish crew were great - we were in our same seats as the flight from Delhi and looked after well. Coming into London because of the storm we had to circle for some 20 minutes and full credit to the pilots - it was very, very bumpy landing but the larger plane made a big difference. Thanks Finnair for getting us home safe.

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Tim784
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (7,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 157 of 7,620 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2020

Finnair is like Volvo... it gets you from from point a to point b reliably and safely, it gives you a good ride, but nothing spectacular, it is definitely not the cheapest but not the most extensive either and so on...

All in all a very mediocre flight in very positive sense.

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank jussiaaltonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2020

Really enjoyed this flight. Boarding was ahead of schedule - we were sitting in the lounge when the flight was called 10 minutes before due. Boarded with pre-flight drinks - interestingly on these flight now it is an all Indian crew but they were fantastic. Pre lunch drinks orders were taken when ordering lunch which arrived promptly and lunch was very good - we ordered salmon as opposed to the two local dishes on offer. Flight was smooth but entertainment system a bit limited - galley bar and snacks available. I passed on the pre landing snack - pasta dish as we were flying on to London where a meal would be served. Landed in Helsinki roughly on time which gave us at least an hour in the new lounge in Helsinki, I feel Finnair just keep on improving.

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Tim784
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2020 via mobile

We flew to Finland recently with Finnair.To get to Ivalo we had to take 2 flights. The staff were very smiley and helpful. All the fights were on time and smooth takeoff and landings. They include juice water and tea and coffee in the flight price. We went to Finland to see the Northern lights. Unfortunately we didn't see them but the flights were very comfortable.

Date of travel: February 2020
1  Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2020

My wife and I went for honeymoon in iceland during winter time on 8/2/2020. During the flight, Finnair has lost our luggages (2 check in luggages which have all the winter cloth and our necessity). we made a report at the Keflavik airport, but they didn't tell us that we need to keep our purchase receipt and we only realized that after 2 days. So the stuff that we bought earlier on we had the receipt so is ok. But the thing that feel cheated is We bought other necessities such as shampoo/ socks etc on 11/2/2020 morning and we had the receipt. we only received our luggages on 11/2/2020 evening. We email them the proofs that we bought the stuff before we received the luggage but they refused to pay back despite we only claim for one person. So our luggages got delayed due to their fault and we need to struggle without our winter coat and our personal stuff for 3 days. try to call to their customer service but can't get through. email them but no reply. i hope they can contact us as soon as possible.

Date of travel: February 2020
3  Thank Hoh19899
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.