We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and service despite being a budget airline”
Review of Skymark Airlines


Reviewed 21 December 2018

Exceptional ground staff at the check in at Kobe airport which went out of their way to help check in.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank tony12cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2018 via mobile

Disclosure: I almost always fly business class and am a bit of a snob about air travel, but I decided that for this short-haul flight I would give relatively low-cost Skymark a try. I was very happy with my choice. Everything from booking to seat selection to screening to boarding and inflight service worked very smoothly. The staff were extremely attentive and happy. The plane was a comfortable Boeing, such a nice change from the wretched regional jets prevalent on similar short-hop routes in the US and elsewhere. I was impressed by the calmly rational boarding process - first window seats, then middle seats, finally aisles - that worked efficiently. While in-flight service was expectedly limited, I was really blown away that one flight attendant stood at the head of the aisle for the entire two hour flight, entirely focused on scanning passengers to see if she could render assistance. Even on first class flights I’ve never seen such devotion to service. It’s a pity that much of Skymark’s business model could never be made to work outside Japan, reliant as it is on social norms in that country: in the US, staff would quit during the first day of training when they were told that they actually had to be nice to the customers.

Date of travel: November 2018
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

I really love skymark as it has a good service with less price and they also allow 20 kg of Cabin luggage. The flight was in time and the staffs are very friendly.

Date of travel: July 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
1  Thank shahnewaj85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Shopping carefully allows flying Skymark to Haneda rather than one of the LCC fares plus baggage charges to Narita. My latest flight was comfortable and on time.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank jimtokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2018

From my feeling, it is NOT a LCC nor FSC (Full Service Carrier), it is between them. The airfare is NOT so cheap, and the services are OK ( but you have to buy ). At HANEDA, they use bus from terminal to planes, instead of using boarding bridge. It is sometimes troublesome if it is rain. At Nagasaki airport , they use same boarding bridge as FSC uses. The problem is that they stop at KOBE on the way of the flight since KOBE is their HUB airport. Overall it is OK because regular airfare is cheaper than FSC regular airfare, but comparing FSC's discount airfare, they are similar price.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank D6666GP_
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.