We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer handling”
Review of United Airlines


Reviewed 4 February 2023

Paid extra so that I can sit in the same row as my kids, first they changed my flight, then separate all of our seats, and asked me to pay extra to sit together in the preferred seats. The lady working at terminal was so rude to even talk to me. This is at Miami gate H14.

Date of travel: February 2023
Thank fikira2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (55,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,287 - 2,291 of 55,385 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2023

United Airlines deserves a class action lawsuit. They talk about and falsely advertise that you can use plus points to skip the line on international upgrades and yet these flights are literally never available. This is in addition to deteriorating conditions of their buiseness/first class planes that use the old seats with broken trey tables that you can't use to even eat on. I am a 1K and never been more disappointed in this airline.

Date of travel: December 2022
Thank JDBOHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2023 via mobile

My husband & I were traveling for a much needed vacation (via United Vacations) to Punta Cana in the DR on 4/1/2022. I was filling out our online Dominican entry info & doing online check-in at 2am when I discovered our 6 am flight to Newark (EWR) had been cancelled & rescheduled for 4/2/2022 due to need for staff rest. I frantically contacted United & was told there were no other flights that could get us to our destination in Punta Cana that day, even using a “sister airline”. When we arrived at the Buffalo airport the next day, both the person at the ticket counter & at security informed us that if we had shown up at the airport on the 1st, they would’ve gotten us out to our destination that day! Very aggravating! We had stayed at the Barcelo Bavaro Beach resort in the past & thoroughly enjoyed the resort. We attempted to stay another day to make up for our lost night (turned out to be 5 nights vs 6 nights), so we didn’t even book an excursion, as we didn’t really know when we’d be returning home, & at that time, we needed a negative Covid test within 24 hrs of returning back to the states, and we never heard back regarding another return flight. When we returned home, I requested a refund for my lost night at the resort & was told I’d have to put it through my travel insurance! Then United vacations initially only refunded for 1 person while there were 2 of us traveling…ridiculous! After spending hours trying to get partial compensation for wasted parking reservations and an extra day that my dog was boarded, not to mention my inconvenience, all they gave me was 7500 flyer miles which I don’t plan on using! Needless to say, I’ve lost all trust in United airlines & their United vacations; it’ll be a hard NO for me!

Date of travel: April 2022
Thank Dee2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2023

EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED! When I arrived at Washington DC airport on 1/31/23 I stopped at the desk at the end of the terminal for directions. The United employee working the desk asked me (A COMPLETE STRANGER) to walk an unaccompanied minor to the next gate. *I did so as I have experience assisting children is stressful situations as I have worked in a large kid centered hotel for many years.* So on top of being lost myself, I have to now navigate 2 large buildings and take a bus with a strange child with me. I then have to assist this child in getting a boarding pass. As this situation isn’t stressful enough, the United employee working the desk is yelling at a young child because he does not have a photo ID. After 20 minutes of repeatedly explaining that I need to get this child on his connecting flight as the United employees have failed to their job the employee provided the child his boarding pass. Unnecessarily stressful on both me and the child. Absolutely disgusting that United Airlines would let this happen. A parent has paid to have a United employee assist their child navigate an airport while traveling alone and you hand them off to a complete stranger with no questions asked. I fear for other children traveling alone with United Airlines and only wonder what other safety protocols are not being followed. And on top of it all MY LUGGAGE WAS LOST. Never put on the initial flight (after paying to check my bag). And the employee taking the report couldn’t even be bothered enough to apologize for the inconvenience. ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS!

Date of travel: January 2023
1  Thank Lexisg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2023

Since this was a school trip (i.e, a tiny plane crammed with rowdy middle schoolers), I made sure to set my expectations extremely low. And yet I was still disappointed! Boarding was like herding people into a cattle car. Not to mention, when someone asked if they had cleaning wipes to get rid of a crusty soda spill, they literally laughed in her face. The plane reminded me of most boys at our school-good looking on the outside,but terrible on the inside! The (tiny) seats were embedded with cheerios and boogers and god knows what else! Despite the advertising, pre-downloaded entertainment was not working, and we were all forced to watch a channel about muggers that the screens were stuck on. I was excited when they started handing out snacks (because the legroom was so tight I couldn't even grab my backpack), but the pretzels were a brand that I'm 99% sure is outta business, and a pack o crusty peanuts (even though multiple people had alerted earlier that they had extreme peanut allergies). They gave out some tiny water bottles to a few people and RAN OUT. This flight took over 4 hours (Plus you couldn't bring your own beverages on) and people were literally trading water for 5-dollar bills. People were considering drinking water from the sinks, but our teachers refused. Since my seat was even tighter than the bathroom (I'm not even kidding), I went to the restroom for a bit,then was kicked out because "other people need to go" (There was 3 other bathrooms & nobody waiting). Once I was back in my prison cell of a seat, the food was so inedible that kids were having a food fight. A flight attendant said nothing at first, but when I tossed back peanut shells that were hurled at me, it was all shrieks. The flight ended with an extremely rough landing, and many in tears (including me!) Never again.

Date of travel: October 2022
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Urm0MmY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.