We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gracemir House Vacay”
other traveller has booked this property
Rear of villa overlooking pool and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of villa overlooking pool and garden
Grace Bay Rear terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Rear of villa overlooking pool and garden
Grace Bay
Rear terrace
Front garden and courtyard
Aerial view to Grace Bay over Gracemir
Master bedroom
Living area, seating 6, murphy bed in background
Guest bedroom, queen size beds
Guest bath
Kitchen
Kitchen
Hot tub
Nearby beach access at Royal West Indies
Nearby shopping
Front of villa
Blue x is the car parking at the beach. Yellow highlight upper right is the house.
Bouganvellia
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Grace Bay, Providenciales, Turks and Caicos

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nancy A
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Gracemir House Vacay”
Reviewed 14 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The house and grounds are perfect for 2 or 3 couples. Well equipped kitchen. We enjoyed the front and back patio and pool. We had a rental car and enjoyed all the beautiful beaches! We would rent Gracemir again! Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
We really enjoyed hosting you and will welcome you back anytime! Provo becomes a habit!
Cheers,
T and C
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R
1 review
“Spacious, relaxing vacation home!”
Reviewed 16 March 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Location, location, location! We love that Gracemir is within walking distance to the beach, grocery store, shopping and many restaurants.

This was our second visit to Gracemir, this time travelling with 2 other couples. We found the house to be perfectly set up for 3 couples. There are 2 extra large bedrooms and a very comfortable Murphy bed in the central kitchen/dining/living room area. Each couple had their own space and full washroom, which was greatly appreciated.

We enjoy preparing most of our meals at home so made full use of the well-stocked kitchen. We shopped at both of the IGA grocery stores on the island. The occasional lunch or dinner out was always delicious. We ate at the Conch Shack, Shark Bites (drive to’s) and Bella Luna (walk or drive to). We opted to rent a car this visit so we would have the ability to explore the island a little more.

The internet went down one morning and we were very impressed with how hard the owner worked with the internet provider to get it back up and running in short order.

You really only need to pack your bag and camera to visit Gracemir. It was so nice to have beach chairs, sun huts, snorkeling equipment and 4 bicycles available to us at the house. There are also both terry and microfiber beach towels.

Grace Bay has the most beautiful beach. The sand is like flour, soft and cool under foot. The ocean is truly turquoise you have to see it to believe it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
We really enjoyed hosting you. Please come back again anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbirdian
Waterdown, Canada
1 review
“Great location and really nice place to stay.”
Reviewed 14 March 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Close to shopping and restaurants. Short drive to the beach. Unlimited wifi. Breakfast outside on the patio, what else could you need.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
Rum maybe? We enjoyed hosting you very much and you are welcome to visit again anytime,
Cheers,
T and C
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally L
Weston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great house and environment that has all the necessities and very well maintained.”
Reviewed 13 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Close to all the shops and beaches in Grace Bay. Great pool, hot tub and porch for enjoying an outdoor meal in a quiet neighborhood.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2018
Thank you, it was a pleasure to host your family and you are welcome back anytime. Thank you for choosing Gracemir.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sap115
Providence, RI
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Location, Several Issues Prevented an Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

For Gracemir House, location is everything. It is located on a residential road behind the Coco Bistro. This makes it convenient to walk to the beach (one of the nicest stretches of Grace Bay Beach), town (to visit the grocery store, Caicos Bakery and plenty of dinner restaurants) and several resorts with excellent lunch options (we liked Infiniti Restaurant at the Grace Bay Club and Pelican Bay at the Royal West Indies). The house is spacious with two large bedrooms, three bathrooms and an open-plan kitchen, dining area and living area. The kitchen is well-equipped, really only missing a dishwasher. We liked that it had a Keurig and a refrigerator large enough to store all of our bottled water, soda and beer. The house also has air conditioning, a real plus when coming back from the beach after your hot and sweaty 10 minute walk. There is an outdoor hose to wash off sand but not an outdoor shower. There are two nice outdoor sitting areas to take advantage of the privacy the lot and blooming tropical foliage provides. The house also has everything you could need for a week at the beach – beach chairs, beach shades, a beach umbrella, pool noodles and even bikes if walking is too tiring. There was also a small pool and hot tub, neither did we use.

Unfortunately, during our weeklong stay at Gracemir, we had several issues that came up. First, there was NEVER any hot water and only two days with warm water. The owner had various reasons why this was the case, but the bottom line was that we only had warm showers twice during the week. It is not fun to wash sand out of your hair in freezing cold water! Not to mention, are your dishes really getting clean in icy cold water? If it was just no hot water, that would have been one thing, but for 24 hours we had no water at all. On vacation, we don’t want to be filling up buckets with pool water and flushing the toilets that way. Not to mention, we couldn’t wash dishes or our hands, so we used a lot of Wet Wipes. There was apparently a mix up with the billing and the owner’s water account was marked as not paid. The house did have a backup pump to provide the house with water in the event of a water outage, but the pump was broken. The plumber who came to the house to look at the pump said it wasn’t set up correctly. Then once the water was finally turned back on, a pipe burst and we came home from the beach to find the water had been turned off again, so the pipe could be repaired. UGH!

Another problem we encountered was no trash pick up the entire week we were there. That wouldn’t have been such an issue, but the trash from the people the week before us (and probably the week before them) had the bins filled to overflowing. There was no room for us to add our trash. We ended filling a spare bathroom with our recycling.

Another problem was the many bugs we had to deal with. It was particularly gross in the kitchen. We knew it was the tropics and we should expect some bugs, but this was more than we had anticipated. We have rented houses in Hawaii and another house in Provo, yet this was the only house with a bug problem. We had to keep all of our bathroom things in drawers because if left on the counter, they would be crawling with bugs. There were also large caterpillars crawling all around the floors. One died on top of the stove, so we can home one day to find the stove covered in hundreds of bugs. It’s a good thing we did no cooking in the house.

One other problem was the television situation. We were looking forward to watching the Olympics every night, but there was no cable tv (even though it was advertised to have it). The owner said she had recently cancelled cable due to the poor quality of service. The Blu Ray player wouldn’t work because the correct remote wasn’t available. We were able to get Netflix on the main tv, but never got either of the bedroom tvs to work.

Finally, the checkout process was very awkward. Earlier in the week, we had told the owner that we would be leaving at 10:30am. She was happy with that and check out time was listed at 12:30pm. On the morning we were checking out, we got an e-mail that said the cleaning woman would arrive around 9:00am to start the laundry. That would have been bad enough, but she arrived at 8:30am while we were still in the shower and began cleaning the kitchen. Once we came into the living room, she did move on to laundry and outdoor things like sweeping, but we couldn’t use the kitchen for breakfast since it had already been cleaned. After finishing up the outdoor chores, she came back inside, and we were definitely in her way even though we had 2 hours until checkout. Her little boy was also running all over the house, and we had to keep moving our things so she could clean the bedrooms, and it was very inconvenient for us as we were trying to pack. Had we known this ahead of time, we would have packed the night before and gone out for breakfast!

Any of the problems I listed would have been an inconvenience while on vacation, yet the sheer number of problems would make me hesitate to ever recommend this house to someone else. It’s in the absolute PERFECT location, and it’s a very peaceful and quiet spot, but we were displeased with many things. The owner did refund us one night’s stay, but frankly with that many problems I would have expected better restitution. This house had been listed on the VRBO site with little complaints (terrible towels and bed mattresses which is completely true) but not a word about hot water or bugs, so maybe we really did just get an unusual week. However, we’re not risking going back there again …. Even though it’s just a minute walk to our favorite Coco Bistro!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2018
We are truly sorry that we did not meet up to your expectations for your stay at Gracemir. We do try very hard to make sure our guests have an uncomplicated and pleasant stay. We do thank you for the comments about the house in general and location. We do send a digital welcome book in advance of guests visit so they are acquainted with the layout and functions in the house and other pertinent details.

I do need to address the water issue that you have described. You mentioned the lack of hot water to us on your first day at your early check in on Saturday . I felt that at that time it was likely due to the maid having just left after doing laundry. It was a changeover day and it would recover. I did not hear further. Tuesday, late in the afternoon the water was off and I could not reach anyone at the water company,nor the next morning. Finally, I had a response late wed and the town water was eventually restored. The plumber was there for the cistern pump that provides water from the cistern.

You may recall, that the water company emailed you directly to apologize for their error. Our backup system is a cistern which was very handy after the hurricanes to provide water while town water was being restored to the island. It was most unfortunate that a pipe burst and required another repair inconveniencing you on that day.

I would have rectified the hot water issue after the repair and water restored had I known.
The plumber gave you his cell number on Wed and indicated to call him if there were any issues, sadly you did not, and I do not understand why you would endure no hot water for the rest of the week without notifying us.

On Thursday I offered a night’s refund for your inconvenience, before you had to ask, and processed it for you immediately. I'm not sure what more I could do.
We agree bugs can be most unpleasant, but our gardener would have been happy and able to spray as required IF he is told, we do spray routinely. Weather and seasonal rainfall changes can impact bug populations in the Caribbean. If the house was dirty with bugs as you described, I would have had the maid come and clean immediately.I was denied an opportunity to make it right.
Netflix and other streaming television channels were available. The basic cable signal was degraded after the hurricanes and not able to be repaired in a timely fashion. We will be changing to the other cable provider with a full selection of streaming channels on our next visit. The remote for the DVD player was most likely in the drawer directly above. None of these things were ever mentioned to us and we spoke several times.
I am confused by your reference to VRBO and towels and mattresses. There are no references to those in our reviews. There are over 30 hotel type towels available for guest use and guests have access to the extra towels and linens in the laundry room.

The housekeeper does come on Saturdays at 9:00am (in the digital book) and we do advise that she has a little boy she brings who has been very respectful. These local people have had enough hardship after the hurricanes, I did not feel right to demand she use childcare. They need these jobs. Many have lost everything and are rebuilding their lives.
On check out day, it is a soft checkout time at 11:00am as guests often hang out at the property using the pool and patio allowing the maid to finish . No one is ever evicted .Incoming guests come at 3:00 or after but it does take 3-4 hours for a maid to do this house.

We are glad that you enjoyed Provo otherwise, and had some great meals and availed yourself of the beaches. Reviews are a valuable tool for travelers in selecting a property for their holiday and we welcome them so that we may improve and make positive changes to improve future stays. We have been homeowners here since 1989 and this is the first time we have had this sort of review in 18 yrs and it appears to be an effort to extract additional restitution. I will take the points that have been outlined here and we will take them under advisement and make changes accordingly. We thank you for your frank comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;