We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast”

The Old Post Office Bistro
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A small bistro offering imaginative menus using high quality local produce. We have a small menu to allow everything to be cooked freshly to order with fish, seafood, meat and vegetarian options; our seasonal menu can be found on our website. We only open on Friday and Saturday evenings and booking is recommended.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and didn't want to come home. This place has everything really clean, great location, fabulous rooms, hosts, garden and food. So good we are 're booking !

Locally sourced quality produce at breakfast but even down to the teas in the room, honey, cereal etc at breakfast. You can really tell how much effort and thought has gone into the detail.

Owners Helen and Richard are so welcoming and recommended some great days out and restaurants we wouldn't have considered. We would highly recommend you will not be disappointed.

Thank 77Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the fab review. It was lovely meeting you both and look forward to welcoming you back in November. Might need an extra jumper then! Enjoy the rest of the summer, best wishes Helen and Rich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Atmosphere and food excellent. It is only open at the weekends and it is important that you reserve a table.it is not cheap but well worth a visit.

Thank 323HELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we're pleased you enjoyed your evening with us. As a small restaurant with planning permission to only open 2 nights each week for 20 covers, we never make the full food price mark up that economies of scale allow the bigger concerns to do. We use fresh, high quality local produce and all of our main dishes, with the exception of our fillet steak are below £17.00, which we feel is pretty good value for money. Kind regards Helen and Rich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

My second time now to the old post office and it’s superb. Had the ‘special’ crab samosas with mango salad followed by the chicken skewers, both were delicious. We shared a couple of deserts between 4 of us and can heartily recommend the cheese board too.
Exceptional food in a lovely environment. Thank you Helen & Rich for a great evening.

Thank HarveyRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Many thanks for your super review and it's always good to welcome you here at the bistro. I'll pass on your nice comments to our very small team, which gives us all a boost for the busy season ahead. Have a great summer, best wishes Helen and Rich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

On the way home from our holiday we normally stop here for food. Menu is varied and there are always good priced deals. No exception this time. Staff always friendly and helpful. Meals well prepared and freshly cooked.

Thank Jacc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

You've posted this on the wrong business I'm afraid and so may wish to re-locate it, kind regards Helen and Rich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Found via trip adviser and what a great find, as someone who eats out regularly don’t get surprised often but this bistro is a real surprise ,firstly only small circa 8 to 10 tables so if you want to go on a Friday or Saturday book well in advance , fantastic welcome and service , Richard front of house is great fun and passionate about the food and wines , wine list not long but what is on , is first class , Gavi was fab , smoked haddock gratin starter was probably one of the best tasting starters I have had , fillet steak for main , perfectly cooked , seasoned and about 10oz no small portions here , wife had king prawn starter and Seabass for main , seabass was fresh caught day before and cooked to perfection , shared a home made Eton mess as we couldn’t manage two , so light and tasty , whisky menu to finish could not fault one bit of the food or service , compliments to Helen the chef who came out to chat at end of evening , live in Newcastle but would not question driving here for dinner , look forward to next visit and may even stay next time

Thank Niall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

It was lovely to meet you both and really pleased that you had such an enjoyable evening with us. Many thanks for taking the time to review your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back, best wishes Helen and Rich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Post Office Bistro also viewed

Warkworth, Amble
Amble, Northumberland
 
Amble, Northumberland
 
Amble, Northumberland
 

Been to The Old Post Office Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing