We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugarloaf Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Matakana Motel(Matakana)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Warkworth Lodge(Warkworth)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snells Beach Motel(Snells Beach)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Court Motel(Wellsford)(Great Value!)
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
46
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomaha beachone nighttranquil settinglovely viewregional parkattention to detailgoat islandhidden gembefore dinnergreat hospitalitywarm welcomethe main housenew zealandmade us feelrobingiannidiane
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2015

During our two night stay in Diane and Robin's marvellous hilltop lodge, we felt we had found a gem from which to explore the beautiful area of Matakana. Our chic cottage suite was beautifully decorated and comfortably appointed, with many thoughtful touches. These new owners have refurbished their lodge with an attention to detail that was impressive. The landscaping on the approach up the drive and around the lodge is beautiful. The view was simply stunning over the fields and vineyards, pockets of forest, and out to the ocean beyond. Diane brought a beautiful tray of pre-dinner treats and wine to our private deck overlooking the countryside, and Robin prepared wonderful breakfasts to our order. Their warmth complemented the beautiful countryside retreat they have created. A highly recommended stay.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank elizabethj381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently spent two nights at Sugerloaf Lodge - we came away feeling relaxed, recharged and ready to face city life again. Our room was immaculate and very well appointed, the bed extremely comfortable and the views stunning and tranquil. The breakfast was delicious - we loved the home-made marmalade! Our hosts, Alan and Vanessa were extremely informative and gracious. We can thoroughly recommend this wonderful B & B.
Kate & Ian

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

During a weekend wander in the countryside we came upon Sugarloaf Lodge at Matakana and stayed two nights in what can ony be described as a perfect place for a weekend getaway. The room was large, well appointed and everything was spotless. The hosts were charming and helpful and breakfast was substantial. It is very close to Matakana village and all the amenities there, and Omaha Beach is a short drive away. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves so much and look forward to seeing you here again.

Allan and Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We needed to get out of the city and smell the roses and Sugarloaf Lodge provided exactly what we were after. Peace, rural and panoramic beauty...........and quiet. Our hosts respected every aspect of our stay and the accommodation was 5 Star. Wonderfully comfortable beds, beautiful ensuite and subtle furnishings. And thank you Allan for the wine & nibbles on arrival - a wonderful night's sleep was enhanced by a leisurely home grown breakfast overlooking the panoramic rural splendour of Matakana and Omaha enhanced by local knowledge from our hosts.
Overall I came away feeling relaxed and extremely pleased with our choice of a getaway. Thank you both. Robina&John Morton

Room Tip: Outside would be my preference for privacy but all are lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellprom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you very much for a great review - it makes it all worth while!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for an evening to attend a wedding in Matakana.

The lodge is in a very peaceful location with wonderful views and welcoming hosts who provide a tasty breakfast. Very quiet at night so you get an excellent sleep!

Centrally located with easy access to Matakana and all it's delights.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Hi Toni

We are pleased you and Bruce enjoyed your stay with us - thank you for taking the time to send in a review.

Allan and Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews