We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great food

Came to this park as we had heard it had yummy food. Certainly enjoyed the tapas and pizza... read more

Reviewed 6 August 2018
pam255118
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
via mobile
lots to do and see

animals to feed cafes bars and art gallery and craft shop . as well as bike hire and train rides... read more

Reviewed 23 July 2018
Molzmum
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Read all 32 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Matakana
from US$178.87
More Info
from US$26.83
More Info
from US$172.00
More Info
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
16
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews craft shop mini train picnic lunch smiths bar train ride art gallery stables playground horses bike equestrian climb coffee restaurant meal delight girls
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Great play area, cafe and free animal park. Lovely art Gallery with New Zealand Artists.

Resturant opens after 4pm so don't go for lunch.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank petermdingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

The kids love the playground here. We come every year upon their request. It's pretty run down but the kids don't seem to notice. They love seeing all the animals and having a safe space to run around. We love the stories they imagine up here.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Tamojacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

My husband and I and our three kids, aged 7, 5 and newborn, stopped here for a picnic lunch just before Christmas. We had a little look at the animals, goats, pigs, llamas, chickens and roosters, sheep, and donkeys. My daughters patted some that were close enough to the fence. After that we turned the kids loose on the amazing playground while we sat under a tree with the baby. My girls had a great time, we were there for over 3 hours, and all it cost us was a small donation for use of the playground.
The grounds were lovely and well kept, there was heaps of free parking. The art gallery area and cafe and restaurant all looked very nice, but we had brought our lunch with us so didn't need to use these facilities.
We used the toilets, which were clean and satisfactory, and then continued on our way to the beach. I have already recommended this place to my friends, loved it.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank ilovefrance12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We love finding places that showcase the local flavours in Art & Crafts. The Matakana Country Park has something for everyone. Train & Pony rides for the kids, and arts and crafts shops and the Art Gallery for Mum & Dad. And at the end of the day amble over to the Stables Restaurant for Dinner.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Shayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

This place is hopping on the weekend - there's always something going on. The craft shop is very good for NZ gifts, and the art gallery has a lot of interesting local artists. There's food at the cafe and drinks and diner at Stables and Smiths. A fun day.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Luapekralc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews