We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marvin(Nakuru)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
US$139
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Punda Milias Nakuru Camp(Nakuru)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$85
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$47
Jumia Travel
View Deal
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
2
13
19
1
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
13
19
1
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

After a long drive from Nairobi my friends and I decided to have a late lunch the meals were delicious and the service was wonderful.The chef came to confirm how our food would be cooked which is absolutely great. The restaurant is just by the pool and it's quiet and clean.I'll also mention the receptionist whose name was Rosejane she gave us information about the hotel with a great smile. We'll probably gonna come back again

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Nehemiah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfred k, Manager at Hotel Cathay Nakuru, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Nehemiah M,

Thank you for choosing our hotel. Thanks for finding time to post your feedback. We are humbled that you scored us tops in all the areas and I would like to reassure you that we will continue to raise the bar so that we exceed the expectations of our guest. Thanks for the positive review that will go a long way to convince other guests to book and stay with us. Thank you for recommending our food and the level of customer care you received from the team at hotel Cathay.
I have shared your compliments with my team.
Looking forward in hosting you back to our hotel.

Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Nice, clean affordable hotel. Location is great, not too far from city center or the big shopping mall. Enjoyed the pool and breakfast options. The rooms were clean and spacious, others we saw not so much. Hotel didn't provide slippers, when we asked they said it was reserved for executive rooms. The safe was not working, they promised to reset the code but they didn't. One day they didn't change our towels!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ambo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfred k, Manager at Hotel Cathay Nakuru, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Ambo W,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We value our guest feedback and have noted that during your stay all was not up to your expectation. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and assure you that this was a one off occurrence that has been mitigated.
We look forward to hosting you again.
Thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

The room and bathroom were clean though it had a mosquito net that looked more like a decoration than served its purpose. There was no variety at all on the dated TV set, however, the fast internet made up for that. The breakfast was fine with a limited variety.
Had a two week long stay here on business and appreciated the privacy of the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfred k, Manager at Hotel Cathay Nakuru, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Juma k,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Hotel Cathay Nakuru as your preferred hotel during your business trip and having spared time to share your experience in this forum.
We would like to reassure you that we have taken steps to ensure that this will not recur in future.

We look forward to the honor of hosting you again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

I spend one night recently during a business trip. The hotel is good and clean, though has an old feel. Needs a bit of a touch up. Get better tvs in the rooms. Those old hatchbacks are outdated . The breakfast was good with a lot of variety. The staff are also very friendly

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfred k, Manager at Hotel Cathay Nakuru, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Kelvin,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your short stay here during your business trip and that you had great experience in our breakfast food and our staff.
We value your support in helping us improve and look forward to welcoming you back for a great experience. We will consistently upgrade our service and product to ensure our guests experience paradise.
We look forward to hosting you again.
Thanks so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

First, it is difficult for Westerners to give reviews on properties such as the Cathay when we have a basis for these reviews that is not necessarily realistic in a city such as Nakuru. My expectations in such a case are for clean and secure accomodation, and the Hotel Cathay met that mark. The hotel is dated and showing wear around the edges, but was clean and seemed to be well maintained. Coming off four days in the bush, the hot shower seemed exceptional, as did the ice cold Tusker! The staff who worked the pool area during the day provided prompt and friendly service and the food was good. The food in the restaurant was more than ample and good as well.

The bottom line is that they could do with some updates, but the Cathay is servicable accomodation.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank gonertw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfred k, Manager at Hotel Cathay Nakuru, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Dear Gonertw,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Cathay. Thanks for finding time to post your feedback. We are humbled and I would like to reassure you that we will continue to raise the bar so that we exceed the expectations of our guest. Thanks for the positive review that will go a long way to convince other guests to book and stay with us. Thank you for recommending our food and the level of customer care you received from the team at hotel Cathay.
I have shared your compliments with my team.
Looking forward in hosting you back to our hotel.

Many thanks,
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews