We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The River Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Inthira Hotel(Champasak Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Folie Lodge(Don Daeng Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
473
72
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
473
72
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset cruisethe riverrice paddiesoutdoor showertuk tukrooms are spaciousstunning viewsday tripthai massagebeautiful hotelseveral daysthe hotel offerstwo storeypakse airportgreat selectionlarge balconiesmagical place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Everything is perfect especially those who wants to have good retreat. The restaurant has good quality and fast serving food. The staffs are friendly and front desk available for 24 hrs.
The only limit is transportation, it's not easy to get public transport going in or out into the resort. Definitely will visit this resort again in the future.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
4  Thank Hendra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, titled "Excellent," of your stay at our Resort. We are pleased that you felt it was perfect for the "retreat" experience you wished to have with us . . . and that you enjoyed our restaurant and found our staff to be friendly. You are correct in saying that it's not easy to get public transportation to and from the Resort. But let me suggest that, when you visit us again in the future, you ask our Front Desk to arrange tuk-tuk service for you in advance and to help you negotiate the price. With best regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

I cannot say enough good things about this resort. For us, it was 5 days of excellence. We stayed in the upper level riverside room & the location & amenities were perfect. The room was very clean & we absolutely loved having the option to chose the second outdoor shower. The service provided by all staff was exceptional. Special mentions must go to the restaurant staff, both day & evening crew. We were spoilt for service & conversation on the sunset cruise & the evening staff kept us safe & dry one night when a bad storm hit at dinner time. Thank you River Resort for making our stay so memorable, we hope to stay again sometime in the future.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Krause72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for having stayed with us for what you generously describe as a "Superb Experience . . . . with 5 days of excellence"! We are very much pleased that you found your Riverfront room to be "perfect"; that you loved having an outside "rain shower" as well as the indoor one . . . many of our guests echo that enthusiastic comment; that you found our staff to be "exceptional," especially the restaurant staff; and that your Sunset Cruise on our Riverboat was full of enjoyable conversation and good service!
Your parting words, that your stay was very memorable and that you hope to stay again sometime in the future make all of us working at The River Resort realise we are very fortunate often to have many very kind and genuinely appreciative guests such as yourselves. We look forward to a return visit if you every have an opportunity to come again. Cordially, and bon voyage, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful gardens are the start of this idyllic retreat. The hotel is ideally situated for relaxation while the staff are pleasant and extremely helpful. The rooms are wonderful and, the food / menu is delicious.
Ideal for a few days of rest and recharging your batteries.
Treat yourself!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank WalkingPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Dear guests, thank you ever so much for the generous review you posted about your recent stay at our Resort, titled "OHHHH YES"! Our staff is thrilled that you commented that they are pleasant and extremely helpful. Our cooks are very pleased that you found our food to be delicious. The housekeeping staff are enthused that you think our rooms are wonderful. And our 10 gardeners - all local villagers - are warmed by your compliment that our gardens are the "start of this idyllic retreat", ideally situated for relaxation. As you live in Bangkok, less than 2 hours away by air, we hope we will see you again for another holiday in the future. Best wishes, David (on behalf of The River Resort)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

A beautiful resort with a contemporary design, situated on the Mekong. Service was very good and very helpful. The room clean, comfortable (especially the mattress) with views over the River from upper level rooms. The gardens are lovely and you walk across a rice field to the rooms from reception. We were able to borrow bicycles to cycle to Wat Phou and staff arranged a tuk tuk to bring us back. The infinity pool is gorgeous and perfect for a relaxing afternoon or morning. Our room had an indoor and an outdoor shower - wonderful options but the outdoor shower was my preference for its ambiance and large shower head.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mmmharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Thank you for the very kind review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us. Your comments are much appreciated and will also be helpful for guests considering a stay with us, such as "beautiful resort" on the Mekong; service both very good and very helpful; room clean and comfortable, especially the mattress; gardens lovely, particularly the walk across one of our evergreen rice fields when proceeding from our reception area to your room; riding our bicycles to Wat Phou and the Resort having arranged a tuktuk for your return since the bike ride each way is about one hour in usually very warm weather; our infinity pools gorgeous and perfect for relaxation; and the outdoor shower in your guest room, which you found particularly enjoyable for its ambience and large "rainwater" shower head! We look forward to a return visit when you are next again in the south of Laos. Best wishes, David (for our management team and hard-working staff)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

We did not stay at the resort, but we had a delicious lunch and spent the afternoon on the terrace overlooking the Mekong. This is by far the nicest place in Champasak - actually a bit outside of the village, but it's pricey and most guest are older. It seems to cater to organized tour groups. Lovely setting, very friendly staff.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynn_USA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Dear luncheon guests, Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor of a recent afternoon you spent with us at The River Resort. It is very pleasing to hear that you came for lunch and then spent the entire afternoon on our dining terrace overlooking the Mekong River. We are delighted that your lunch was delicious, that you found us the nicest place in Champasak (though pricey compared with other places in Champasak, which we don't deny since there is nothing else to our standard in Champasak Town), the setting lovely, and the staff very friendly. We will welcome you back the next time you visit the south of Laos and hope on that occasion you will try an overnight stay at our Resort. Throughout the year you will find Special Offers on our website.
With kind regards, David (Managing Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews