We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst breakfast ever ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petriolo Spa Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Pro
- Nice Room (Junior Suite)
- ‎Cappucciono at the breakfast was good
- ‎Free parking in front of the hotel

Con
- Breakfast like in a cheap two star hotel. Only sweat stuff and no vegetables. BTW you have to pay extra for e.g. one boiled egg 5 euro and for one fresh orange juice 6 euro (see foto). Furthermore I found it quite susturbing that there were people in the bathrobe at the breakfast.
- ‎Super slow WiFi connection in the room.
- ‎The Spa area and pools were just disappointing: mould, broken tiles, steambath without steam, no relaxing atmosphere at all.
- ‎The entire hotel smells like sulphur due to the spa area.
- ‎Overall no 5 star niveau.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tobias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPetriolo, General Manager at Petriolo Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Mr Tobias,
I want to thank you for taking some of your time to review Petriolo Spa Resort and sharing your experience with other guests.
Atahotels has been following a quality-controlled program and we are very sensitive to the needs of our guests. I regret, therefore, that part of our services has not been matched your expectations and thank you for giving me the opportunity to investigate the causes.
Fortunately, the Petriolo Spa Resort is receiving high approval ratings not only qualitatively, but also for the constant presence of a loyal customer that dedicate themselves to relaxation and well-being, and we are delighted that for the above reason the services and personnel are particularly appreciated.
I thank you for having appreciate the beauty of the room, the quality of our cappuccino served at breakfast in the morning and the free hotel parking.
We regret that you did not enjoy the quality of our breakfast although it is the service that receives the highest ratings. We have a wide choice of food and beverage products available on our buffet breakfast every morning, also eggs, and in order to enlarge our offer we have an extra breakfast menu that ensure dishes cooked on request by our chef.
We do not think that for the above reason our breakfast must be compared to a two star hotel breakfast. Although we respect your opinion we are sure that there is a huge difference between our breakfast and a two star hotel breakfast.
We regret that you found frustrating the presence of people who enjoy breakfast in bathrobe and sleepers. We are a Spa Hotel and we think that this kind of opportunity we give to our guests is an added value for our service, as well as it makes people to feel at their ease with the features of our hotel.
For the same reason we hope that you will understand that the thermal water, with its characteristic smell of sulfur, is the added value of our business, and you must not confuse the natural effects of this element in our thermal water with bad experience in the Spa.
In any case, in a constructive way, we always take the inspiration from the reviews and testimonials of our guests, and we hope that many of them evaluate personally the structure and the exclusive attentions that the Petriolo Spa Resort is able to guarantee.
Best Regards,

Massimo Patalano
General Manager – Petriolo Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017

We arrived here on Friday and we had a junior suite,which was beautiful it had two bathrooms, a sitting room and a small lounge as well as a baloncy. We used the thermal pools that the hotel is famous for that come from the curative waters. The hotel sits below main road but you can't here the traffice as they are building a new road.

Room Tip: the hotel is very quiet even though a main road runs just above where it sits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leighh906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPetriolo, General Manager at Petriolo Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Petriolo Spa resort with the TripAdvisor community.
I am glad you enjoyed the junior suite with balcony that we reserved for you, the services of our hotel, and our Spa.

I hope to see you again in our hotel, perhaps in a different period, and I have no doubt that your vision of the hotel will change and it will inspire you to return back again.

Best regards,

Massimo Patalano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

I stayed at Petriolo Resort for a work congress. The resort has the ability to offer a very relaxing stay with its charming and confortable rooms and spa and as well big meeting rooms and a very Professional and Customer minded staff.
We had the possibility to combine confortable and pleasant work place and relaxing space in a same place.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frequentraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPetriolo, General Manager at Petriolo Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Petriolo Spa resort with the TripAdvisor community.
I am glad you enjoyed the room that we reserved, the services of our hotel, and our Spa.

I hope to see you again in our hotel, perhaps in a different period, and I have no doubt that your vision of the hotel will change and it will inspire you to return back again.

Best regards,

Massimo Patalano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I am a returning customer.The hotel location is ideal for relaxation as you are miles away from towns and cities. The outdoor pool and the surrounding is the best point of this hotel.

The roadwork outside the hotel has been going on for more than 2 years making the access to the hotel long and tiring.

There is no TV channels for children in any languages. For a family this is a big issue.

The breakfast needs to be improved as the options for hot food do not match a top hotel standard.They need more staff for breakfast . The staff (usually 2-3) are clearly under pressure in the morning serving all customers.

Most of the staff are helpful and friendly. The new boy at the reception is not very knowledgeable, not helpful and has no enthusiasm.
The building is a bit tired and some refurbishments are needed in different places specially around outdoor pool.

The dining area is very boring compared to other restaurants in the hotel. You need to have a booking in advance to dine at the hotel.

Room Tip: junior suite with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms1102017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPetriolo, General Manager at Petriolo Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Petriolo Spa Resort with the TripAdvisor community.
I'm glad to know that you are a returning guest and you enjoyed your stay.
We thank you for your rating and also for the courteous suggestions that we consider indispensable in order to improve our service and to bring it closer to the expectations of our guests.
I hope to have you back at our hotel to experience again the Petriolo Spa Resort.

Best regards

Massimo Patalano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

I was disappointed in the overall service received. I am a regular visitor to this area and I was very disappointed. Location is stunning but in the middle of literally no where! You must must must have a car if staying here as you will certainly want to escape to the nearby quaint villages. There is no atmosphere unfortunately that is the biggest let down. Only one restaurant and one bar the services are limited and very disappointing. Food was excellent but very fine dining so not for every night. On the plus side the room was lovely with a large terrace area to enjoy those warm evenings. I slept well as there was nothing else to do! This hotel cries out for some form of entertainment in the evening... a pianist, jazz or harpist maybe? Maybe even some wine and cheese courses that you can attend? Literally on the edge of the traditional Montalcino vineyards making the famous Brunello wine this would be a fitting addition to this otherwise lack lustre hotel!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Katya4880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPetriolo, General Manager at Petriolo Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Ms Katya,
I want to thank you for taking some of your time to review The Petriolo Spa Resort and sharing your experience with Tripadvisor community, even though we do not agree with your judgment.
I thank you, also, for having appreciated the quality of our food, the room with its large terrace, and we are happy to learn that you slept well.
That means you have been able to relax.
I regret that your review has been influenced by the location of the hotel.
I'm sorry you did not realize where the hotel was located, before coming, as its location is well marked in all publications on line and offline.
I regret, also, that you did not appreciate the atmosphere of the hotel.
The hotel is suitable for those who seek relaxation and well-being away from the stress and the frenzy of everyday life. Fortunately The Petriolo Spa Resort is receiving high approval ratings from the constant presence of a loyal customer dedicated to relaxation and well-being, and we are delighted that for the above reason the flexibility and empathy of our staff, are particularly appreciated .
I regret, finally, that I have not had the pleasure to confront with you during your stay, on the quality of staff and service, and for this reason I remain available if you feel the need to deepen these topics.
Best regards,
Massimo Patalano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Civitella Paganico
37.8 km away
Albergo Appennino
Albergo Appennino
#16 of 22 in Grosseto
49 reviews
35.2 km away
Agriturismo B&B Saturnia Il Girasole Terzuolo
30.4 km away
Country Resort Guadalupe
Country Resort Guadalupe
#1 of 1 in Braccagni
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Albergo La Pace
Albergo La Pace
#3 of 6 in Civitella Paganico
62 reviews
35.9 km away
Hotel Granduca
Hotel Granduca
#12 of 22 in Grosseto
269 reviews
38.2 km away
Grand Hotel Bastiani
Grand Hotel Bastiani
#9 of 22 in Grosseto
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petriolo Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petriolo Spa Resort

Address: | Localita Bagni di Petriolo, 58040, Civitella Paganico, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Civitella Paganico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Civitella Paganico
Price Range: S$222 - S$1,599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Petriolo Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petriolo is located in the heart of Tuscany, surrounded by fascinating wild scenery as well as artistic and cultural itineraries of great interest. Immersed in the unspoiled beauty of the typical Mediterranean bush, the resort is only a twenty-minute drive from Siena, and 80 km from Florence, the capital of Tuscany. At Petriolo Spa Resort, well-being comes from nature itself, and predominantly from the hot sulfurous water which has been springing from the earth for thousands of years at 43° C, composed of elements capable of positively stimulating the entire organism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petriolo Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petriolo Hotel Civitella Paganico
Petriolo Resort Civitella Paganico
Petriolo Spa Resort Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing