We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$30
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/21
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$30
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
199
18
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
199
18
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We loved staying here. The room we stayed in was large and cool (although just the correct temperature at night). The garden and grounds are lovely and we enjoyed spending time relaxing before our trip to Inle Lake. As mentioned before, breakfast is excellent and one of the highlights of our stay. Would recommend a stay here.

Room tip: The studio room is lovely
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2017

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in February and after a hectic few weeks on the busy roads in other parts of Myanmar it was just what we needed!
We had a beautiful big room, the biggest we have ever stayed in with a comfortable bed and lovely sunny porch to sit and read surrounded by the beautiful garden and nature all around. Marc and everyone working at Thitaw Lay were so friendly and helpful, and we are already looking forward to going back this time to possibly do the trek from Kalaw to Inle Lake.This time though at Marcs recommendation we travelled to Inle on the train which took around 3 hours and was a very scenic relaxing journey.
Wonderful place to stay, loved everything about it.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Very good service of the hotel, cool place...! And good breeze surroundings by green trees with beautiful garden. Good price, with this price...the hotel service and the green plants around the hotel nice already, ...good and nice place..!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kalawtrekkingguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights in January with our 5 year old daughter. It was a wonderful experience and have been recommending it to travelers we meet along the way in our travels ever since.

The staff are incredibly friendly and hardworking, the breakfasts delicious and the setting peaceful. We went on day hikes from Thitaw Lay and spent some days in town. (We highly recommend a visit to the Green Valley Elephant Sanctuary - I believe you can arrange it through Marc, but some days were booked up when we enquired so book it early.)

Other than one evening we ordered in every evening with most of the other guests from a local restaurant that Thitaw seems to have a great arrangement with, often spending less than $10 USD for our entire family and it was some of the best food we had while in Myanmar.

One of the things we loved about Thitaw Lay was the community environment that Marc has created there. We met a great family and many other people passing through - some of whom we've met up along the way with since - it felt like the hostel environments we remember from traveling in our 20s but for those of us in our 30s + (and those with kids! There were so many interesting people to chat with each morning and evening. Our daughter loved connecting with the children of other family that was there at the same time. And Marc was lovely with everyone.

We highly recommend Thitaw Lay. It stands out in our year of travelling as a favourite.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2-now3-traveladdicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2017

This place was a total treat for us halfway through our holiday in Myanmar and the only issue was we only had one night here. The room we had was enormous with a large wetroom. The whole place had a personal, cosy feel about it which was more of a little fluctuating community than a hotel. The chap who runs it is extremely helpful. They even do a run to the local takeaway in the evening for guests and then you can all sit around the wood burner to eat. The breakfast here was also a real treat - lots of yummy home cooked food. The stay at this place was booked through a totally brilliant travel company based in Yangon called Mrmyanmar - they booked everything in our 17 day itinerary and the whole holiday was without fault.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews