We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really beautiful hotel - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Marmari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Would be hard to fault this hotel, apart from the high bar prices. We would expect to pay more for drinks in a nice hotel, but no-one likes to feel they are being ripped off. We had a beer with our meal, then took a five minute walk to one of the tavernas in Marmari. There aren't many, and they aren't very lively, so this is not the place for you if you are looking for nightlife. Apart from that, the hotel is lovely, rooms immaculately clean, pools all kept very well. Lots of space and sun loungers. Staff were very very helpful and welcoming.
This hotel seemed to have a lot of German guests, and seemed to attract an older age group - not many children. The food was good, and plenty of choice - although you don't have to dress up for dinner, the hotel asks that gentlemen wear trousers in the evening, not shorts.
The hotel supplies beach/pool towels, aswell as towels in your room, so you don't need to bother packing any.
We saved at least 12 euros each by booking trips in Marmari rather than with the holiday rep. We went on the three island boat tour, which we very much enjoyed, and was well worth the 30 euro each. We were lucky enough to see dolphins too.
You can get the bus to Kos town right outside the hotel, which is a good day out for a wander around the shops and sights, nice square with lots of cafes, and the harbour.
Marmari is a five minute walk from the hotel, and we walked along the beach to Tingaki in about an hour. We also walked around the salt marsh, where you can see flamingos, and other bird life. (You can also see naturists on the beach, so don't be too surprised!)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank florenceGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 392 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2011

This hotel would suit anyone who is looking for a 'get away from it all' break. It is a little bit away from shops, restaurants etc but that is what we wanted so it was perfect for us. Also, busses run regularly if you wanted to travel to the town. The room was great and spotlessly clean. The hotel itself looked lovely and again was very well looked after. Staff were great too, really helpful and friendly. The beach that the hotel looks over was so nice...clean, clear waters and sun loungers in abundance. The only thing I would say is that we did find the food a little disappointing - however, as we were half board and it was a good price perhaps we shouldn't complain. To be fair in comparison to other buffet style food I've had in the past this was actually quite good. What we would really suggest though is using the a la carte restaurant on site - the food we had there was wonderful.
A very restful break in lovley surroundings.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tinakins09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The quality of service,friendly staff,good beach location,quiet and excellent food combined to make this one of the best hotels we have stayed in.A car is essential if you need to see the island unless you want to spend a lot of money on trips.The weather is not very good in October but found some entertainment in the evenings but a lot of places seemed to close for the winter,In all a very lucky find.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davengill9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My Partner and I stayed at the Palazzo del Mare in early October 2010 for one week. We booked the holiday four weeks earlier via Thomas Cook. We booked a Junior Suite, as we fancied a ground floor suite with direct access to the pool from our terrace. Two weeks prior to our departure I sent an e-mail to the hotel to make sure everything was OK with our booking, to our surprise the bookings office said that we were booked into an upper floor suite with Jacuzzi, not being a fan of Jacuzzi's I insisted that we wanted a suite with pool access, for this the hotel wanted an extra £15 pppn. After a little debate we agreed to pay the extra cost, but to secure this booking we had to supply our credit card details.

The coach transfer from the airport is very swift, it takes 20 minutes. We were glad we didn’t pay extra for a private taxi circa £70.

We arrived at the hotel in the late evening, the hotel looked amazing, the reception staff were very friendly and professional. We had a complimentary drink and were shown to our room. Waiting for us in the room was a vase of flowers, because we arrive late a plate of Greek food and a bottle of sparkling wine.

The suite was fantastic, a bathroom to die for, a wet room, separate toilet, a large lounge with what I would describe as 70’s retro furniture, a large LCD television, dvd player and a coffee pod machine. The bedroom had a Large double bed with clean, crisp white linen and the usual. The Junior Suites are located between the pool bar/Italian restaurant and the beach.

I am a keen swimmer and every morning at home I swim a mile, so the idea of direct access to the pool was that I could just slip out of bed into my Speedos and jump into the pool. The alarm went at 8 and I had every intention of carrying out my daily exercise but one toe in the pool changed that idea. The temperature was soooo cold. The Suite shared its pool with the other five ground floor suites; I wondered if the main pool was of a similar temperature, so I gave that a go and it to was just as cold. A dip in the sea after breakfast proved better, which was much warmer.

The terrace to the Suite face east and because of the privacy walls between each of the rooms, the sun disappeared shortly before midday and then we had to find a sunny spot across the pool. On hindsight if I had known this on booking I would have just booked a standard room, and used the money saved as a deposit for another holiday.
Another problem was the wind, although it was still warm at around 26c, the wind coming in from the sea made it colder. There was very little protection from the wind.

We had booked full board, but on arrival were given full board plus, which included drinks during the meals. The restaurant served buffet meals and generally had a good selection, but after four days got a little boring. I don’t know if I’m picky but we were spoilt so much on our last holiday staying at the Es Moli, Deya, Majorca in July, that its going to be a while till we stay at a hotel that surpasses the food and service quality of the Es Moli.

On a couple of occasions we ventured into the bar and had a couple of expensive cocktails, whilst listening to a group play and sing songs from the 70’s. The bar was empty; we are in our 40’s and do like a little bit of a bop and drink in the evening. It was either the out of date entertainment or the expensive drinks that was keeping people away, together with an inexpensive supermarket selling good wines one mile from the hotel.

We hired a car from the hotel reception for two days, a small car but very cheap at £50. Over the two days we saw the entire Island. Another British couple told us they had booked a couple of tours with Thomas Cook which cost, over two hundred pounds, they explained where they went and did, it was virtually the same places as we travelled to.

One afternoon was overcast so we decided to get the buss and travel into Kos again, this took 30 minutes and cost circa £3.00. The bus stop is the beach side of the hotel.

Summary – An aesthetically beautiful and clean hotel with friendly staff and good food. In an isolated area for those who like quite evenings with either expensive drinks from the bar or a bottle of supermarket plonk from the local supermarket. Very cold pool (would be lovely in the height of summer). I would recommend a standard West facing room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank QuayJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed for 2 weeks, 2nd & 3rd week of October, towards the end of the season, the hotel closing a week after our departure so it was good to have the relaxing hotel.
The front desk manager Rolando gave us a standard room instead of a superior room that we had booked. He showed us why, the superior room available for us only had sunlight in the morning, the rest of the day it was in shadow, the room we did have had sun all round and a private patio onto the main pool, we were very happy with this and decided to stay in this room which he didn't have to do, he could easily have given us the superior room but we wouldn't have enjoyed it.
We made the first choice rep (Steve) aware of this so he could log this with first choice management in order to see if we can get some reimbursement.
The breakfast dinner buffets are fantastic, 5 start level, don't let buffet fool you, the food choice is wide and of a high standard, we made sure we made the most of the dishes which varied each day.
The only downer is the bar prices, at least UK prices if not more. We made the 20 min walk to the local supermarket constantinos to stock up on alcohol, soft drinks and water, cheaper than UK prices for some items !
The staff are great, some of the waiters & the 2 gym receptionist girls were so friendly and welcoming to us, made us feel very comfortable.
The beach was not busy due to the low season which was ideal for us.
Due to the low season, a lot of tavernas and other stores were closed but this didn't affect our stay, if anything, gave us the room to do what we wanted.
There is a taverna near by, just down the beach side road, called Artemis, great staff, great food, great location, you must go there.
We made a couple bus trips to kos town, a harbour town with shops and tavernas, just what the doctor ordered, strongly recommend going to Jackson's bar, great staff and very very cool.
We hired a couple bicycles and rode to tygaki, great beach, great tavernas, very much a hub before Kos town, continued on to Kos, from Marmari to Kos, it's a hour bike ride, not bad as its all flat.
We also did an island tour through first choice, the tour guide was very knowledgable and it was a very educational experience, good day out.
All in all, just what the doctor ordered, perfect !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank carpediem240475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmari
13.1 km away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
8.8 km away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
18.3 km away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
Caravia Beach Hotel
Caravia Beach Hotel
#2 of 15 in Marmari
521 reviews
18.7 km away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare

Address: Marmari, Marmari 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Marmari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marmari
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marmari
#1 Spa Hotel in Marmari
Price Range: $226 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo del Mare, a luxury five star adults only hotel with 175 guestrooms, was built in 2008/9 and extended in 2010. It is located near the village of Marmari, at the north-west coast of the island of Kos, only 50 m from the beach, 15 km from the airport and 17 km away from the centre of Kos island. The Hotel has a two-storey main building, one building with three floors, ten two-storey buildings and the area of the Presidential suite and the ten Executive suites, all with private pools. Each luxurious room and richly appointed suite features a bath or shower, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, coffee and tea facilities (replenished daily), direct dial telephone, internet access and in-room safe (both free of charge), individual air conditioning and a satellite TV. All ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool.Palazzo del Mare offers a variety of facilities like the Sogno main restaurant ( a buffet restaurant with terrace), the Pool Snack bar for lunch and the Culinarium a' la carte restaurant (dinner only). For refreshing drinks you will find the Sole Pool bar, Vento Lounge bar, Porto Beach bar and Parola Café offering crepes and ice cream.Our international guests can enjoy a 4500 m² swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, an indoor heated pool (120 m²) with separate Jacuzzi, the fully equipped Onda Gym as well as the Armonia Spa (450 m²) with various treatment rooms, where our only goal is the inspiration and the "harmony" of your body and soul. In the hotel you can as well find a mini market, a boutique shop and an internet corner.Ideal for those, who wish to try something new and combine a relaxed holiday with high personal attention, that puts guest's comfort above all! From the moment you approach Palazzo del Mare, you know you are in for a quality experience.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Mare Marmari
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo Del Mare Kos/Marmari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing