We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$527
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Summer Village Hotel(Marmari)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Cook Kos(Marmari)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Esperia(Marmari)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Stella Maris(Marmari)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveller rating
528
147
36
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
147
36
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up roommain poolprivate beachpool bardirect pool accesssun loungershalf boardglass of sparkling winekos townrelaxing holidaya la carte restaurantbreakfast and dinnergala nightevening entertainmentbeautiful hotelmain restaurantgreek night
Filter
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 719 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This hotel would suit anyone who is looking for a 'get away from it all' break. It is a little bit away from shops, restaurants etc but that is what we wanted so it was perfect for us. Also, busses run regularly if you wanted to travel to the town. The room was great and spotlessly clean. The hotel itself looked lovely and again was very well looked after. Staff were great too, really helpful and friendly. The beach that the hotel looks over was so nice...clean, clear waters and sun loungers in abundance. The only thing I would say is that we did find the food a little disappointing - however, as we were half board and it was a good price perhaps we shouldn't complain. To be fair in comparison to other buffet style food I've had in the past this was actually quite good. What we would really suggest though is using the a la carte restaurant on site - the food we had there was wonderful.
A very restful break in lovley surroundings.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to the pools
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tinakins09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The quality of service,friendly staff,good beach location,quiet and excellent food combined to make this one of the best hotels we have stayed in.A car is essential if you need to see the island unless you want to spend a lot of money on trips.The weather is not very good in October but found some entertainment in the evenings but a lot of places seemed to close for the winter,In all a very lucky find.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davengill9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My Partner and I stayed at the Palazzo del Mare in early October 2010 for one week. We booked the holiday four weeks earlier via Thomas Cook. We booked a Junior Suite, as we fancied a ground floor suite with direct access to the pool from our terrace. Two weeks prior to our departure I sent an e-mail to the hotel to make sure everything was OK with our booking, to our surprise the bookings office said that we were booked into an upper floor suite with Jacuzzi, not being a fan of Jacuzzi's I insisted that we wanted a suite with pool access, for this the hotel wanted an extra £15 pppn. After a little debate we agreed to pay the extra cost, but to secure this booking we had to supply our credit card details.

The coach transfer from the airport is very swift, it takes 20 minutes. We were glad we didn’t pay extra for a private taxi circa £70.

We arrived at the hotel in the late evening, the hotel looked amazing, the reception staff were very friendly and professional. We had a complimentary drink and were shown to our room. Waiting for us in the room was a vase of flowers, because we arrive late a plate of Greek food and a bottle of sparkling wine.

The suite was fantastic, a bathroom to die for, a wet room, separate toilet, a large lounge with what I would describe as 70’s retro furniture, a large LCD television, dvd player and a coffee pod machine. The bedroom had a Large double bed with clean, crisp white linen and the usual. The Junior Suites are located between the pool bar/Italian restaurant and the beach.

I am a keen swimmer and every morning at home I swim a mile, so the idea of direct access to the pool was that I could just slip out of bed into my Speedos and jump into the pool. The alarm went at 8 and I had every intention of carrying out my daily exercise but one toe in the pool changed that idea. The temperature was soooo cold. The Suite shared its pool with the other five ground floor suites; I wondered if the main pool was of a similar temperature, so I gave that a go and it to was just as cold. A dip in the sea after breakfast proved better, which was much warmer.

The terrace to the Suite face east and because of the privacy walls between each of the rooms, the sun disappeared shortly before midday and then we had to find a sunny spot across the pool. On hindsight if I had known this on booking I would have just booked a standard room, and used the money saved as a deposit for another holiday.
Another problem was the wind, although it was still warm at around 26c, the wind coming in from the sea made it colder. There was very little protection from the wind.

We had booked full board, but on arrival were given full board plus, which included drinks during the meals. The restaurant served buffet meals and generally had a good selection, but after four days got a little boring. I don’t know if I’m picky but we were spoilt so much on our last holiday staying at the Es Moli, Deya, Majorca in July, that its going to be a while till we stay at a hotel that surpasses the food and service quality of the Es Moli.

On a couple of occasions we ventured into the bar and had a couple of expensive cocktails, whilst listening to a group play and sing songs from the 70’s. The bar was empty; we are in our 40’s and do like a little bit of a bop and drink in the evening. It was either the out of date entertainment or the expensive drinks that was keeping people away, together with an inexpensive supermarket selling good wines one mile from the hotel.

We hired a car from the hotel reception for two days, a small car but very cheap at £50. Over the two days we saw the entire Island. Another British couple told us they had booked a couple of tours with Thomas Cook which cost, over two hundred pounds, they explained where they went and did, it was virtually the same places as we travelled to.

One afternoon was overcast so we decided to get the buss and travel into Kos again, this took 30 minutes and cost circa £3.00. The bus stop is the beach side of the hotel.

Summary – An aesthetically beautiful and clean hotel with friendly staff and good food. In an isolated area for those who like quite evenings with either expensive drinks from the bar or a bottle of supermarket plonk from the local supermarket. Very cold pool (would be lovely in the height of summer). I would recommend a standard West facing room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank QuayJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed for 2 weeks, 2nd & 3rd week of October, towards the end of the season, the hotel closing a week after our departure so it was good to have the relaxing hotel.
The front desk manager Rolando gave us a standard room instead of a superior room that we had booked. He showed us why, the superior room available for us only had sunlight in the morning, the rest of the day it was in shadow, the room we did have had sun all round and a private patio onto the main pool, we were very happy with this and decided to stay in this room which he didn't have to do, he could easily have given us the superior room but we wouldn't have enjoyed it.
We made the first choice rep (Steve) aware of this so he could log this with first choice management in order to see if we can get some reimbursement.
The breakfast dinner buffets are fantastic, 5 start level, don't let buffet fool you, the food choice is wide and of a high standard, we made sure we made the most of the dishes which varied each day.
The only downer is the bar prices, at least UK prices if not more. We made the 20 min walk to the local supermarket constantinos to stock up on alcohol, soft drinks and water, cheaper than UK prices for some items !
The staff are great, some of the waiters & the 2 gym receptionist girls were so friendly and welcoming to us, made us feel very comfortable.
The beach was not busy due to the low season which was ideal for us.
Due to the low season, a lot of tavernas and other stores were closed but this didn't affect our stay, if anything, gave us the room to do what we wanted.
There is a taverna near by, just down the beach side road, called Artemis, great staff, great food, great location, you must go there.
We made a couple bus trips to kos town, a harbour town with shops and tavernas, just what the doctor ordered, strongly recommend going to Jackson's bar, great staff and very very cool.
We hired a couple bicycles and rode to tygaki, great beach, great tavernas, very much a hub before Kos town, continued on to Kos, from Marmari to Kos, it's a hour bike ride, not bad as its all flat.
We also did an island tour through first choice, the tour guide was very knowledgable and it was a very educational experience, good day out.
All in all, just what the doctor ordered, perfect !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank carpediem240475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We stayed in this hotel for two weeks and had a wonderful time. We had ground floor rooms with a veranda opening straight on to the massive pool. The food was very good and as we were on a full board plus basis, drinks were included at all meals. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and gave assistance and advice on local places of interest to visit.
The massage on the beach was very relaxing and was one of the best massages I have had. Although the hotel is located in a quiet area, there is plenty to do close by. A visit to Kos town can be made by bus or taxi, and there is a water park close by. We took a boat to a small island for the day, and were collected from the hotel beach. This was a great day out and enjoyed by all.
I would certainly recommend this hotel, but if you want vibrant night life it is probably not the place for you

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Quinnyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews