We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic pools, clean contemporary hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Marmari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed for a week with 3 girlfriends. Hot sunny days spent by the endless pools. One was 166 metres long and the other 164!! This gave plenty of space around pool and despite being full, we felt it was quite deserted! Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Beds were really good. Didn't have pool access from room but didn't bother us. Food was a bit of a let down. Breakfast buffet average, evening buffet not so good. We ended up swapping dinner for lunch (which was a la carte) and went out in evenings. Kos town easy bus ride away. Zia is great for evening, also matachari which are both short taxi rides away. Overall I would go back but half board for lunch only.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 367 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

Palazzo del Mare is one of the finest hotels on the island of Kos. It is situated at about 10 km from Hippocrates Airport, 25 km from the town of Kos and 1 km from the seaside village of Marmari.
Upon arrival on Wednesday July 13, my husband and I were welcomed by the friendly staff at the reception and were immediately shown to the terrace, elegantly furnished with comfortable, off-white sofas and overlooking the huge swimming pool and the hotel’s luxuriant gardens. Having enjoyed a welcome drink while completing check-in, we were shown to our room - spacious, beautifully decorated and with direct access to the pool! The bathroom was equipped with perfumed, velvety towels and bath robes. Cleanliness in our room was impeccable just like everywhere in the hotel!
When on holiday, we almost invariably book Bed & Breakfast but did not regret for a minute our half-board terms of stay this time. We loved the food so much that we had lunch out twice only during our stay. Breakfast consisted of a wide range of different kinds of bread, rolls, croissants, sweets, fruits, eggs, pancakes, delicatessen, cheeses, jams to mention just a few of the savoury breakfast options. Dinner consisted of such a wide variety of salads, starters, main courses and desserts that it was impossible to try them all in one week! Lunch was served at Bacco Restaurant which was an à la carte Italian restaurant in the evening. We also greatly appreciated a special treat on the beach across the road where all hotel guests were offered cold melon and water melon.
Entertainment was also a part of our wonderful experience at Palazzo del Mare. The hotel’s home band entertained us every evening from 7 pm till late at night while there was a Greek night on Saturdays.
Considering all the above in addition to fast and efficient service, the hotel is good value for money and I strongly recommend it if you ever plan to spend a holiday in Kos. Finally, I would like to thank from the bottom of my heart the hotel management for everything they did to make our holiday an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anastasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

we had 10 days here in july.yes i am late in doing a review but as the title says what a place.

every room on the ground floor has a swim up room and as 70 per cent of people tend to spend their time there then the huge pool never seems to have more than half the sunbeds used.we would go to the pool after breakfast to find the next guests to come down to the pool usually arrived around 10.30am,approx 2 hours after us.

the food in the hotel was probably the best we have ever had.although the evening meal was buffet service the choice was extensive.we normally travel bed and breakfast but as the hotel only offered half board we expected to still eat out most nights.however,after our first night in the restaurant did not even consider eating outside.

the service in all parts of the hotel were first class and everyone from the management to the cleaners were always friendly and helpful.what amazed us most was how well everything was cleaned.we were told by the bar manager that all staff were trained to clean everything on a daily basis and if they had time spare during the day to clean it again.

Also while there we hired a car for 3 days and you will find this is a simple island to get around.one road goes straight through the middle of the island which for someone like me made it more or less impossible to get lost and you will find many little seaside towns dotted all over the island and a trip to kos town is about the only time you will find any crowds.

one tip...do not pay too much attention to the thomson reps as most have not got a clue apart from the fact they will probably tell you 50 times what a good idea it is to book seats together for the flight home.as we have been married near to 30 years did not want to pay 30 euros for the pleasure nor would care less if we were seperated for all of 3 hours.also the rep at the airport on arrival told us a taxi took approx 45 minutes to the hotel at a cost of 50 euros.what a load of rubbish.taxi takes no more than 15 minutes at a cost of 10 euros.

Other than this had a fantastic holiday and will return in the next 12 months

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor room as we are sure they all are swim up rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank tracysmith3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We have just returned from two weeks at the Palazzo Del Mare Hotel, Kos. Whenever re read Trip Advisor, however much other people recommend somewhere, it's always a gamble as different people have different tastes, but our travel agent recommended this hotel too and it was fantastic! No scramble for sun beds as all the poolside rooms have their own, so even though the hotel was fully booked (400 people we were told), there were dozens of free sun beds and brollies. The same applied to the sun beds and brollies on the hotel's own bit of the splendid beach. If you're particularly lazy on holiday, like us, the Melon Man as we dubbed him comes round offering chunks of melon while you laze by the sea. Else, the Melon Girls (no rude puns please chaps) will do the same if you're by the pool. If you like swimming, the pool, at a guess, is 250 to 300 yards long! All the staff were friendly and helpful and everyone made an effort to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. Marmari is approximately a 10 minute walk away and while there is not much to see, there are a few bars and places to eat, plus a tour shop and somewhere to rent a car or bike. The hotel really is 5*. The pictures on the web site and in the brochures don't do it justice. We don't usually go to the same place twice in case a happy memory is spoiled the next time, but we will definitely return to the Palazzo Del Mare as soon as we can. One tip for you, coming in to Kos airport is a breeze, but leaving Kos airport on your way home is another matter entirely! To be blunt, it's chaos. The best thing to do when you check in for your return journey is to go through 'passport control' as soon as you can. We nearly missed our flight as no-one appeared to know what was going on and the announcements, such as they were, were virtually inaudible. Don't be put off by the airport, the hotel is great and well worth any amount of airport hassle. Close your eyes, count to 10 and remember the British were born to queue!!

Room Tip: West facing, so, when looking down at the pool from the main part of the hotel, rooms on the right g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank YRedroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The hotel is lovely, has water everywhere with huge amazing pools which have private terraces to a lot of the hotel rooms. All rooms look at the main pools. The hotel is right next to the beach (pretty white sand) and has free palapas for the guest and also an area where you can get massages.

The breakfast buffet (included) is pretty impressive! The food in the hotel is very good and reasonably priced -- there are two restaurants (Italian and Mediterranean), as well as a pool snack bar. The drinks are a little pricey (but it is the Euro Zone) there is a supermarket close to the hotel where you can buy beer, wine, water or inflatable floaties for the pool which is nice.

My only problem with the hotel was the Internet - it wasn't reliable -- our room had no Internet!! So they gave us a cable which they made us put a 5 Euro deposit, but it was uncomfortable since there is only one plug. The pool area also had crappy Internet, only the lobby had a good connection.

Take the bus to the hotel it is about 20 minutes from Kos town - the bus stops right in front of the hotel and leaves every hour to and from. We arrived in the ferry in the morning at 5 am, so we had to take a taxi, there is nothing open at this hour.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank UrsulaPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmari
13.1 km away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
8.8 km away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
18.3 km away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,560 reviews
1.7 km away
Caravia Beach Hotel
Caravia Beach Hotel
#2 of 15 in Marmari
521 reviews
1.5 km away
Casa Cook Kos
Casa Cook Kos
#7 of 15 in Marmari
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare

Address: Marmari, Marmari 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Marmari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marmari
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marmari
#1 Spa Hotel in Marmari
Price Range: $226 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo del Mare, a luxury five star adults only hotel with 175 guestrooms, was built in 2008/9 and extended in 2010. It is located near the village of Marmari, at the north-west coast of the island of Kos, only 50 m from the beach, 15 km from the airport and 17 km away from the centre of Kos island. The Hotel has a two-storey main building, one building with three floors, ten two-storey buildings and the area of the Presidential suite and the ten Executive suites, all with private pools. Each luxurious room and richly appointed suite features a bath or shower, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, coffee and tea facilities (replenished daily), direct dial telephone, internet access and in-room safe (both free of charge), individual air conditioning and a satellite TV. All ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool.Palazzo del Mare offers a variety of facilities like the Sogno main restaurant ( a buffet restaurant with terrace), the Pool Snack bar for lunch and the Culinarium a' la carte restaurant (dinner only). For refreshing drinks you will find the Sole Pool bar, Vento Lounge bar, Porto Beach bar and Parola Café offering crepes and ice cream.Our international guests can enjoy a 4500 m² swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, an indoor heated pool (120 m²) with separate Jacuzzi, the fully equipped Onda Gym as well as the Armonia Spa (450 m²) with various treatment rooms, where our only goal is the inspiration and the "harmony" of your body and soul. In the hotel you can as well find a mini market, a boutique shop and an internet corner.Ideal for those, who wish to try something new and combine a relaxed holiday with high personal attention, that puts guest's comfort above all! From the moment you approach Palazzo del Mare, you know you are in for a quality experience.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Mare Marmari
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo Del Mare Kos/Marmari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing