We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$526
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Summer Village Hotel(Marmari)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Cook Kos(Marmari)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveller rating
528
147
36
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
147
36
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up roommain poolprivate beachpool bardirect pool accesssun loungershalf boardglass of sparkling winekos townrelaxing holidaya la carte restaurantbreakfast and dinnergala nightevening entertainmentbeautiful hotelmain restaurantgreek night
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 719 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We visited Palazzo del Mare last week (26.05.12) through Planet Windsurf and got a great half board offer. The hotel is amazing to look at. It's been designed really well with wood, stone and neutral colours throughout. We stayed in a balcony room on the 1st floor. The rooms are mostly built around a huge H shaped swimming pool which doesn't smell of Chlorine and is beautiful & quiet. The room was great with dressing gowns and powerful shower, fresh flowers and fruit.
The hotel has a lovely peaceful atmosphere and although there were some younger children around they were really well behaved and the staff seemed to make a fuss of them. There are an army of staff around who keep the place spotless.
The choice of food is good but I would agree that none of the food is hot and this makes eating it a bit odd..also the tea and coffee is luke warm and it did seem like a bit of a cattle market at times around the buffet. Make sure guys wear proper shoes as my husband got pulled up for wearing sandals in the restaurant which was embarrassing!
The Bacco restaurant can be swopped for one night. We had a lovely 4 course meal but it was a set menu so don't really know much other than the set menu was great (although again not hot!).
Drinks seemd reasonably priced with happy hours at 5-6 at Pool Bar and 6-7 at the Terrace Bar.
The beach was just over the road and was lovely with a gazebo where you can have a massage and watersports facilities nearby. We used the windsurfing almost everyday through Fun to Fun watersports. They had a good selection of gear and seemed to keep an eye on you although the rescue vehicle never left the beach..
The negative for us was the location. There was a hotel right next door which was a bit of a Hi Di Hi place and the first night we got there we couldn't sleep as there was banging disco music until about 12pm. We ended up having our air con on all night every night just to drown out the noise. If I was to stay here again i would want to be as far away from the racquet of this hotel as possible as it destroys the peace and tranquility. Also I would have a room on the side of the hotel where the sun hits the balconies in the afternoon rather than the morning.
Would definately recommend getting a car for a few days and visiting the Fortress of Antimachia and Zia. We also hired bikes and rode to Marmari and Tigaki which are the nearest villages.
This was the first holiday that I felt genuinely sad to leave and wanted to stay for longer.

Room Tip: Chose a room away from the noisy hotel next door and with sunny balcony in the afternoon.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katesprl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have just returned from spending a week away at this hotel. As per the other reviews the hotel is in beautiful grounds, the pools are amazing, rooms lovely and modern and everywhere spotlessly clean. The staff are also extremely friendly.
We stayed in one of the pool terrace rooms, (swim up) which was fabulous! This was one of the big pluses of the holiday, our own sunloungers, and just be able to get straight into the pool from our room, that was great, no hassle, however the pool was freezing cold!! but will probably get warmer as the season goes on.
However if you are in a balcony room you will have no problem getting sunloungers around the main pool as there are plenty whatever time of day.

The negatives however for us was the food, to be honest the restaurant was like going into a cattle market. People were pushing and shoving around the buffet area, and food ran out of the containers very quickly, hence then you were waiting for them to to be replenished which was very slow. By the time you got back to your table the food was cold. At breakfast although there was a good choice of food but again the bacon was always freezing cold, and there seems to be an issue with the coffee and tea pots the waiters give you when you come in for breakfast, they were always cold. so never a hot cup of coffee or tea, lukewarm. I know that al lot of guests complained about this , aswell as the food being cold.
The hotel is mainly of germain nationality, and they could be extremly rude and cheat queues etc which wasnt good. there only seemed to be a handful of british guests staying whilst we were there.
The beach is lovely, nice soft white sand and comfy sunloungers all free of charge as they belong to the hotel. The resort itself is quiet, with only a few bars which are a 10 - 15min walk away, so if you like a lively place then this is not the place for you. The buses however stop outside the hotel and go to kos town which is lovely, worth going, only 2 euros, so very cheap,(takes about 25mins) a taxi will cost about 18-22euros!!! so a vast difference.
All in all a lovely hotel but they need to sort the food issue out, which is why I have only given it 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: choose a pool terrace room swim up, they are fab!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank katie3659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Our bags were collected from the taxi, and we went straight in to a very friendly welcome at reception. We were then offered a drink and informed of the facilities available at the hotel.
If you enjoy swimming this has one of the longest pools I have seen! There are also plenty of sun loungers for everyone. Towels are supplied for pool and beach.
The buffet food was very good, and a wide selection for breakfast and dinner.
The only disappointment was the Bacco Restaurant, which could not supply many of the fish dishes we wanted to try, from shrimp soup to sea bream, at least 4 dishes were unavailable.
The hotel is a little remote, but, to us, that was the beauty of it. After dinner we preferred to walk to the Sunset taverna for a drink and work off the meal, and had many a friendly chat, and a liqueur with the owner.
A bus service runs into Kos town from the back of the hotel, and from there you can get buses to most places on the island. Otherwise you need to hire a car to get around, about three days would be plenty. If you do hire a car I recommend going to Zia, a mountain village, in the evening to watch the sunset. If you stay for a meal, try Taverna Olympia or Olympia 2, run by father and son. The food in the latter was excellent, and you can see the sun set at the same time.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank h00p0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just back, 20.5.12 from this stunning Hotel!! With staff friendly who only want to make your stay as happy as possible. With stylish decor, faultless cleanliness, facilities galore, buffet food excellent + pools to die for and the beach literally across the road (wind breaks would be helpful). Some say the location is a problem ie the little village of Marmari is a 15/20 min walk away, but only a couple of bars open at this time of year. Evening entertainment at the Hotel amounted to a man + a woman playing live music and then the customary Greek dancers once a week, all very nice. It's fair to say, the evenings are quiet, just how I like it!!
The Hotel has a lovely ambience and a very nice touch to it, I really do hope it stays this way!!

Room Tip: As said before, rooms in the 200s get the sun in the am, rooms in the 400s get it in the pm. Also, for those choosing to pay the extra for the ground floor rooms that lead out to the pool, just have a think, some people we got to know had paid but then spent the whole day on the beach.....you could spend your cash at the spa or bar??!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mend0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This was our first visit to Kos, although not to Greece, we were not disappointed with the Hotel yes it is away from the hub, but that's the beauty of it. The Staff are all friendly and helpful and nothing appears to be to much trouble.

Room: These are clean and well maintained, we had room 555 overlooking the pool, gets the sun in the morning and the cool shade in the afternoon. It had all that we needed for our stay and was cleaned with towels etc changed daily.

Food: buffet style breakfast and dinner with plenty to suit everyone's tastes, if your are disappointed then you must be VERY hard to please. We stayed half board which suited our needs, there is an Italian Al a carte restaurant in site, booking essential, worth a visit.

Amenities: brilliant pool, spa, massage, crepe cafe with waffles to die for. We did not try the Spa so could not comment, but judging by the rest of the facilities would consider it to be first class.

Marmari: approx 5-10min walk, not much there a few little tavernas and usual shops worth the walk though along the beach.

Tours:we only went on one tour that was to Nisyros, do not book it through Thomsons, they charge 50euros per person , ouch, we went with Tagaki Tours, office in Marmari, cost 32euros each, go on the Friday trip you will get Michael an English guide who lives on the Island and who is very knowledgable you also get a trip to his village, this is Alsohirenot on the Thomson tour, trust me Michael was a star, boring he is not. Also hire a car to get the best of the Island, it's easy to get around and you can choose your own timescale thus missing all the tour buses.

Overall: brilliant holiday made better by our stay at the Palazzo, if you want layed back, relaxed, without the hassle then this is the place to be.

Thank you all at the Pallazzo Del Mare

Room Tip: Try one with a balcony view overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews