We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spacious resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Marmari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here for 4 days. The hotel screwed up our reservation so we were downgraded from an executive suite to a junior suite. Not to happy about this, but we were refunded the price difference and there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us at the room, so it was handled well.
Truly exceptional staff, all around, from the bell boy to the cleaning staff. Everyone was very friendly and service oriented. I would call it exceptional. Compliments to the management for putting together such an exceptional group of employees.

Hotel is beautiful, located on the beach. Restaurants were nice, but we only ate dinner in the buffet once during our stay. There is an italian restaurant as well, but otherwise you will have to go out of the resort. We did not find any restaurants within walking distance so it was driving into Kos town.

In summary, we had a great visit, and would gladly return.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 346 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

We visited Palazzo del Mare last week (26.05.12) through Planet Windsurf and got a great half board offer. The hotel is amazing to look at. It's been designed really well with wood, stone and neutral colours throughout. We stayed in a balcony room on the 1st floor. The rooms are mostly built around a huge H shaped swimming pool which doesn't smell of Chlorine and is beautiful & quiet. The room was great with dressing gowns and powerful shower, fresh flowers and fruit.
The hotel has a lovely peaceful atmosphere and although there were some younger children around they were really well behaved and the staff seemed to make a fuss of them. There are an army of staff around who keep the place spotless.
The choice of food is good but I would agree that none of the food is hot and this makes eating it a bit odd..also the tea and coffee is luke warm and it did seem like a bit of a cattle market at times around the buffet. Make sure guys wear proper shoes as my husband got pulled up for wearing sandals in the restaurant which was embarrassing!
The Bacco restaurant can be swopped for one night. We had a lovely 4 course meal but it was a set menu so don't really know much other than the set menu was great (although again not hot!).
Drinks seemd reasonably priced with happy hours at 5-6 at Pool Bar and 6-7 at the Terrace Bar.
The beach was just over the road and was lovely with a gazebo where you can have a massage and watersports facilities nearby. We used the windsurfing almost everyday through Fun to Fun watersports. They had a good selection of gear and seemed to keep an eye on you although the rescue vehicle never left the beach..
The negative for us was the location. There was a hotel right next door which was a bit of a Hi Di Hi place and the first night we got there we couldn't sleep as there was banging disco music until about 12pm. We ended up having our air con on all night every night just to drown out the noise. If I was to stay here again i would want to be as far away from the racquet of this hotel as possible as it destroys the peace and tranquility. Also I would have a room on the side of the hotel where the sun hits the balconies in the afternoon rather than the morning.
Would definately recommend getting a car for a few days and visiting the Fortress of Antimachia and Zia. We also hired bikes and rode to Marmari and Tigaki which are the nearest villages.
This was the first holiday that I felt genuinely sad to leave and wanted to stay for longer.

Room Tip: Chose a room away from the noisy hotel next door and with sunny balcony in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katesprl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have just returned from spending a week away at this hotel. As per the other reviews the hotel is in beautiful grounds, the pools are amazing, rooms lovely and modern and everywhere spotlessly clean. The staff are also extremely friendly.
We stayed in one of the pool terrace rooms, (swim up) which was fabulous! This was one of the big pluses of the holiday, our own sunloungers, and just be able to get straight into the pool from our room, that was great, no hassle, however the pool was freezing cold!! but will probably get warmer as the season goes on.
However if you are in a balcony room you will have no problem getting sunloungers around the main pool as there are plenty whatever time of day.

The negatives however for us was the food, to be honest the restaurant was like going into a cattle market. People were pushing and shoving around the buffet area, and food ran out of the containers very quickly, hence then you were waiting for them to to be replenished which was very slow. By the time you got back to your table the food was cold. At breakfast although there was a good choice of food but again the bacon was always freezing cold, and there seems to be an issue with the coffee and tea pots the waiters give you when you come in for breakfast, they were always cold. so never a hot cup of coffee or tea, lukewarm. I know that al lot of guests complained about this , aswell as the food being cold.
The hotel is mainly of germain nationality, and they could be extremly rude and cheat queues etc which wasnt good. there only seemed to be a handful of british guests staying whilst we were there.
The beach is lovely, nice soft white sand and comfy sunloungers all free of charge as they belong to the hotel. The resort itself is quiet, with only a few bars which are a 10 - 15min walk away, so if you like a lively place then this is not the place for you. The buses however stop outside the hotel and go to kos town which is lovely, worth going, only 2 euros, so very cheap,(takes about 25mins) a taxi will cost about 18-22euros!!! so a vast difference.
All in all a lovely hotel but they need to sort the food issue out, which is why I have only given it 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: choose a pool terrace room swim up, they are fab!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank katie3659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Our bags were collected from the taxi, and we went straight in to a very friendly welcome at reception. We were then offered a drink and informed of the facilities available at the hotel.
If you enjoy swimming this has one of the longest pools I have seen! There are also plenty of sun loungers for everyone. Towels are supplied for pool and beach.
The buffet food was very good, and a wide selection for breakfast and dinner.
The only disappointment was the Bacco Restaurant, which could not supply many of the fish dishes we wanted to try, from shrimp soup to sea bream, at least 4 dishes were unavailable.
The hotel is a little remote, but, to us, that was the beauty of it. After dinner we preferred to walk to the Sunset taverna for a drink and work off the meal, and had many a friendly chat, and a liqueur with the owner.
A bus service runs into Kos town from the back of the hotel, and from there you can get buses to most places on the island. Otherwise you need to hire a car to get around, about three days would be plenty. If you do hire a car I recommend going to Zia, a mountain village, in the evening to watch the sunset. If you stay for a meal, try Taverna Olympia or Olympia 2, run by father and son. The food in the latter was excellent, and you can see the sun set at the same time.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank h00p0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just back, 20.5.12 from this stunning Hotel!! With staff friendly who only want to make your stay as happy as possible. With stylish decor, faultless cleanliness, facilities galore, buffet food excellent + pools to die for and the beach literally across the road (wind breaks would be helpful). Some say the location is a problem ie the little village of Marmari is a 15/20 min walk away, but only a couple of bars open at this time of year. Evening entertainment at the Hotel amounted to a man + a woman playing live music and then the customary Greek dancers once a week, all very nice. It's fair to say, the evenings are quiet, just how I like it!!
The Hotel has a lovely ambience and a very nice touch to it, I really do hope it stays this way!!

Room Tip: As said before, rooms in the 200s get the sun in the am, rooms in the 400s get it in the pm. Also, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mend0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmari
13.1 km away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
8.8 km away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
18.3 km away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,559 reviews
1.7 km away
Caravia Beach Hotel
Caravia Beach Hotel
#2 of 15 in Marmari
521 reviews
1.5 km away
Casa Cook Kos
Casa Cook Kos
#7 of 15 in Marmari
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare

Address: Marmari, Marmari 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Marmari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marmari
#1 Spa Hotel in Marmari
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marmari
Price Range: $225 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo del Mare, a luxury five star adults only hotel with 175 guestrooms, was built in 2008/9 and extended in 2010. It is located near the village of Marmari, at the north-west coast of the island of Kos, only 50 m from the beach, 15 km from the airport and 17 km away from the centre of Kos island. The Hotel has a two-storey main building, one building with three floors, ten two-storey buildings and the area of the Presidential suite and the ten Executive suites, all with private pools. Each luxurious room and richly appointed suite features a bath or shower, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, coffee and tea facilities (replenished daily), direct dial telephone, internet access and in-room safe (both free of charge), individual air conditioning and a satellite TV. All ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool.Palazzo del Mare offers a variety of facilities like the Sogno main restaurant ( a buffet restaurant with terrace), the Pool Snack bar for lunch and the Culinarium a' la carte restaurant (dinner only). For refreshing drinks you will find the Sole Pool bar, Vento Lounge bar, Porto Beach bar and Parola Café offering crepes and ice cream.Our international guests can enjoy a 4500 m² swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, an indoor heated pool (120 m²) with separate Jacuzzi, the fully equipped Onda Gym as well as the Armonia Spa (450 m²) with various treatment rooms, where our only goal is the inspiration and the "harmony" of your body and soul. In the hotel you can as well find a mini market, a boutique shop and an internet corner.Ideal for those, who wish to try something new and combine a relaxed holiday with high personal attention, that puts guest's comfort above all! From the moment you approach Palazzo del Mare, you know you are in for a quality experience.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Mare Marmari
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo Del Mare Kos/Marmari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing