We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Marmari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This hotel is exactly as it states in the brochure. On arrival at the airport the rep took us to our transport which was a small bus. The driver was the rudest driver we have came across on our travels. He literally threw our case off the bus on our arrival at the hotel.

The receptionist and porter were very helpful and dealt with us very quickly. The buggy took us to our room which was very clean and comfortable. The room was exactly as we had booked but the beds and pillows were disappointing. They were soft and lumpy and not 5 star quality.

The breakfast was the best meal of the day. The choice was excellent , the smoothies and crepes were fab.

The evening meal was a hit and a miss. It's not that the food was poor but the choice was poor. This hotel only caters for German cuisine. We lived on bolognese, pasta and french fries. The deserts and ice cream were lovely. The restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly. Couldn't do enough for you. The only negative comment we have is that they lift your plate as soon as you stop eating. It made us laugh!

Our room was a superior pool room view. We had our own private access to the pool. However we felt like we were living in a goldfish bowl. People were staring across all day and swimmers passing by. On our last day we could keep our on so we had to sunbathe on the other side. This was much better and wished we had done this from the beginning.

We booked the Queen Bee Facial with Spa in hotel which was wonderful. We booked an aromotherapy massage with poultice, this was disappointing as we felt the girls were inexperienced on massages. But the girls were very pleasant and helpful. The Spa is very clean.

The main bar was disappointing due to inexperienced bar staff who did not know the contents of cocktails. The bar is supposed to be open until 1am however, we felt the staff would look at their watches and start to clear chairs away at 2245hrs. The drinks menu does not describe the contents of the cocktails. When we did ask the staff did not know what we were talking about.

Entertainment was poor. The girl singers were lovely but only on until 2230hrs. Hence the the reason why the staff were want to pack up early.

In the restaurant we always order a bottle of wine. The wine list was very poor and when we eventually did get a wine that we liked the hotel ran out of it. We decided not to buy anymore wine. The cost for a bottle of Italian wine was 25 - 30 euros.

The beach was lovely. The beach area was kept very clean and tidy. The hotel management are every where in the hotel and also down at the beach.

We loved the hotel and restaurant staff. The maid that cleaned our room was very good and helpful. Management very pleasant and helpful. We would recomment this hotel for a relaxing holiday. However, the hotel caters mostly for Germans. We found them to be rude and unfriendly. We would return to this hotel if there was a mixture of nationalities.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotlandRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 401 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2010

Just returned from a 1 wk stay . This is the best hotel we have stayed in a beautifull hotel but its the staff that made it extra special for us, nothing was too much trouble and they always went the extra mile. The hotel was fully booked but never felt busy ,very spacious, sunbeds were always in abundance both around the pool and on the private beach.We hired a car which we felt was needed for this hotel as it is a little isolated, there is a bus service into kos town which was 1.80 euro per person. The only negative is the expensive bar drinks 8.00 euro for a jack daniels ! your room mini bar was pricey too 10euro for a minature spirit ! 4 euro for a can of pop only 59p at supermarket! Nothing much to do for children but our 7yr old was happy in the pool and we toured the island most days. We visited the waterpark which our 7yr old enjoyed and the go karts in marmari , they were 20 euro for 20 mins but well worth it for seeing the massive smile on his face and his dads! A trp to Zia to view the amazing sunsets is a must too we found the restaurant prices very fair too, Kos Town is good to visit with many boat trips available to other islands . If you,re after an action packed family hotel this is not for you but if you're looking for relxation in quality surroundings it is. We would definitely return I hope you enjoy it too!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Honeynorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The hotel is just like the photos on the website. No sneeky angles to distort the reality.
We had no problems checking in but we did arrive early evening after a long journey via Athens due to Kos airport being fogbound. They give you a little tour to show you where things are, a nice touch, but we were too tired to really appreciate it.
STAFF:- were all exceptionally friendly and helpful.
ROOM:- We were very pleased to be in a Superior Pool View room on the ground floor with a terrace out to the pool. This is what really made our holiday so relaxing and wonderful.It had plenty of storage, large bath and powerful shower, air con, tv, safe, tea/coffee and mini bar and was big enough for hubby, myself and our 8 year old. It would have been cosy with 2 children!
Only complaint was that the lighting was not bright enough and it was hard to see clearly in the mirrors, particularly in the bathroom. FIne if the black out blind was open but then everyone walking or swimming past was able to see in as well!
Our twin beds were comfortable, pillows a bit soft, but although our daughter slept well she wants me to say that her bed was very hard and not very comfortable.
Maid cleaned every day and you could have clean sheets and towels every day if you wanted.
In fact the hotel and grounds were spotlessly clean and well kept.
RESTAURANT:- Men need trousers long enough to cover knees and they are quite strict about it. You may get away with it once but only once.
BREAKFAST was from 7 - 10.30 and you could have almost anything you wanted. There was always a different smoothie, juices,tea or coffee, cooked breakfast, yoghurts, fruit, bread, cereal, cold meat/cheese, pancakes, croissant, biscuits and cakes! Only 1 toaster which did form a small queue at times.
DINNER:- 7 - 10.00 they told us there were 2 sittings but I don't think they had got the hang of things and we went at various different times and were never turned away or asked to hurry up.
There was a wide variety of dishes and the chefs cooked 4 hot dishes on demand (fish, meat, roasted veg, kebabs, paella, seafood pasta/parcels), a greek section, soups, salads (prepared or make up your own) cheeses, fruit, bread and desserts. It was only the last 2 nights when we felt the selection was a bit poor. It probably wasn't but we had just got a bit spoilt by then!
Waiters and waitresses were very friendly and attentive. We soon learnt to sit inside where there was a bit of air conditioning. You could charge drinks to your room or pay cash and they were expensive but then it is a 5 star hotel so no surprise there.
We went half board which was fine but to have a snack in the middle of the day could prove quite expensive. The creperie was lovely though and the pool bar meals were big enough to share.
MINI BAR:- we had a few drinks the first few days but then made a trip to the supermarket for water, juice and diet coke. They did not seem to mind us putting them in the fridge and it was definitely worth the hot walk.
POOL :- what a fantastic pool. It was so clean and never too busy to swim. Quite often we were the only ones in the bit outside our room. It varied in depth so that if you wanted to play catch you could move to a shallower section. The childrens pool was perfect and well used by little ones. You could find free sunbeds at anytime of day with plenty of shade OR sun.
BEACH :- 2- 5 minutes from your room depending where you were. Lots of people went to the beach which may be why the pool was so quiet. You could take your pool towels and they had comfy sunbeds and parasols, waiter to bring drinks and snacks and a beach hut for massages.
Sea was warm and sand was soft. It got quite windy which was very refreshing.
SPA:- beach massages were lovely and quite reasonable 30 mins for 20euros. Main Spa was very luxurious and the balinese massage was heavenly.
REP:- Dave was a super rep. Very friendly and helpful. We sat with him for dinner one evening and he was great company.
Unfortunately they are putting their prices up for 2011, no surprise really. The ground floor rooms with pool access are well worth the cost though. As long as you can get one!
We would definitely recommend it if you want a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HarryOxford_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

First of all, let me precede my long review by saying how I very much enjoyed this hotel. Yes, there are a few negative comments included, but if you are thinking of travelling to Kos, this hotel is a gem!

Firstly, there is a bit of a problem when checking in to this hotel. The reasons for this is that Thomson/First Choice flights don't arrive until late in the day - approximately midnight local time. This means that Reception isn't well staffed at all and check-in is listening to a night receptionist who treats you like you are 4 year olds. There is a considerable delay in getting to your room, due to the fact that there is only one porter to transport your luggage and one check-in operative. There were 3 couples arriving from Newcastle, including ourselves. We were last to be checked in - having waited in Reception for nearly an hour! Unfortunately, we were greeted with the news of not being able to be checked in to our Executive Suite that night. Francesca claimed that it was because of "over booking" and that "there wasn't much difference in the room", it was "no big deal". We decided not to have an argument with Francesca, as she clearly was not well trained in customer services. Beware this may happen to you!

So we were given a Superior Room - Pool View that night. Now, this room is lovely, with direct access to the pool and a large terrace complete with your own table and chairs and sunbeds. But it wasn't what we had booked so you can imagine how we felt. Anyway, once back at our room, we used the hotel's wifi connection and I emailed Denis, who I'd been emailing at the Blue Lagoon Group (the hotel chain) for some months. I emailed him at 1.30 am and by 8.30 am, I received a sound reply. He took on board all my complaints and acted professionally and swiftly. Indeed, by 12 noon we were moved bag and baggage to our Executive Suite - which was absolutely gorgeous. In fact, it was more like a flat with a huge outside area and magical private pool. We were in seventh heaven. And it didn't stop there. The hotel reception and Guest Relations staff were magnificent in their apologies and the complimentary champagne we received by way of an apology.

The hotel is stunning. The 2 large main pools are of a lovely depth and if you wanted, you could swim up and down all day. It was supposed to be fully booked, but yet still looked a bit deserted - the hotel was so spacious. I was impressed with the furniture and fittings as it gave the hotel a good look of glamorous chic. We spent most of our days in our private pool, which was literally only 2 minutes walk to the private beach - complete with fabulous drink and food service. We were also just a few minutes to the Bacco restaurant, which served lunch up until 3 pm. If you are on Half Board, you can swap your evening meal to lunch service, which we really liked, particularly if you want to go out in the evening.

The main buffet restaurant is lovely - probably the best we've ever sampled. Breakfast was full and varied with excellent smoothies made freshly. The cooked food at breakfast was the same each day but everything was beautifully prepared. At dinner, we always found far too much which we enjoyed greatly. Of particular mention is the variation in the preparation of the vegetables, which was delicious. The house wine is nice enough, but we usually paid 16 - 21 euros for a bottle of white, rose or red for our meal. They have a sitting system in place. We were perfectly happy to go at around 8.30 pm and then enjoy a lovely meal, while watching the restaurant empty - that's what we enjoy. The staff in the restaurant are exceptional - sadly mostly eastern europeans as Greek staff are seemingly hard to come by, given the fact that the hotel is only open for 6 months each season, but the Manager and his Assistant were both Greek. Of particular mention is the Sous Maitre-d who had a very dry sense of humour which we enjoyed. He was always interesting to talk to also.

If you wish you can visit the Bacco Restaurant - the Italian A La Carte restaurant, which is payable locally. We were treated there as a gift for our Silver Wedding Anniversary, and the hotel made it very special with rose petals on the table and a cake baked and decorated for us - a lovely touch. The Bacco has excellent food, but it is so under used by hotel guests. We suggested to the Guest Relations Manager that if the cost was slightly greater for each guest that the Bacco could be booked for a meal once per week for everyone's stay. This would give more atmosphere to a lovely addition to the hotel.

The other problem, as we saw it anyway, was the lack of atmosphere in the Piano Bar in the evening. After 11.30 pm, there were very few people in the bar having drinks, even though it is due to be open until 1 am. We felt that this could indeed be improved upon, and that would then increase the hotel's takings. The drinks were not overpriced - compared to the area, and were always well made. It is a pity therefore that people were either going outside the hotel, or just going to bed earlier - we don't know which! But this didn't put us off, as if you want to get some nightlife, it isn't hard to find nearby.

We visited the spa for a his and hers massage, which was wonderful! The whole spa area is so serene and beautifully prepared at a good price. They have also started half hour massages on the beach for a great price too!

We loved the Palazzo, and are ready to book up for next year. My main piece of advice for the hotel, is to employ a few more Reception staff to welcome guests arriving late on - it is after all, the very first glimpse of what the hotel can offer. After a bad start, we had a truly magnificent holiday. I wish youi well if you are going here - and really can't imagine you having a bad time.

Please contact me if you want anything further.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Metg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We wanted something special to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, and thought a pool access room at Palazzo would be perfect, unfortunately this was not to be, as due to overbooking the hotel could only allocate us a first floor room. We tried all week to change rooms and although the hotel had the opportunity to move us (we watched others coming and going) we didn't get our room, hence our average rating.

ROOMS:- the rooms were adequate, very clean but pillows too soft for our taste. The pool access rooms do look great, but be warned people in the first floor rooms can look down on people sunbathing below them (not always a pleasant view). The mini bar is supposed to be for hotel drinks only, but we did manage to persuade the manager to empty the fridge for our use. The complimentary toiletries were great, they are from a greek spa range called aptivita (not in the UK at present) but can be bought in the hotel spa. Our bathroom had glass panels into the bedroom, so when the light was turned on in the bathroom it shone through to the bedroom, not great in the middle of the night. The rooms also had insect screens on the balcony doors which were helpful, but come prepared as we got bitten and according to the rep insects are worse at some times of the year than others.

POOL:- is wonderful as per all the photo's. (if you want an amazing infinity pool with great views have a look at the hotel sentido michealangelo also in Kos). The pool at palazzo is fairly shallow and therefore warm, which is perfect for lazying around in. Most people buy an inflatable (if you buy them from the hotel shop, someone at reception will inflate them for you). The pool is also perfect for ball games and water pistol fights too! There are always plenty of sunloungers which is fantastic. Some of the terraces of the ground floor rooms end up completly in shade in the afternoon and so it was amusing for us watching guests walking across the pool with towels etc on their heads, to find sunloungers in the sun.

FOOD:- there is a good variety of buffet food for breakfast and evening meals which was generally good quality. We started to find the food repetitive towards the end of our stay. It was easy to find a table, especially because the hotel has two sittings for dinner at 7pm or 8.30pm. We found service in the restaurant generally good and generally staff were friendly. Lunch was served at the a la carte restaurant, there was a limited menu to choose from as well as a daily special, but food here was not always as good as the buffet and the service and friendliness of staff was also poorer. (one occasion it took over an hour for us to order and eat our lunch of pizza and salad). We did enjoy a snack in the hotel creperie one lunch time (although this is not included in full board arrangements)

LOCATION:- the hotel is generally very quiet but periodically during the day or evening there is music or voices over loud speakers from the neighbouring hotel (Magic Life). The hotel doesn't offer any daytime entertainment, but there is some live music in the evening, but generally the hotel bars are very quiet. Marmari resort is about 15 minutes walk, and there are some supermarkets and bars here, which are much cheaper than the hotel. It is also possible to get a full sized beer (as opposed to 330ml glasses of beer served in the hotel). The bars are still relatively quiet and it all feels a bit run down. We did get to drink cocktails watching the sun set which was lovely.

We left with mixed feelings about this hotel and think it is a real shame if they don't get their booking system sorted. We had spent the previous week at the hotel Sentido Michaelangelo and had a great time there admiring wonderful views from our sea view balcony so we won't be coming back to Palazzo.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisHRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmari
13.1 km away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
8.8 km away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
18.3 km away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
Caravia Beach Hotel
Caravia Beach Hotel
#2 of 15 in Marmari
521 reviews
18.7 km away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare

Address: Marmari, Marmari 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Marmari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marmari
#1 Spa Hotel in Marmari
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marmari
Price Range: $226 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo del Mare, a luxury five star adults only hotel with 175 guestrooms, was built in 2008/9 and extended in 2010. It is located near the village of Marmari, at the north-west coast of the island of Kos, only 50 m from the beach, 15 km from the airport and 17 km away from the centre of Kos island. The Hotel has a two-storey main building, one building with three floors, ten two-storey buildings and the area of the Presidential suite and the ten Executive suites, all with private pools. Each luxurious room and richly appointed suite features a bath or shower, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, coffee and tea facilities (replenished daily), direct dial telephone, internet access and in-room safe (both free of charge), individual air conditioning and a satellite TV. All ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool.Palazzo del Mare offers a variety of facilities like the Sogno main restaurant ( a buffet restaurant with terrace), the Pool Snack bar for lunch and the Culinarium a' la carte restaurant (dinner only). For refreshing drinks you will find the Sole Pool bar, Vento Lounge bar, Porto Beach bar and Parola Café offering crepes and ice cream.Our international guests can enjoy a 4500 m² swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, an indoor heated pool (120 m²) with separate Jacuzzi, the fully equipped Onda Gym as well as the Armonia Spa (450 m²) with various treatment rooms, where our only goal is the inspiration and the "harmony" of your body and soul. In the hotel you can as well find a mini market, a boutique shop and an internet corner.Ideal for those, who wish to try something new and combine a relaxed holiday with high personal attention, that puts guest's comfort above all! From the moment you approach Palazzo del Mare, you know you are in for a quality experience.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Mare Marmari
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo Del Mare Kos/Marmari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing