We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
4
3
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
3
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 12 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Very nice hotel. I stayed there 6 days after they opened, and could feel it was not quite finished. First thing that struck me was the staff in the lobby/cafe/bar. Who came up with their outfits. Did the management sit around thinking about how to clad the male employees in leopard-print shirts with puffy, disco shoulders? Or how about the female employees looking like they stepped out of an episode of the original Star Trek.

The lobby restroom did not have any soap to wash my hands.

My room was very nicely designed. However, the shower cycle from freezing freezing cold to scalding hot. It was impossible to get a constant temperature. There were bits of construction material in the bathtub. The shower drain was clogged, flooding the shower.

Calls to the hotel room service were to no avail.

When my room was cleaned, the room cleaner would randomly replace towels and toiletries. I did not get bath salts replaced 1 day, and towels I didn't get a towel for the bathroom floor another time.

The elevators were a mess. One elevator would bang against something on the way down, while another elevator's doors would grind against something to open, leaving deep scratches on the polished doors.

Overall, my stay was fine, but for a 5-star hotel, I expect much more. I would not personally pay to stay in this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victorious_MUH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda h, reservation agent at Howard Johnson Parkview Plaza Erdos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. Due to our hotel new open, some service and facilities may not be qualified, we are so sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. As you mentioned, the problems have been handled and solved. The lobby restroom is equipped with hand soap now, also the elevator works well after engineers’ inspection and fix. The entire service team Learn English every day just for easily communicating with foreigners to offer one stop room service. The housekeeping department will raise your experience as a training exercise to improve shortcomings. Please do accept our apologies, if you are on business to Ordos again, please feel free to contact us via Email: reservations.plazaerdos@hojochina.com, we will personally take care of you and your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I think of Howard Johnson's as a down market restaurant chain, where I could get fried clam strips and mediocre ice cream as a kid. I had assumed that the Howard Johnson brand had vanished, and deservedly so, until I was booked into this gem in Ordos, Inner Mongolia. The rooms were of course immaculate; not difficult if you stay the night the hotel opens. But for a new hotel there were no service glitches. The cafeteria / main dining room worked efficiently, with a great variety of foods from all over the world. The catering / banquet facilities were wonderful, with great entertainment and truly superlative food, which deserves to be called fine cuisine. Everything was better than it needed to be, with floors composed of carefully inlaid patterns formed of different color marble. It's hard to comment on the location; travel is really easy in Ordos if you have a police escort who clears the roads for your state-sponsored visit.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professor572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda h, Reservation Agent at Howard Johnson Parkview Plaza Erdos, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.Your comments is motivation for our hotel. In the future we would do our best to provide high quality sevice for our guest.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews