We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
13
11
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
11
4
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We had difficulty here. Later learned that despite the grand design and impressive appearance this is actually a government owned hotel meant for government employees on travel. They have no non smoking rooms and seemed to think we were crazy for not wanting to smoke in our room. Finally found a room where we could leave the window open and tolerate the air. We were in a place where we were unwelcome and everyone let us know.

Room Tip: Stay away.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rowland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

I first stayed at this hotel 5 years ago when it was first built, it still feel fairly new and is quite modern but it does feel like its fraying around the edges. The rooms are comfortable and what you come to expect as a western traveller, but you are paying 2-3 times what you would pay in other Chinese hotels. We chose to pay more as we were visiting family and not looking for the whole dodgy Chinese hotel experience. I am fortunate as my wife and daughter speaks fluent Chinese, when they weren't around it was almost impossible to communicate with the staff - even with rudimentary Mandarin.

The Pool is great but they ramp up the temperature in there, there are all sorts of jacuzzis and pools but non of them are switched on any more, but the main pool is great. The Gym is a bit basic, but it sometime has interesting groups of Chinese in the studio practising martial arts.

The food is actually OK, I can even find something I would like to eat for breakfast, beyond the noodles left from the night before. We had dinner once in the restaurant and it was OK for a buffet. The lobby bar doesn't sell any alcohol but you can get some really nice Chinese tea and juices. Nice place to sit and chill out.

WIFI is free and OK when its actually running very frustrating

Over all the hotel has the look and feel of a modern hotel but the management is letting it down, I expect in another couple of years it will be looking a bit shabby.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zestrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a very nice modern hotel off the highway and a bit far from shops etc.
We were informed by our guide that in Shanxi the hotels charge ¥10/- per piece of luggage to take to the room and down again the next day. We thought that this was very, very unusual. I have not come across this in my various travels across China.
The staff speak only Putonghua, but were very helpful.

Bedroom:
Very large and spacious with tea and coffee making facilities. The beds are nice and soft and the air-condition works. Flat screen TV.
We had a complimentary bowl of fruit, two fluffy toy key rings and complimentary bottles of water.
There is a bolted down in-room safe, slippers and shoe shine brush. There is no iron.

Bathroom:
Large with a free standing bathtub and a separate shower. The washstand was well equipped with soap, toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, comb, shower cap and a hair dryer. There is a 110/220 volt power outlet in the bathroom that will power the hair dryer effectively.

WiFi
Complimentary in the restaurants and foyer. Signal strength varies considerably in different areas and is non-existent in the bedrooms.

Dinner:
We were offered a choice of set meal as part of the tour at ¥130/- per head, or the option of ordering from the menu. We chose the latter and had a wide selection of traditional Chinese dishes including, fish, vegetables, soup, noodles, meats, Chinese spirits, buns etc. at ¥110/- per head. We believed the dinner was better than the set meal on offer.

Breakfast:
Very extensive selection of Chinese cuisine. There was coffee. A small selection of pastry. There is an egg station where the lady cooks the eggs. Some fruit and fruit juice,

Comment:
Very Nice Modern Hotel comparable to Western Standards.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikelima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a tour. The room was very spacious, clean and quiet. Services were efficient and IT guy came to the room personally to fix the internet connection even at late hours. There was free internet in the room but connection was unstable and speed quite slow. If connection is cut off, try unplugging the LAN line at the socket and connection will resume. TV only have Chinese channels. Breakfast selection was acceptable but western food/toast was limited. There were more Chinese hot dishes available and a few dim sum dishes were available as well. Congee was good but juice was no good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutiedoggy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for my best friend's wedding. The site was pretty good. My husband and I liked everything but the breakfast and some other small details. Overall the hotel is very new and has a great design. It's a bit confusing to find your room as the halls are split by the elevator with no signs showing you which way to go for which room numbers. Typical smoky lobbies but the upkeep seemed decent. We would have preferred to stay in a king size bedroom but we didn't make the reservations so really can't complain there. Here's the detail... Please keep in mind that I write from a Westerners expectations.

POSITIVES
+ Fresh fried egg station at breakfast.
+ Fruit was great (breakfast).
+ HBO and CNN. No other channels but that was enough for a busy wedding weekend.
+ Temperature control in our room worked well.
+ Large room layout.
+ Can open the window to let in fresh air.
+ Rain showerhead.
+ Excellent, high power hair dryer.
+ Very friendly staff

OPPORTUNITIES
- Room service menu is all in Chinese even the Western dishes.
- Breakfast closes a bit too early esp for weekends.
- Staff hardly speaks English. This means you need to prepare with translations. Foreign travelers, be mindful! : )
- Location is right off the highway and far from any shops (by foot) plus a bit difficult to get taxis fast.
- No complementary bottled water in the rooms and water for sale in the restaurant was of course outrageously priced.
- Lighting in bathroom, hard to do makeup.
- No outlets in the bathroom but for shavers (come on women like to blow dry their hair and use curling irons. when are the hotels going to realize this?)
- Everywhere could use better signage. The elevators don't tell you a directory of what's on each floor and like I mentioned in the intro, there's no sign to tell you which way are the room numbers (strange...).

The opportunities I've listed are quite small and didn't in any way change our happiness over the weekend's events. I'd stay here again if we go back to visit her family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EZE2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews