We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Wem”
Review of Old Rectory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Great value for money for a single traveller, staff couldn't do enough for you even when they had a wedding on. Room excellent, breakfast excellent too. What a find !! Grounds lovely Bar and public rooms cosy and nice.

Room Tip: Even with a wedding on, got an excellent nights rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B6744FZiand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelinaCuss, Manager at Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your review, I am really pleased you have found us in Wem and enjoyed your stay and found the staff very helpful, I will pass your comments on.

The old Rectory Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Having tried a few places in Wem as I am there once a month on business I had almost given up as the previous establishments had been pretty awful. What a relief to find the Old Rectory. Lovely bedroom overlooking a quiet garden. very comfortable bed (if anything a little too soft!), free wifi (that actually worked) and one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever had. I will be back next trip

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreehouseHarrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelinaCuss, Manager at Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your review, I am really pleased you have found us in Wem and enjoyed your stay. I will pass your kind comments onto the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back

The old Rectory Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

A lovely quiet night just what we needed. The room overlooked a lovely garden, staff were friendly, good breakfast, free wifi, all very pleasant.
15 minutes drive from the storytelling festival meant we could enjoy the day there first.
Would go again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelinaCuss, Manager at Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the quiet great sleep that you needed was given!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Old Rectory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

I can only concur with the majority of the other reviewers....this was a gem of a find on our travels north to Llandudno and Liverpool. Upon entering the hotel we were met with a most charming and helpful receptionist who seemed genuinely pleased that we had chosen the Old Rectory for our stay. The room was clean and comfortable and the toilet facilities were equally acceptable. We chose to eat dinner out of the hotel at a local pub kindly recommended by the Receptionist.....an excellent 'call' on her part. Breakfast, in the Dining Room overlooking the garden, was particularly pleasant and both the food and service were fine. Although perhaps needing a little TLC, the hotel is both charming and welcoming and was perfect for our overnight stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding just a couple of miles away. Coming from Australia, we do not see this type of property so enjoyed the experience of the past. Impressive property, rooms fine if a little tired. Breakfasts were top class. Staff all very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wem
11.0 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
6.1 km away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Hawkstone Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston-under-Redcastle
432 reviews
26.5 km away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
11.8 km away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
370 reviews
21.6 km away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rectory Hotel

Address: Lowe Hill Road, SY4 5UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wem
Price Range: $95 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Wem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing