We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Rectory Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hawkstone Park Hotel(Weston-under-Redcastle)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$101
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
US$40
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Shrewsbury Hotel(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
123
67
24
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
67
24
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelspa bathdrawing roomlovely staffsmall hotelon dutylocal pubafternoon tearoom was clean and comfortablefabulous stayhomemade jamsmuesliyoung ladyfull englishexcellent value for moneyfollowing morningposter bed
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Having tried a few places in Wem as I am there once a month on business I had almost given up as the previous establishments had been pretty awful. What a relief to find the Old Rectory. Lovely bedroom overlooking a quiet garden. very comfortable bed (if anything a little too soft!), free wifi (that actually worked) and one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever had. I will be back next trip

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreehouseHarrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelinaCuss, Manager at Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your review, I am really pleased you have found us in Wem and enjoyed your stay. I will pass your kind comments onto the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back

The old Rectory Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

A lovely quiet night just what we needed. The room overlooked a lovely garden, staff were friendly, good breakfast, free wifi, all very pleasant.
15 minutes drive from the storytelling festival meant we could enjoy the day there first.
Would go again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelinaCuss, Manager at Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the quiet great sleep that you needed was given!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Old Rectory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

I can only concur with the majority of the other reviewers....this was a gem of a find on our travels north to Llandudno and Liverpool. Upon entering the hotel we were met with a most charming and helpful receptionist who seemed genuinely pleased that we had chosen the Old Rectory for our stay. The room was clean and comfortable and the toilet facilities were equally acceptable. We chose to eat dinner out of the hotel at a local pub kindly recommended by the Receptionist.....an excellent 'call' on her part. Breakfast, in the Dining Room overlooking the garden, was particularly pleasant and both the food and service were fine. Although perhaps needing a little TLC, the hotel is both charming and welcoming and was perfect for our overnight stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding just a couple of miles away. Coming from Australia, we do not see this type of property so enjoyed the experience of the past. Impressive property, rooms fine if a little tired. Breakfasts were top class. Staff all very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Just stayed her for one night. We stayed here many years ago when first renovated, unfortunately it now seems very tired looking. Our arrival the tv was not working. The one bedside lamp was not working. One bedside table for double bed does not work, have to put your drinks on floor. The bathroom very basic and needs smartening up. The curtains do not seem to open properly which makes it very dark. Whilst the food at breakfast is good the service is terrible. It took over an hour and fifteen minutes. Just one poor young lady trying to do everything with the short appearance of one other. Certainly won't bother going back.

Room Tip: One overlooking front
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelinaCuss, Manager at Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for your review. After being open for 12 years the hotel has started to be refurbished as you would have noticed from the bar area, but as you must appreciate especially during the summer it is very difficult with the hotel being so busy.

The television wasn't switched on at the that socket which I rectified as soon as it was bought to my attention, I was not aware of the lamp however, I am confident if a member of staff was aware of it, the matter would have been resolved efficiently.

The bedroom curtains are worked by a pully system and the cord is visible on the right hand side which is there for your convenience, manually pulling unfortunately doesn't work.

I am sorry to hear you felt breakfast service wasn't running as smoothly as normal, there was adequate staff on duty but I understand the majority of guests came in as a group and all wanted breakfast at the same time which put pressure on the kitchen as all hot food is cooked to order.

Your comments have been noted and we appreciate all feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews