We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Rectory Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
123
67
24
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
67
24
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelspa bathdrawing roomlovely staffsmall hotelon dutylocal pubafternoon tearoom was clean and comfortablefabulous stayhomemade jamsmuesliyoung ladyfull englishexcellent value for moneyfollowing morningposter bed
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Great value for money for a single traveller, staff couldn't do enough for you even when they had a wedding on. Room excellent, breakfast excellent too. What a find !! Grounds lovely Bar and public rooms cosy and nice.

Room Tip: Even with a wedding on, got an excellent nights rest.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B6744FZiand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelinaCuss, Manager at Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your review, I am really pleased you have found us in Wem and enjoyed your stay and found the staff very helpful, I will pass your comments on.

The old Rectory Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Having tried a few places in Wem as I am there once a month on business I had almost given up as the previous establishments had been pretty awful. What a relief to find the Old Rectory. Lovely bedroom overlooking a quiet garden. very comfortable bed (if anything a little too soft!), free wifi (that actually worked) and one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever had. I will be back next trip

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreehouseHarrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelinaCuss, Manager at Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your review, I am really pleased you have found us in Wem and enjoyed your stay. I will pass your kind comments onto the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back

The old Rectory Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

A lovely quiet night just what we needed. The room overlooked a lovely garden, staff were friendly, good breakfast, free wifi, all very pleasant.
15 minutes drive from the storytelling festival meant we could enjoy the day there first.
Would go again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelinaCuss, Manager at Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the quiet great sleep that you needed was given!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Old Rectory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

I can only concur with the majority of the other reviewers....this was a gem of a find on our travels north to Llandudno and Liverpool. Upon entering the hotel we were met with a most charming and helpful receptionist who seemed genuinely pleased that we had chosen the Old Rectory for our stay. The room was clean and comfortable and the toilet facilities were equally acceptable. We chose to eat dinner out of the hotel at a local pub kindly recommended by the Receptionist.....an excellent 'call' on her part. Breakfast, in the Dining Room overlooking the garden, was particularly pleasant and both the food and service were fine. Although perhaps needing a little TLC, the hotel is both charming and welcoming and was perfect for our overnight stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding just a couple of miles away. Coming from Australia, we do not see this type of property so enjoyed the experience of the past. Impressive property, rooms fine if a little tired. Breakfasts were top class. Staff all very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews