We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early dinner”

The Miners Arms Adlington
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Adlington
Price range: US$11 - US$38
Cuisines: European, French, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Miners Arms Adlington. situated next to the canal in Adlington Cheshire, this pub is perfectly situated to cater to every ones tastes weather it be a quick bite to eat, a quiet drink or an event. We have recently changed hands and would love to invite you all to come and join us to try our new menu and meet our new landlord. Our new revamped menu is second to none. All our food is locally sourced and cooked to order - we have an extensive children’s menu and children’s play area. Dogs are welcome.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good food, pleasant dinner. Ordered the meat platter, garlic mushrooms for starters. All really good. Wagu burgers and steak light bites for mains, good quality food, lovely garden area and friendly staff. Worth a visit. Good basic homely food.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just keep coming back! The food and service is great. Our dogs made welcome just as much as us.

Lasagna and rotisserie chicken are our favourites on the menu.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank D3292GZgraced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2021 via mobile

Not been to the Miners for a long time, it was always a nice place to go. We booked a table, no need place was practically empty, though it was a week day. The smell hit us first, musty and damp. After we sat down we realised why, the pipes along the bottom of the wall were exposed and the carpet had a huge water stain, so obviously been a leak.
A lovely waitress took our order. We both ordered steak sandwich, which says served on a ciabatta. My grandson had fish goujons.
We had a bit of a wait, not too bad though. Grandsons fish was lovely...but as per another reviewer and their photos, when our ciabattas were brought to us we nearly laughed out loud and said where's the rest of it! Talk about small and a few chips. It is listed as light bites but to us that means sandwiches etc. The managers response to this on other reviews (which unfortunately I had not read beforehand) is that as they only charge £6.95 they think it is good value for money. Err no! To that I would say, either charge more and provide more or clearly state that it is half a ciabatta roll! We requested mayonnaise and the young lady brought a bottle and said, really sorry there is not much in it but its the best of what we have. Basic stuff here guys! And no we didn't complain as what was the point? Would they have brought us the other halves of our rolls...I think not. Plus we wanted to give benefit of doubt, its been a tough year. But as our visit went on it got worse.....
The place is filthy! The toilets are dire. The whole place needs a good clean and repainting. Considering they were shut for so long they could have used that time to spruce the place up a bit with some good old fashioned elbow grease and a touch of paint here and there. God knows what the kitchens are like. Feel sorry for the staff as they were really nice but must be depressing working somewhere so damp, dirty and dire.
What a shame the place has been left to get in such a state as it has so much potential.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank magsc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2021 via mobile

After a lovely walk down the canal we decided to stop at The Miners for a spot of lunch. 4 of us ordered a panini each which came with fries and garnish. When the food arrived we were all very disappointed as we only got a half a panini each (see photo). Definitely not worth the money. Our first time at The Miners and the we thought garden area is quite tatty and tired. The service from the lovely young waitress was good.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank LAMStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Antonio E, Owner at The Miners Arms Adlington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

Dear LAMSTravels,

I'm really sorry to hear about your poor experience with us, our menu does state we do serve light bites - half ciabattas ... not paninis, having a price range from £4.95 up to £6.95 we do believe they are good value for money, if you felt unhappy with your meal I would have been more than happy to invite you back etc as we pride in our good freshly made food however I do feel your feedback is very misplaced.

Moreover, as for your comments in regards the garden area been tatty and tired - you do give away you are a first time visitor as this area was inaccessible a year ago, we have worked really hard on it to be able to accommodate our customers after the pandemic and the very tent you sat under is brand new not to mention the benches so I'm somewhat confused as to what do you refer as tired or tatty.

Your total bill average £9 per head and you stayed just under an hour, if you were not happy about the size of your light bite I wish you would have brought it to our attention trough the lovely young waitress that served you instead of just bringing it out on the worst ground there's for businesses.






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2021

Had a pleasant experience coming here for the first time. I was a bit hesitant due previous reviews from other people; wanted a few quiet drinks with a friend I hadn’t seen for a while. Fairly priced and lovely staff. Great customer service from a tall lad I think he was a manager? Didn’t quite catch his name! If you can let him know his manners didn’t go amiss- that would be great :)

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank oliviat396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Miners Arms Adlington also viewed

 
Prestbury, Macclesfield
Poynton, Cheshire
 

Been to The Miners Arms Adlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.