We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern tranquil ryokan, great for retreats away from the city”
Review of Kouyurou Ikawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kouyurou Ikawa
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

This is my first time staying in this ryokan just for a night as I am passing by Izu to Mount Fuji area. It came highly recommended in the Rakuten website and it was very good value for the price we paid for a night's stay with 2 meals. It appears to serve mainly domestic tourists as we were the only foreigners in the ryokan. The exterior of the hotel is not much to shout about, but when we stepped into the lobby, we could tell that it was recently refurbished. The lobby was modern with comfortable sofa sets with free flow coffee and tea available throughout the day.

The ryokan only opens for check-in at 3pm sharp but the staff was very kind to guide us to a nearby soba eatery (Hashimoto - extremely popular with the locals) for a late lunch. It was very easy to park just outside the ryokan (no charges).

We picked the Comfort Room (which is a series of upgraded rooms) at room 606 with a beautiful view of the Izu city. It was a typical Japanese tatami room (whereby the staff will make the bed during dinner) but with modern touches - flat screen TV and a large daybed/ couch etc. There is no Wi-Fi in the room, but we used the Wi-Fi in the lobby (very fast and strong).

What was a surprise to us was the private onsen bath (on the first floor) - it was offered to us at no extra charges - we can get to use the private onsen bath for 50 mins at our preferred time. We chose the Haku bath, and the room even came with beer and ice cold water - the open-air onsen bath faces a small garden. It was a very relaxing bath. As we used the private bath, I did not try the public onsen bath.

Dinner was fantastic, the hotel was able to accommodate my vegetarian diet (I emailed them prior) and the food was delicious! The dining room was on the 2nd floor and each table had a blind as a partition to offer privacy to diners. The ambience was cosy yet private. The choice of drinks (chargeable) was extensive as well. Breakfast (not buffet style) was served at the same dining room the next day and I must compliment the chef for his skills.

There are plenty of things to do in the area of the hotel, due to its location, it is just 5-10 mins walk to the nearby temples. The strawberry farms however are further out and would need a car or a shuttle bus.

The next time we are in Izu we will be back to this ryokan.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank MuffinEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kouyurou-ikawa, 広報担当マネージャー at Kouyurou Ikawa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Dear MuffinEats
We are happy to hear of your pleasant stay and your appreciation of our friendly staff. I’ll be certain to pass along your kind comments to our excellent team. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we look forward to your next visit with us at Kouyurou-ikawa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2015

Although there was a young guy directing cars where to park, I was surprised that no one was there to help with our bags. Upon checking in, we were served a small glass of chilled local green tea, which was much nicer than I expected. They explained everything about the facility in the lobby and then let us go. Again, no one showed us to our room, which is somewhat unusual for an onsen hotel. On the positive side, we didn't have to worry about anyone explaining what is self-explanatory (as we've stayed in onsens many times before) and we could relax, as soon as we got to our room.
It was on the Heian Modern floor (6th floor of 7). The room was very spacious (for two) and a unique blend of traditional Japanese style and modern comfort ... i.e. tatami mats with a big low table and cushions to sit on, as well as a huge sofa to lounge on. The onsen hotel is at the back of the town and the view is nothing special - just a view of the town. The other side might be better, as it's a mountain (so, at least the view is green???). The blinds and shoji (rice paper) sliding doors add to the atmosphere of the room - there really is no need to see outside. They have a small CD stereo with some relaxing music, which was a nice touch.
In the fridge, was a big jug of water and some citron-honey jelly to enjoy - sweet. They have a kettle, so you can boil water for tea.
The free-size samue style of wear (not a regular yukata, was more like 2-thirds pants and a pull-over top), it had a few threads hanging off them, here and there. (I would have them cut off, personally.)
There were only two times set for dinner 5:45 and 7:45p.m., which was a little annoying, as one is too early and the other a bit too late, for us.
We wanted to have a good long soak in the bath, so we chose the later time. Most people probably have dinner early, so we had the public bath pretty much to ourselves. It's a big bath with a smaller outside rotenburo and 10-12 people can wash inside, all at once. The bath water was hot, which was perfect for me. Even the outside rotenburo was very hot! Fantastic!
As we still had some time before dinner, we went to the bar and foot bath (a unique idea, soak in warm water while enjoying a drink). Only the soft drinks were free ... the O.J. was fresh and the iced tea was refreshing. On the down side, they didn't offer any sake (nihon-shu) ... only beer, a few cocktails and sho-chu. We were there by ourselves most of the time. A young guy came in for about 2 mins then left. It's certainly peaceful that way ...
Dinner was in a restaurant on the 2nd floor, and we had our own little area ... screened off by timber blinds. The food just kept on coming ... I don't think I've ever eaten so much ... the pace was rather fast, so I asked our attendant to slow down, which was no problem (probably because it was the later session and not so crowded). The fresh abalone cooked at our table was superb and the mini steak was just as good too, cooked on a stone plate. The huge boat of fresh raw fish was delicious - this is why you stay in Izu. We ended up having the dessert brought to our room, as we just couldn't fit it in.
There are three private baths that everyone can try, just once for 50 minutes. They will not let you go twice (as I wanted to have one at night and then again the following morning). And offering to pay won't help either ... I guess, that's one way to make you come back.
We learnt the true meaning of hospitality, here ... the private bath had everything you could possibly need. With two big leather lounges overlooking the bath and Japanese garden outside, bathrobes, towels, toiletries, incense burning and best of all, a complimentary bottle of beer and mineral water on ice! Perfect after a looooong hot soak ... unfortunately 50 minutes just flew by. The only bad point, there isn't a toilet there, so go before you enter.
The futon was set on big thick soft mats, so it was almost like sleeping on a bed. (They make up the beds while having dinner, obviously.)
For brekkie, you have a choice ... eat a simple bento in your room or dine on the second floor. We had our own area and a choice of ebodai (butterfish) or aji (horse mackerel) for himono (sun-dreid fish) ... brekkie was filling, too.
They do seem a little under-staffed but, if you look on the bright side (and realize they have to cut costs somewhere to survive) ... you can totally relax without worrying about too many noisy questions from the staff ...
As for cost-performance and hospitality, they deserve five-stars! ;)

Room Tip: Go early to relax ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kouyurou-ikawa, 広報担当マネージャー at Kouyurou Ikawa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Thank you, Vanessa Y for the kind words.
And thank you for your wonderful 5 Star Review of our Onsen Hotel.
We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!!!
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Izu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank takayo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kouyurou-ikawa, 広報担当マネージャー at Kouyurou Ikawa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank トリップよしお
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kouyurou-ikawa, 広報担当マネージャー at Kouyurou Ikawa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: どの部屋もいいのだと思います。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G.Taji.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kouyurou-ikawa, 広報担当マネージャー at Kouyurou Ikawa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izunokuni hotels
Izunagaoka Onsen
New Hakkeien
New Hakkeien
#3 of 54 in Izunokuni
85 reviews
Izunagaoka Onsen
Shoheiso
Shoheiso
#32 of 54 in Izunokuni
36 reviews
Izunagaoka Onsen
Kameya Ean
Kameya Ean
#8 of 54 in Izunokuni
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Daisenya
#6 of 54 in Izunokuni
70 reviews
Izunagaoka Onsen
Sanyoso
Sanyoso
#1 of 54 in Izunokuni
94 reviews
Izunagaoka Onsen
Hotel Sun Valley Izu Nagaoka Honkan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kouyurou Ikawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kouyurou Ikawa

Address: 43-2 Kona, Izunokuni 410-2201, Shizuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Izunokuni > Izunagaoka Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels / Ryokan in Izunokuni
Price Range: S$259 - S$619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kouyurou Ikawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 10 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan) and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kouyurou Ikawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing