We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight motorcycle trip”
Review of Pension Sakuraya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Sakuraya
Ranked #24 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Shimoda
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Excellent place to stay! Located toward the top of of hill, it provides an excellent view of the beach and all eats and places to drink are within walking distance. The owners provided great service, excellent tips for places to go and top notch breakfast in the morning. Don't miss an opportunity to stay here if you get the chance!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

We (2 adults, two kids) loved Pension Sakuraya. The beach is fantastic (more beaches are just around the corner, but you need your own car). We had the beach to ourselves as high season hadn't begun yet. The water was refreshing and super-clean. Our host Mr. Yamamoto was however the highlight of our stay. His English is brilliant and he is a great source for travel information, off the beaten path tips, Japanese culture etc etc. Our room (Japanese style) was comfortable and the communal onsen was also good. Food: I agree with the other reviewers... it was awesome!!! Try the home made plum wine - sooooo good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Good location - a 5 minute walk to perhaps Shimoda's nicest beach but a bit out of town. The beach is long and wide but super busy during July/August, both in and out of water. Having own transportation helps to get to southern beaches where you might actually find some uncovered sand and breathing room in the water.

The place was clean and the owners were friendly. We did not eat meals there so can't comment on quality of food. Free beach parasol and laundry services are a nice touch. Overall, good value and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zeebandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

It was our first visit to Shimoda and the owner, Yamamoto-san was very helpful before and during our visit. He speaks English and told us a great place to snorkel. The breakfast was great and we really liked Shirahama beach a few minutes away from the Pension Sakuraya. We stayed in the Western style room with a bathroom and twin beds. Thank you Yamamoto-san!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BYEPROVIDENCIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

English speaking owners make this your place! They are so helpful in finding the best places for your your to eat in the many available in Shimoda. The atttractions best suited to your needs as well.. A five minute walk to a wonderful beach and 7 mintue drive to major attraction in the area. Trust them to assist you to find the best of Shimoda. You can branchout to other inns and locations, but this should be the tenatives first stop.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pdwrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimoda hotels
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Tokyu Hotel
Shimoda Tokyu Hotel
#2 of 76 in Shimoda
296 reviews
Garden Villa Shirahama
#2 of 185 in Shimoda
45 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Beach Side Inn Shirahama
Beach Side Inn Shirahama
#29 of 185 in Shimoda
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimodaso
#47 of 76 in Shimoda
2 reviews
Minsyuku Haji
#11 of 185 in Shimoda
6 reviews
Hotel Izukyu
#4 of 76 in Shimoda
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Sakuraya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sakuraya

Address: Shirahama 2584-20, Shimoda 415-0012, Shizuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Shimoda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Shimoda
Price Range: $100 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pension Sakuraya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing