We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings, interesting rooms”
Review of La Petrara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Petrara Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Avola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is a lovely resort, with a small amount of accommodation. Restored outbuildings provided cool, tastefully restored rooms. Very clean and quiet. The Pool was beautiful with a docile little donkey roaming the grounds. The gardens were beautifully kept. The host and hostess had a new baby but were very accommodating and happy to help. Breakfast provided for wide variety of pallets and more than adequate. Dinner could be ordered in the morning and was freshly made in generous proportions to guests requirements. The atmosphere of the resort is quiet and charming.

Room Tip: There are nice rooms upstairs but if you have difficulty mounting a spiral staircase it's probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a wonderful time at La Petrara. The owners are a charming couple who is not only very helpful but also very courteous. The resort is beautifully situated, spacious, with a nice pooll, away from the bustle, surrounded by lemon trees. Beautiful. The bungalows are decorated very nicely and are very clean. We would immediately go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eesterix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

A fair sized room, well fitted out, good size bathroom with excellent shower. Helpful staff with English speaking manager. Extensive, well kept grounds with pool, barbeque and friendly pet donkey! No laundry facilities but staff may provide private service. Generous breakfasts; dinner available on request. In rural location, can be difficult to locate without detailed maps, though signs are posted on several main roads – not GPS friendly, so download map in advance. Plenty of secure on-site parking. Staff provided map of Syracusa which is within easy reach by car. A nice change from staying in compact and crowded towns.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosebankianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

After reading revues on Tripadisor we chose this place for a couple of nights in april.
La Petrara was recommended with its excellent service. Probably, the staff had made great efforts in pleasing previous guests, and we found the staff totally exhausted. We did not feel welcome at the place, and the service was limited to nearly nothing. Even when it started raining through the roof, the first reaction from the hostess was that as long as it didn't rain in the bed, it could not matter. (We got another room later the same day). The breakfast was very limited. It is the only place in Italy we have experienced coffee served from a thermos and luke warm milk in a mug... As we left they kindly asked us to leave as soon as possible, but they were not even able to open the electric gate to let us out.

We are sorry to post this revue, because the place itself is very nice, but with the level of service we experienced, we felt it necceseare to give a correction to the other mainly positive revues.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KlaraKlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

We had the pleasure to stay at the La Petrara Resort. It was breathtaking and peaceful! I was looking for something in Noto, but found the prices and the confusion to be a little too much. I looked at Avola, being only 15 mins away by car & we fell in love with the pictures online of the Resort. When we arrived, we were greeted immediately and the room was wonderful, spacious and clean!!! The staff at the Resort were friendly and of great companionship! They were very helpful in directing us where we could eat for the evening at Noto. In fact, are meal was excellent at Noto!!! I only regret that we didn't stay longer at the Resort!!! Next time that we are in the Noto area, we'll be sure to stay again and hopefully longer! Will post pics soon of the Resort

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TUSCANGIRL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avola
3.6 km away
Grand Hotel Pacla
Grand Hotel Pacla
#1 of 3 in Avola
278 reviews
242.2 km away
Greta Rooms Hotel
Greta Rooms Hotel
#4 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
149 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Merlino
Hotel Merlino
#3 of 3 in Avola
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
104.2 km away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,102 reviews
165.1 km away
Pigna d'Oro Country Hotel
Pigna d'Oro Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Quisquina
262 reviews
14 km away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petrara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petrara Resort

Address: Contrada Petrara Sn, 96012 Avola, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Avola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Avola
Price Range: $49 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Petrara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Petrara is an enchanting resort tucked away among the gently country side of Avola, a small seaside city near to Siracusa, famous for its characteristic "Nero d'Avola" wine and almonds "Mandorla pizzuta". The resort born by its owner passion. Giancarlo Riscica in 2005 decides to restore his family summer home and transform it in to a vacation place for families and small groups.La Petrara is completely renovated in 2015 in interior and outside. Surrounded by a luxuriant Mediterranean scrub with palms, olives threes and flowering plants, La Petrara Resort is the ideal place to relax, let yourself be pampered by an attentive staff. Thanks to its geographical position La Petrara is an ideal starting point for cultural visits to the most beautiful baroque cities of south-eastern Sicily like Siracusa, Noto, Palazzolo, Ragusa, Scicli and and extraordinary nature trips in the pristine beaches as Vendicari (park nature reserve) or Cavagrande (a canyon, where, in a breathtaking scenery, you can swim among waterfalls and lakes).Do not miss the charming village of Marzamemi, an ancient fishing village that in summer becomes a lively centre where, in July, held the "International border Cinema Festival". For sea lovers, in few kilometres, coast offers an endless choice of beaches, considered among the most beautiful in Sicily.The property consists of 8 rooms with all comforts (air conditioning, WI-FI) for a total of 28 beds, a large swimming pool reserved for guests, a bar (pool) and an inn. Internal parking and transfer service to and from the airport or station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Petrara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing