We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$83
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$41
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$47/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Shrewsbury Hotel(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$53
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$52
US$49
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Abbots Mead Hotel(Shrewsbury)
US$90
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
461
39
7
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
461
39
7
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding breakfastwedding venuemaster of ceremoniespot roastperfect wedding daybridal suitedance floorperfect venuebride and groomdaughters weddingamazing weddingdream weddingeverything ran smoothlyexclusive usesingle guestfollowing morningrun smoothly
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018

We had our day yesterday and in reality it started the night before when my Bride to be stayed in the excellent pre-bridal Orchard Suite with a Bridesmaid and my in-laws, who stayed in a room in the main part of the Castle; so I'll start with that first: -

1. The Orchard Suite is a fantastic experience for a bridal party and has all you need for getting ready in seclusion the next day. Felicity says peaceful and relaxed are the key words :-)
2. Private Dining was great, excellent food, very attentive staff and helped the whole peaceful/relaxed vibe
3. Breakfast hamper the next day of pastries, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, juice etc.

all the while I nursed a hang-over from an ill-advised (timing wise) stag night in a Turkish Barbers....

The wedding day next; This was the most perfectly choreographed (by the hotel) operation, stitching together the registrar pre ceremony process, photography and other prep in a way that totally made up for my own sense of bewilderment (nerves and hang-over); Highlights were: -

1. Polly our "chief choreographer was simply fantastic and instilled confidence and delivered a perfect experience for us; It would be unfair not to point out that all the staff were incredible and on the top of their game and I might add it was a well staffed operation.
2. I should wind back to the build up and apologies that I've forgotten the name, but a fantastic lady helped plan our day over the previous few months and, every time we visited the hospitality was fantastic.
3. The venue in general; Anyone can be wowed at the pictures on this and other sites, but let me tell you, they don't do the place justice, its damn well perfect, the building, fittings, setting and no surprise its award winning, we feel privileged to have been married here.
4. The food was excellent, couldn't have been executed any better, service excellent and attentive and the dining setting was just wow factor, in fact by the way, the set-up for the ceremony was double wow factor.
5. My Grooms speech was excellent haha
6. Bedrooms just fantastic
7. Breakfast the next day was brilliant and the prep for departure (taking all your wedding stuff) was generously assisted.

Aside from obviously advocating this place as a wedding venue, what I would also recommend is taking a look at the packages of stuff, because these guys have a range of trusted suppliers; photographers, disco, musicians, cake-makers, flower arrangers and rolling it all up in one of the package deals is great value and the suppliers seamlessly plug-in to the whole operation; very slick :-)

Simply put this place is going to tick most peoples "Dream Wedding" check list. Thank-you for delivering guys.

Pete and Felicity

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwalfajeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Pete & Felicity

Thank you so much for your very kind words and comprehensive review of your recent wedding with us here at Rowton Castle.

It was an absolute pleasure to read that our in-house team "choreographed" perfectly your time at the castle; Polly will be delighted to have warranted a special mention, as will our team of trusted industry professionals that work along side us. As we are an Exclusively Yours wedding venue, couples travel from all over the world to marry at the castle, and therefore it is so important that they can book with confidence, knowing they have service providers complimenting the in-house team, on hand to assist with all key elements of the day. Your ringing endorsement to other couples looking for a "dream wedding" venue is very much appreciated.

It was our absolute pleasure taking care of your day, and we thank you for entrusting us with the responsibility. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

With very best wishes to you both,

Bryan




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

I got married there in 20th of April 2017, we had many meet with Mr.JACK before my special day, I have no word to describe how helpful Mr.Jack was for us,he made us feel like home,Thanks Mr.Jack. the Rowton Castle is amazing place,the scenery is great, all my guests left the place in awe, We had a delicious dinner, & a superb breakfast in the morning. The accommodation was amazing and the beds very comfortable and the staff were very efficient and friendly, it's hard to find staff like that . Thanks for all who made my special day delightful and all staff in this place are magical will be recommending to friends and family have a special day in this place. we enjoyed every moment was magical,It was a unique experience. Thanks for everyone who made my unforgettable day.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank elianegtuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear elianegtuca

Thank you for your very kind words regarding your wedding with us last year.
It was an absolute pleasure to read that all elements of the day met or exceeded your expectations with comments such as "superb, magical and unique!" I will of course pass on your comments to the whole team, and thank you for recommendation to family and friends.
We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
With very best wishes
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Half term provided the opportunity for us to take our two grandsons away for a short break and having just completed a project about castles in their school, what better to go and live in one and visit some nearby! A quick online search and Booking.com and Rowton Castle came up trumps at very short notice.
Everything was superb and the boys loved every minute of it. Booking and confirmations were easy and efficient. When Prince Aidan and Prince Oliver arrived at the beautifully floodlit castle in the dead of night with King Grandad and Queen Granny their eyes were wide with excitement.
We had a delightful family room at the top and it was great fun letting the young princes find their own way to a delicious breakfast in the morning with so many stairs and so many possible ‘secret passage’ ways to go.
Everything here was fantastic, the food, the warm open fires, the rooms, the views and grounds but especially the staff, so warm and friendly, chatty with the boys and eager for us to explore every room in the castle, from the bridal suite to the ‘marry room’ as Prince Aidan put it. The room service was excellent, with the boys pyjamas being caringly arranged around some toffees for them along with a note welcoming them back after their day of castle explorations.
What a delightful place in a brilliant location and one that we feel privileged to have stayed in as although we hadn’t realised when booking, one that is only rarely available, as the whole castle is usually booked for weddings on most days. Certainly, it’s a great place to get married and for us, it was a great base for exploring other castles in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Mel O

What a delightful review; thank you so much! Firstly for being such fabulous grand parents to Prince Aidan & Prince Oliver, and also for taking the time to write your love comments regarding your stay.

To know that we contributed in such a positive way to the two prince's early life experiences is wonderful, and we very much hope to welcome you all back at some stage in the future.

I hope the castle explorations continue in such a positive manner.

With very best wishes

Bryan

PS, maybe in a "few" years time, Prince Adrian will keep our "marry room" in mind when he is considering a wedding venue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

I took my wife here as a surprise wedding anniversary lunch and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The service was excellent and the food was beautifully presented, very rich and hearty with generous portions.

Angel did a splendid job of looking after us during the meal and we sat in a secluded area just off the main dining area giving us cosy privacy.

we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank 123jas0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear 123jas0n

Thank you for chosing Rowton Castle for your wedding anniversary lunch, and for your very kind words regarding all elements of your visit.

I know our in-house chef's and Angel, one of our management team, are delighted you enjoyed your meal so much.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

With very best wishes

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

We returned to the Castle for an evening's stay just under two years after we got married there. It was as good as we remember, the attention to detail and the quality of the service was superb. We had an overnight stay and, three course evening meal and breakfast, simply stunning.

We cannot speak highly enough of them.

Thank you once again and see you soon.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Clive B

Thank you so much, firstly for intitially entrusting us with your wedding day, and then for chosing to return and stay with us more recently.

I was so pleased to read that all elements of your stay were "superb" and "simply stunning"; I know the team will be delighted.

May I say it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you back, and we hope to see you again very soon!

With very best wishes

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews