We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Hill Hotel(Shrewsbury)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Oswestry(Oswestry)(Great Value!)
US$68
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
461
39
7
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
461
39
7
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding breakfastwedding venuemaster of ceremoniespot roastperfect wedding daybridal suitedance floorperfect venuebride and groomdaughters weddingamazing weddingdream weddingeverything ran smoothlyexclusive usesingle guestfollowing morningrun smoothly
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We were here for a wedding and overnight stay,we had a very enjoyable time the gardens at the rear overlooking miles of countryside are lovely the building itself is full of character and has not been spoilt buy building a modern extension on the side.The wedding and the meal itself were great,nice meal good service ,must mention the young lady with her hair tied up in a bun who was particularly friendly and helpful.The pig roast at night was nice as well .What a shame the don't put some real candles in lanterns on the garden tables at night it would add to the atmosphere.The single bedroom was very clean but also very hot although there was a fan for use,but they really do need to put a lightweight duvet on the bed for summertime.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear johnbrum

Thank you for your kind words and constructive review of your recent visit to us here at Rowton Castle for a wedding.

I was delighted to read that you had a very enjoyable time, and that the beautiful views of rolling countryside, unspoilt building and great food and service were all to your liking.

With regard to the lightweight duvets and real candles in lanterns in the gardens, this is something we will discuss as a team to see if we can further enhance our offering. Outdoor in the castle grounds, our garden bar and terrace grill, with a plentiful supply of comfortable garden furniture are all very new additions for 2018. We have atmospheric string lighting and an optional fire pit to create the early evening ambience, however, we are always open to ideas for further improvements.

Thank you once again, and we very much hope to welcome you back in the future.

With very best wishes

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

My daughter was married here on 31st May. The whole experience was amazing. The venue is beautiful. All the staff were amazing but a special mention to Keith our master of ceremony. What a lovely man and so calming and reassuring. He made the day stress free and it ran seamlessly. Also Rhianne. What a little star. Never stopped and was so smiley. From start to finish we were treated exceptionally well and made to feel like nothing was too much effort. My only complaint is the day had to end. Would recommend a million times over and then some.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank claregibson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear claregibson1

Thank you so much for your delightful review regarding your recent wedding with us here at Rowton Castle on 31st May.

I am delighted that the day was amazing, stress free, and ran seamlessly. It was lovely to read that the warmth of welcome and care from the whole team shone through from start to finish.

Your recommendation to other couples considering Rowton as a wedding venue is very much appreciated.

With very best wishes to you and all your family

Bryan


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Just had the pleasure of sharing my nieces special day at Rowton Castle. From start to finish perfection is the only way to describe our time at Rowton Castle. Have to give a special mention to the chap who does the Master of Ceremonies (didn’t get his namebut the wedding was on 31st May 2018) and also for Rihanna -she is absolutely amazing. So so helpful and genuinely pleasant. She never stopped. All of the guests commented on her, Would recommend Rowton Castle for a wedding venue to anyone

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank sallybencharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear sallybencharles

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your nieces wedding day with us here at Rowton Castle.

It was an absolute pleasure to read that from start to finish the day was perfection.

Whilst the whole team will be delighted to have contributed, both Keith and Rhian will be delighted to have warranted a special mention.

Your recommendation to other couples is greatly appreciated, and we very much hope to welcome you back in the future.

With very best wishes

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Like many people we stayed here following the wedding of our friends. What a fabulous building and surroundings. We had a hot sunny day so everything apart from the wedding breakfast was outdoors which made it very special. Our room was on the third floor with a four poster bed, beautiful traditional room with modern bathroom. The breakfast was lovely with a great selection of hot and cold food. I cannot fault the stay, the service and accommodation were just fabulous!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APinkLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear APinkLady

Thank you so much! Your friends wedding was a truly fabulous day, and we are delighted to have been given the privilege of being their chosen wedding venue.

It was lovely to read that the weather was good, and you were able to enjoy the wedding ceremony in the castle gardens, surrounded by rolling countryside.

Fabulous building and surroundings, faultless stay, service and accommodation; high praise indeed!

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

With very best wishes

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

We attended a wedding here this week and it was fabulous. From our arrival, the wedding ceremony, wedding breakfast everything was spot on. The staff were so friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough for everyone. Altogether a wonderful day - even the weather helped!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Pauline S

Thank you so much for your delightful review regarding the wedding you recently attended here at Rowton Castle.

It was lovely to read that all elements of the day excelled, particularly the friendly professional staff who couldn't do enough for everyone; they truly are what sets Rowton apart from the competition.

With very best wishes from us all,

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews