We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
39
36
25
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
36
25
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews isle of skye guest lounge gardeners cottage stayed here for one night eilean donan castle lovely location double room excellent breakfast kyle of lochalsh warm welcome sue hostess mile bridge hosts
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2014

We stayed 2-nights at this lovely house with a great view outside across the loch. We made a booking through email and the owner required no deposit, etc. which is nice. We arrived at the place quite late after 10pm and the Sue managed to wait for us and handed us the key. I must admit we did not feel too welcome but we did not take it personally. We had 2 double-rooms and 1 single-room. Rooms got good size with good amenities in the bathroom even though the shower pressure should have been stronger. Wifi connection can only be used in the common room which is a downside. Breakfast was good and plenty.

Overall it was a good stay but find the one that is closer to Skye/Broadford if you are visiting there as it is quite a drive from Skye especially at night!

Room tip: If you are travelling alone, choose single room to get wifi signal. Otherwise, choose the double rooms at the back for some great loch view!
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank vspeang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We booked our stay here based on the photos from the internet, which do show the home in a beautiful setting and it is. What the photos don't show is the musty smelling, tiny rooms with no personality. The house is dark and the amenities minimal. The water pressure in the shower was very low, and the shower itself with a flimsy old shower curtain was kind of dirty looking. Wifi only worked in the common area.

We wouldn't recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sail2bluesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed three nights in August; room was small and awkward to move around in, but did have a beautiful view across Loch Long. House is an old, historic hunting lodge and is interesting. Good shower, and room was warm. Generally things are a bit rundown and could do with a good cleaning. Internet only worked in the ground floor lounge, and even then was weak and unreliable.
Host and hostess gave information when asked but were not particularly friendly. Breakfast consisted of boxed cereal and canned fruit on the board, but cooked breakfast was also available if ordered the night before. It was expensive for what we got (our room was 75 pounds per night), compared with other B&B's in the Highlands. It did not have a warm, cosy feeling overall, but the location is convenient for exploring Skye and the Western Highlands.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Momvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stopped over here to break a long journey. I found it in general a bit run down and not very welcoming. The hostess didn't trouble to make any kind of friendly comments though provided information. The view from in front of the house was beautiful, but not from my room which was rather small. If somewhere claims to be dog friendly, I find it irritating that dogs have to be shut in the car during breakfast. What if the weather is hot? There was no information on dog friendly places to eat in the nearest village, though I found the Dornie Hotel bar which was excellent. I would look for an alternative next time.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice environment, but the price at the Conchra House is too high for what we got (compared with other B&Bs we have seen in Scotland): Very weak internet, everything a bit tatty and not always clean. The breakfast was good and enough.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews