We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 stars service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kuroyon Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels / Ryokan in Omachi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Highly recommend their excellent (6 stars) service.

I left my jacket in the wardrobe of guest room during my stay from Apr 17-18, 2017. After sending message to the hotel, I got their prompt reply and found my jacket. I requested their help to send back the jacket to me in HONG KONG and billing the courier cost to me. They said that they pay the courier cost without any problem.
Finally, I received the jacket by this afternoon.

Thanks again for their excellent service and prompt action.

I also enjoyed very much for the western style set dinner in the hotel. No wonder can have such a great dinner of western style at a Japanese hotel.

Will visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yuk_kai, Internet booking Staff at Kuroyon Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear Ma T-sama,

Thank you very much for staying at Kuroyon Royal Hotel.

I'm really glad that your jacket arrived safely.
I am sorry,normally, we will not send you lost articles free of charge.

We are delighted to have you glad with French cuisine dinner.
Our hotel chef, was studying at the three-star restaurant in France.
Cooking staff at our hotel will spend time and carefully prepare materials.

Please come again, and enjoy the delicious French cuisine!
We ara waiting for you to stay at our hotel again.

Thank you.

Internet booking Staff y_kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2016

We spend one night in the hotel. Comfortable rooms, beautiful onsen, great restaurant; excellent service, dedicated staff, located in front of the bus station (for JR pass holders). Great hotel after the Takeyama Alpine Route.

I didn't rate "Excellent" one reason: staff's poor English. I wanted to get information regarding the SPA (types of message; length etc...). As we were unable to communicate in English, I finally renounce to a massage.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yuk_kai, Internet booking Staff y_kai at Kuroyon Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Dear Jane j-sama,

Thank you very much for staying at Kuroyon Royal Hotel.

I am really sorry for the inconvenience that the staff could not speak English.
English! Tense and become, attitude will be, because ... you do not speak anything after all, it is a bad habit of many Japanese.

Of course the staff will learn English,
Guide pamphlet in your room,
I will increase the English version.

For example, I will try to make it easy to understand kind of massage and fee.

Nothing is more serious than going to a foreign country and being unable to communicate with your words.
This time, there was no really sorry.
Thank you for your precious opinion.

Thank you.

Internet booking Staff y_kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in June. Very convenient to reach (bus drops off and picks up at a dedicated stop) and a great place to stop after (or before if coming in from Matsumoto side) traversing the Alpine route.

The hotel facilities are great, the onsen is good (multiple baths, different temperatures, including outdoors), and the staff very helpful (and spoke good English).

Dinner and breakfast was included during our stay, for which there were two restaurants: a Western/French style and Japanese style. We chose the Japanese (despite the lack of an English version of the menu) and were delighted with the meal. The food was outstanding, probably the best I have had in any restaurant in Japan, and the chef even catered for my vegetarian travel companion by making a totally custom meal (note we gave advance warning re: the dietary requirements).

Overall, one of the best hotels I have stayed in during visits to Japan, made more special due to the fantastic dinner, and highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank mmeeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yuk_kai, Internet reservation charge, at Kuroyon Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Dear mmeeff,

Thank you for staying in "Kuroyon Royal Hotel".
Thank you for your review.

The hotel is, from Omachi, Nagano Prefecture side,to enter the Tateyama Kurobe Alpine Route, nearest,is useful.

Hot springs, there are indoor bath and open-air bath.
And there is a family bath that can be chartered.

"Cypress bath" in the indoor bath, the temperature of the hot spring has been kept at 37 degrees.
Therefore, it is more than 20 minutes of the sitz bath, it is said to be good for health.
Turn slowly to the hot springs in the child's sensitive to heat.
Other hot spring is 42 degrees.
Hot Springs is replaced completely every day, is what fresh "over flow".

Staff can speak fluent English is not cage, but make an effort to be able to communicate.

The hotel's restaurant is, there is a "French cuisine", "Japanese cuisine".
"French cuisine", "Japanese cuisine" together, it is possible to order a look at the accommodation on the day menu.

When it was possible If, "vegetarian" and "Allergy", please contact a few days before the check-in day. That way, you can create a more wonderful cuisine.

Both of our hotel, "French cuisine", "Japanese food", "good cuisine craftsman" has aligned.
Delicious cuisine of each season, is proud of our hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

Kuroyon Royal Hotel
Internet reservation charge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Very nice and friendly hotel before our Alpen Route trip next morning.
Staffs are very helpful despite unable to communicate well in English.
Dinner in French restaurant was good but quite expensive.
Very nice to have spa after dinner but water temperature was too high.
Just relax and prepare for the next day trip.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sueng04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yuk_kai, Internet reservation at Kuroyon Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear Sueng04,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you found our location to be ideal and of value,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We arrived during heavy snow fall and the next morning there was about 50cm of fresh snow! Amazing view from the room, from the breakfast room and around the hotel. Only Western style breakfast was available the morning we were there, don't know why. Reception was friendly and all kinds of stuff available to use (snow boots etc.).
Huge entrance hall, but the hotel was virtually empty (or so it seemed).
Good onsen in the hotel, with a small outdoor bath (which was amazing with the freshly fallen snow). Japanese style room was OK for 2, but definitely not for 4 (it's listed as being big enough for 4). The futon was very thin, so not very comfortable. I did expect a better quality of futon for this kind of hotel.
But overall, very good service and good value!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan-travelspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omachi
Hotel Tateyama
#1 of 6 in Tateyama-machi
183 reviews
Midagahara Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tateyama-machi
95 reviews
Omachi Onsen
Kurobe Kanko Hotel
Kurobe Kanko Hotel
#1 of 24 in Omachi
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omachi Onsen
Hotel Keisui
Hotel Keisui
#3 of 24 in Omachi
78 reviews
Omachi Onsen
Tateyama Prince Hotel
Tateyama Prince Hotel
#15 of 24 in Omachi
54 reviews
Omachi Onsen
Omachi Onsen KANOYA
Omachi Onsen KANOYA
#16 of 24 in Omachi
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuroyon Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuroyon Royal Hotel

Address: 2020 Taira, Omachi 398-0001, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Omachi > Omachi Onsen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels / Ryokan in Omachi
Price Range: $96 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuroyon Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the North Japan Alps, this luxurious Alpine resort hotel is nestled amid the beauties of seasonal change. Enjoy an extended visit, in the good health of crisp mountain air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Rakuten and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kuroyon Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuroyon Royal Hotel Omachi, Nagano Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing