We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$292
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Petit Relais(Saanenmoser)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
214
14
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
14
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolattention to detailfamily hotellarge balconya wonderful staytrain stationchristianbrigitteskiswitzerlandmountainsterracehoteliersnowwarmth
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2017

This is the third time my wife & I have stayed here for a weeks DBB.As always the service is excellent,staff friendly,location beautiful and the food excellent.
As mentioned before,this is how a family hotel should be run.Eating alfresco in the evening looking at the snow-capped peaks is such a pleasure!.

Room Tip: room 63 with access to the lift removes any issues with stairs.The underground garage is handily placed too.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Friends tell me that this place looks just magical during wintertime,all covered in snow. I however have only visited during the summer months and feel extremely blessed to have had a fantastic time on two occasions. Not only is it situated in a most idyllic setting but the warmth and hospitality shown by the owner Christian , his wife , mother-in-law and their entire team feels more special than words can convey !

It's not often that one gets to meet a successful hotelier who also plays the role of receptionist , waiter , guide with an ease that astounds as well as inspires one to be a better human being. During our entire stay last August we did not see this wonderful family even once be anything less than extremely charming and generous....even making sure to pedal down in a rush before we caught our train , to hand the children a packet of special treats !

The hotel is by far one of the cleanest we've ever seen , the attention to detail in keeping with the country , the people and life-style is truly honest not to mention quite stunning.The food is just delicious and so varied that we really did not feel the need to eat anywhere else !

Aside from the services at the hotel, the guests are also welcome to avail of their offer to organise picnics with food that is marinated in the hotel kitchen and cooked to perfection on a grill on location. All one needs to do is to work up an appetite by walking or biking to the spot !

To sum it up , the Hotel Hornberg is special because not only does it have the luxurious feel of a romantic fine luxurious holiday destination but because it combines it with the kind of cosy welcome of a home stay. Now , how often does one get to experience such a winning combination ?!

Room Tip: Each room is unique
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanhtini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

This is the third year running that I have been staying here for a company retreat. It is a fantastic place for a company meeting. The hosts, Christian and Brigitte personally welcome each guest....and they remember your name!

This sets the standard for the whole visit. I've stayed in a variety of rooms here, all are of the highest standard with fantastic views.

Food is superb. Eating lunch on the terrace with the view of the mountains in the sunshine is not to be missed. The bar is well stocked and staffed so very little waiting.

I must mention two of the serving staff who also helped make our stay that bit more personal. Martina our waitress who put up with our exacting demands with absolute charm. Roger the bar man who looked after us until late in the evening.

If you want somewhere to relax, ski, work, whatever. I can not recommend this more highly.

Thanks to the whole Hornberg team. Looking forward to next years visit already!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Bellch_Who_Else
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Very nice Hotel & Restaurant, we were dining there tonight and it was outstanding!
Very warm and friendly welcome ! The restaurant is divided in several rooms. Comfortable, the menu is extensive and gives choice for everyone, what they serve is delicious ! The wines excellent, what does one need more to have a great evening !

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Highly recommended as dinner venue as well as just for passing by for coffee on the terrace any time of the year.
Having visited different places in diffirent countries with different level of prestige I've started to appreciate the client oriented service. When you call to reserve a table for two for the hour when the kitchen is supposed to stop the service and after a second of keeping you on hold the manager confirms you are more than welcome to arrive late and you'll be served - you are more than happy to come.
Another important thing which is attractive and can add a lot to the evening: the tableware and tableclothes as well as very touching and unique light wooden curved cows on each table.
Vast menu that offers varied choice of local dishes as well as specialities of other countries. Try the dried beef of the local butcher.
The presentation of each dish is worth Michelin stars for sure. The taste is exceptional and fresh. Gnocchi are delicious and can compete Italian ones.
A must (despite the menu suggestion) is an Apple Pie - worth coming back only for this.
A wine list a bit short but still gives a good choice.
And come back during the day or to see the sunset and have cappucino on the outside terrace!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ольга Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews