We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$139
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Mono Feliz(Ojochal)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Mamma e Papa(Ojochal)(Great Value!)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Hotel Tangara Azul(Ojochal)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diquis Del Sur(Ojochal)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phidjie Lodge(Ojochal)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
146
69
16
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
69
16
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricathe rooms were nicefresh fruitpeaceful placetropical stormexcellent jobinsect repellentexcellent viewother guestsincluded breakfast isgreat oceanfabulous breakfastgardens are beautifulenjoyed our stayaccommodating staffread a bookview of the ocean
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2015

First time I spent a night at the Lookout, nice place but need refreshing. The room I got with my roommate was very small, one small fan over the main bed but nothing for the single bed. Bathroom was more fit for a kid than an adult. Almost need a 4/4 to get to the motel.
Could find better for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RWPrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

After traveling up the coast from Playa Carate and staying at The Lookout Inn Lodge just outside the Corcovado National Park, which was insanely magical, we landed here at Hotel Lookout. After a 4 hour drive, we were "greeted" by the male owner who was not inviting in the least. He quickly asked us if we would be eating dinner with them, and we said yes. He then asked what time we would like to eat and we responded 7pm. He told us no and said 6:30. We thought that was strange to be asked if we didn't really have a choice, but brushed it off as he showed us to our room.

The rooms are decent. Nothing too special, but it did have a/c. We are young, adventurous people, so the room was the least important part for us. As many of the reviews state, the view from the hotel is pretty great. The sunsets are beautiful and the grounds are lush. The pool is a nice accommodation, yet it will leave your feet and whatever body part is touching the sides or bottom bright blue.

I think the most disappointing thing about our stay was how we were treated. We were probably the youngest couple staying at the resort and there were only 2 other couples from the US staying at the hotel at this time, and I can say without a doubt, we were all discriminated against and treated poorly. Myself and the other US couples there seem to be amazing, respectful, loving people, and were in Costa RIca to enjoy our time. It was unfortunate to have the owners be so rude and put a damper on our stay.

I would only recommend this place to older people that enjoy sitting quietly all day and are not looking to interact with others. If you want to be social and get to know people and the wonderful culture of Costa Rica, this German owned hotel is definitely not for you.

Room Tip: don't stay here
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0VEnLIGHT84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jed448, General Manager at Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2015

Greetings! I appreciate your frank review of the Hotel Lookout. As of March 15, 2015, I am the new General Manager--Many improvements are currently underway. It is my hope that you will return to the Lookout in the future. I know your experience will be much improved. Again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2015

The hotel and grounds are very nice with its terracotta and its restaurant overlooking the Pacific with its amazing sunsets. The Heart of Palm salad was amazing! The bar is very nice, as are the rooms with a nice large shower. We stayed in #8 which I believe is the most private room of all. Lots of grounds for our small dog to roam around and still be safe. Lovely birds in the trees and you can hear the howler monkeys. If you just want to relax in a lovely spot with lovely views, this hotel is perfect. If you want to explore, you can explore a bit by foot though you have that large hill to come back up, or you'd be better served with a rental or a shuttle.

Pool very nice but too much chlorine - need googles if open your eyes underwater. No discount or refund if need to change to an earlier check-out. Location not great if you want to do excursions / explore and don't have a vehicle. Can walk to the beach & the village but may be considered a long walk for some, and need to walk on the highway - but everyone does this in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank babryanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015

We got there by bus and it was a little adventure, first trying to find the right bus, then findind out we had to walk up a "little hill". Nothing so bad, but it's good to have in mind that to get there you will have to drag your suitcases up the hill. A wise decision when going to this region is renting a car! After the walk up( if you insist), you'll be rewarded by a fantastic view! The sea, the forest, all those trees around the hotel, the birds singing...
Very good cleaning service, thanks to Lady/Leidi! Breakfast is also good. At the end of the day, take some time to sit by the pool and watch the sunset. Toucans might come and make the scenery (and your pictures) even more beautiful. If you don't want to go out for dinner, you can sit at the restaurant and choose some of the delicious dishes they offer.
If you want to go to the beach you see from the hotel, you'll have to walk a little... Once you're on the road, walk 500 meters and take the path after the bridge (the same instruction if you walk to the left or to the right). When you get to the beach you'll probably see 2 or 4 other people... Enjoy your almost private beach.
I had a great time. Positive experience!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Having traveled from Canada by motorcycle and experiencing dozens of Hotels along the way, this one was fantastic. Nice signage to find your way, excellent flow from reception to your room. All the details seemed to be addressed. A quick tour and explanation before paying ensured you knew what to expect. To get a mountain view, you must first climb the mountain obviously. The road was better than most off- highway routes I've seen. A pool, a bar, a restaurant and a view. All you need for a night or two. It's German efficiency and more business like sure, but after staying in other confusing and disjointed places, it was a relief. If they planted a garden instead of all the grass, some would complain about losing the ocean view. Can't win right?

The guests were put in separate duplexes where possible for privacy. All the places in Central America are paper thin walled with lots of noise from other guests. The truck noise was minor compared to many others and not an issue. I feel the complainers are just starting to travel here and not aware of these other countries enough to know a good thing. You're not in North America anymore.

Thanks for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Reaver66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews