We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Southern Pacific Getaway Spot!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Spent two nights at the Lookout at Playa Tortuga and was very pleased with every aspect of my stay! Great food and service - friendly staff and breath taking views and property!

New management has definitely stepped up all aspects of this charming property - awesome choice!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyCostaRicaLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsaJohn, General Manager at Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Hello,
I appreciate your kind words regarding Lookout Hotel and our service. My staff and I look forward to welcoming you back later this month!
Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2015

First time I spent a night at the Lookout, nice place but need refreshing. The room I got with my roommate was very small, one small fan over the main bed but nothing for the single bed. Bathroom was more fit for a kid than an adult. Almost need a 4/4 to get to the motel.
Could find better for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RWPrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

After traveling up the coast from Playa Carate and staying at The Lookout Inn Lodge just outside the Corcovado National Park, which was insanely magical, we landed here at Hotel Lookout. After a 4 hour drive, we were "greeted" by the male owner who was not inviting in the least. He quickly asked us if we would be eating dinner with them, and we said yes. He then asked what time we would like to eat and we responded 7pm. He told us no and said 6:30. We thought that was strange to be asked if we didn't really have a choice, but brushed it off as he showed us to our room.

The rooms are decent. Nothing too special, but it did have a/c. We are young, adventurous people, so the room was the least important part for us. As many of the reviews state, the view from the hotel is pretty great. The sunsets are beautiful and the grounds are lush. The pool is a nice accommodation, yet it will leave your feet and whatever body part is touching the sides or bottom bright blue.

I think the most disappointing thing about our stay was how we were treated. We were probably the youngest couple staying at the resort and there were only 2 other couples from the US staying at the hotel at this time, and I can say without a doubt, we were all discriminated against and treated poorly. Myself and the other US couples there seem to be amazing, respectful, loving people, and were in Costa RIca to enjoy our time. It was unfortunate to have the owners be so rude and put a damper on our stay.

I would only recommend this place to older people that enjoy sitting quietly all day and are not looking to interact with others. If you want to be social and get to know people and the wonderful culture of Costa Rica, this German owned hotel is definitely not for you.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0VEnLIGHT84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jed448, General Manager at Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2015

Greetings! I appreciate your frank review of the Hotel Lookout. As of March 15, 2015, I am the new General Manager--Many improvements are currently underway. It is my hope that you will return to the Lookout in the future. I know your experience will be much improved. Again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2015

The hotel and grounds are very nice with its terracotta and its restaurant overlooking the Pacific with its amazing sunsets. The Heart of Palm salad was amazing! The bar is very nice, as are the rooms with a nice large shower. We stayed in #8 which I believe is the most private room of all. Lots of grounds for our small dog to roam around and still be safe. Lovely birds in the trees and you can hear the howler monkeys. If you just want to relax in a lovely spot with lovely views, this hotel is perfect. If you want to explore, you can explore a bit by foot though you have that large hill to come back up, or you'd be better served with a rental or a shuttle.

Pool very nice but too much chlorine - need googles if open your eyes underwater. No discount or refund if need to change to an earlier check-out. Location not great if you want to do excursions / explore and don't have a vehicle. Can walk to the beach & the village but may be considered a long walk for some, and need to walk on the highway - but everyone does this in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank babryanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015

We got there by bus and it was a little adventure, first trying to find the right bus, then findind out we had to walk up a "little hill". Nothing so bad, but it's good to have in mind that to get there you will have to drag your suitcases up the hill. A wise decision when going to this region is renting a car! After the walk up( if you insist), you'll be rewarded by a fantastic view! The sea, the forest, all those trees around the hotel, the birds singing...
Very good cleaning service, thanks to Lady/Leidi! Breakfast is also good. At the end of the day, take some time to sit by the pool and watch the sunset. Toucans might come and make the scenery (and your pictures) even more beautiful. If you don't want to go out for dinner, you can sit at the restaurant and choose some of the delicious dishes they offer.
If you want to go to the beach you see from the hotel, you'll have to walk a little... Once you're on the road, walk 500 meters and take the path after the bridge (the same instruction if you walk to the left or to the right). When you get to the beach you'll probably see 2 or 4 other people... Enjoy your almost private beach.
I had a great time. Positive experience!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
2 km away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 5 in Ojochal
239 reviews
1.6 km away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ojochal
270 reviews
6.3 km away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
14.4 km away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 13 in Uvita
666 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Mamma e Papa
Hotel Mamma e Papa
#5 of 5 in Ojochal
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga

Address: | 200 Meters East from La Ferreteria de La Costa Grupo Materiales, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range: S$170 - S$261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast is included in your Guestroom Rate. Our hotel has twelve cozy bungalows with Queen beds (Junior Suite Rooms have one King Bed and one Queen Bed), Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Tiled Floors, Large Hot Water Showers, and individual Patios with outdoor furniture. Hotel Lookout features magnificent views of both the Pacific Ocean and Jungle Wildlife. In the evening, from our 2nd Floor Lookout, open-air bistro, cozy lounge or outdoor pool, sit back, enjoy a glass of wine and watch the sun set over the ocean. What could be better after a day at the beach or a day full of fun activities? Ready for fun? Whether you choose to spend the day bird-watching, relaxing at the beach, exploring the nature trails, enjoying a really good massage, hiking to a waterfall or ziplining through the trees, the Lookout at Playa Tortuga is the perfect place to explore the wonders of the Osa Penninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout At Playa Tortuga Hotel Ojochal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing