We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Rakuten Travel
Priceline
US$73
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Vio.com
Trip.comUS$96
ZenHotels.comUS$104
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
24
72
48
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
72
48
10
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Though not as luxurious as expected, it is in a small town so I would assume the hotel is considered "grand" locally. Rooms are clean, buffet for breakfast and dinner is average. We stayed at the room overlooking the ocean and bridges which is great. Only indoor hot spring.
A special note, there is a boat racing place within walking distance which is fun to go if you have never seen boat racing.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hotel is big, looks outdated but very well taken care of. It is located about ten minutes from Marugame train station, from this station you can go to Okayama station and then to anywhere.
They have Japanese rooms and western style rooms, I had stayed in the latter for two nights,
The room is very clean, and equipped with water heater, two green tea, tv , no English channels though, the rooms need to be renovated. The bathroom is not big but has soap, shampoo , shaving kits, tooth paste& etc.
The breakfast is of buffet type, Japanese and western, nice food but don't expect too much, this is not the four season & this is Japan.
I would stay there for sure but I would not recommend Marugame for sightseeing
The price was very cheap, two nights cost me 167$ total.

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOHDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My family (My husband, 5-yr old son and I) spent 7 nights over Thanksgiving holiday using this place as a base to tour western Kagawa region. This hotel is not affiliated with the Okura Hotel and Resorts, a premier Japanese hotel group. The name Okura comes from the hotel’s owner, Okura Industrial Co, Marugame headquartered plastic film and housing materials company.

Highs:
- absolutely wonderful huge Japanese bath overlooking the sea and Seto-bridge.
- Great breakfast –both western and Japanese choices.
- Personable staff that goes out of their way to welcome and serve guests.

Lows:
- In room plastic “Unit Bath” was rather constricting and cheap looking.
- Hotel staffs speak limited English.
- Need a car to get around.

Location:
Marugame was convenient base to tour western Kagawa (see activities). It is about 1+ hour drive from Takamatsu Airport. The hotel is built on reclaimed land, thus allowing a great ocean view from every room. Marugame boat race arena is located just a few blocks from there. Good local restaurants specializing the seafood are located within walking distance.

Room:
We stayed at “Special Twin Room”, a corner room with two windows with ocean views. “Twin room” means a room with two beds, not twin bed(s). The beds were about double size. The room size was generous.

Bath Experience:
The hotel has beautiful granite huge baths (male and female) overlooking the inland sea and bridge. While this is not an “onsen (hot spring)”, one can have a near onsen-quality experience, as the bath is so large and beautiful. My son absolutely loved this ofuro and he enjoyed soaking twice a day.

The changing room was clean and was well stocked bathroom amenities. It also had a soda/water vending machine and massage machine –a utilitarian approach, but common in Japan.

Service:
Hotel staff goes out of their way to serve and please their guests. Their English is limited, but be patient and either speak slowly or write down the request – they will do their best to assist you. You feel very well looked after.

Food:
My son loved the Japanese breakfast buffet and he was delighted to try the delicious dishes every morning. Western food was also fine and as with other Japanese hotels/coffee shops, they serve very good coffee.

The hotel’s other restaurants are fine. The front desk advised me on several nearby restaurants but urged me to try a nearby seafood restaurant (5 min walk), Kabocha (Pumpkin in Japanese – go figure). It was more like a Japanese pub (nomiya) and indeed served outstanding seafood dishes. Fish from Seto Inland Sea are exceptional! Kagawa is known for udon noodles, but I truly value its quality of seafood.

Guests:
This is a local gathering place. While we were there, we saw school reunions, weddings, conferences, etc. It can get quite busy on weekend for touring groups, such as Ohenro pilgrimage groups. Surprisingly we saw lots of young Japanese Ohenro pilgrims. During weekdays, hotel guests were mostly business travelers.

Activities:
While we ended up covering only western Kagawa, we enjoyed many activities such as making Udon at Nakano Udon School (Kotohira), making Uchiwa (Japanese fan) at Uchiwa Museum (Marugame), learning Sake making process at Kinryo (Kotohira), touring Mt. Shiude-yama (Takuma) where you can see the breathtakingly beautiful islands in Seto Inland Seas. This is where the legend of Urashima-Taro started.

Acid Test:
Would we come back?
Yes! On our next visit to Kagawa, we would use this place as a base and try eastern Kagaga to visit the Isamu Noguchi Museum, Stone Quarries (reason why Isamu Noguchi lived there), and 3-Michelin Star Ritsurin Japanese Garden.

Room tip: Ask for special corner room. It is a litlle more expensive, but you can get wonderful ocean view from two windows.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mochi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here on our road trip through Shikoku. Shikoku was wonderful and this hotel is perfect if you are traveling through by car. It is difficult to reach if you don't have a car. We got a good package at 6600 yen for a double room for two persons without breakfast. This was through rakuten. We were not really interested in the boat races but it was kind of fun to see them from our window.
The 'onsen' bath is very nice, but don't expect much of a view - the windows are not clear because of the steam.
Don't get breakfast, just get your own breakfast at a convenience store the previous day and put it in the fridge.
I liked the souvenir shop, especially the Marugame fans and bamboo stands.

Room tip: Get a room on one of the higher floors if you have a choice. The view is nice.
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 October 2011

There's not really that much in Marugame - it's a small town on the edge of Shikoku, and I'm not sure if there's really much industry here or anything going on. I stayed here for a week and the main thing that happens is busloads of Japanese pensioners are driven down to the stadium opposite the Okura Hotel, where 'Blue Night Marugame', a power-boat racing team, drives boats in circles for hours every night.

Of course, you might really, really like that.

The hotel is at the end of a long, featureless road; there's really not much down here, but you can walk over into town where there are a few restaurants (friendly, but don't expect much in the way of English language). The rooms are small but give you a bath as well as a shower, a wardrobe and a desk to sit at, which may sound like faint praise, but when you've lived in a capsule hotel this is a nice upgrade.

No wifi, but there's internet from a cable sticking out of the desk, and that doesn't cost. There's a free bus shuttle to the railway every morning, or else you can walk (about half an hour's trudge in light rain most days). The hotel does have some ballrooms and a few restaurants (breakfast is not at all good if you've got western tastes - may be fine if you're Japanese) but the whole place was pretty empty in March - may well be the wrong season to visit Marugame, but I don't remember it being a crowded hotspot in summer (when I visited 14 years ago).

So if you're here for business it's adequate, but I'd be surprised if you enjoyed coming here just for the sake of the location.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrCushtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews