We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
133
104
18
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
104
18
9
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2016

A very large hotel but by no means impersonal. The staff are superb and really friendly. You may not see another westerner in the hotel; the hotel seems to be very popular with the Japanese.
The room is OK, Ryokan style but the bathroom is in a desperate need of an update.
The location is great, a short drive to all the good walks. The views are amazing and there is even a walk from the hotel to the surrounding woods.
The food is very Japanese but it is fresh.
The Western style breakfast is not great and the coffee is probably one of the worst. I didn't try the Japanese breakfast.
This is a good hotel but nothing special although the staff make up for most of its shortcomings.

Room Tip: Get a room as close to the top as possible, facing the front.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pokyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
霧島ホテル, Chief of Reservation Desk at Kirishima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Pokyyy,

Thank you for your kind feed back after your recent stay at Kirishima Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that our staff is doing a good job.
We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.

Seiichi Hazeyama on behalf of Kirishima Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

The Kirishima is an Onsen style hotel and aimed mostly at Japanese families wanting an Onsen (i.e. spa bathing) experience. We chose the hotel for its location close to Kirishima national parks and weren't disappointed being quite close to some excellent walks, thermal areas and lakes.

We had a western/japanese room which was enormous as it has both a tatami mat sleeping area and a double western bedroom. Two toilets and a sitting room completed the accommodation.

The dinners were amazing serving excellent ingredients (abalone, sea urchin, lobster, wagyu beef, crab etc.), beautifully cooked and in an atmospheric dining room looking out onto a flood lit forest!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The highlight of this place definitely has to be the baths. Picture an amusement park for onsen lovers. Hot, cold, outdoor, indoor, fountains you name it. It is a real blast playing in all the tubs and pools, though the water was generally not as hot as we like it. Kids would absolutely love it. It's not as relaxing as sitting in a quiet onsen or rotemburo by yourself but it is a fun break from "tradition". The food was quite good, both the dinner and the buffet breakfast. The dinner was served in courses, not all at the same time, which was a nice touch, and all washed down with ice cold sake. Try to ask for a room not facing the front driveway and carpark as you may be awoken early by the sound of people leaving and buses driving up.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SingaporeGaribaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The Kirishima area is a great escape and the hotel is in a perfect park setting. I could not find an english website to book from, so went to a JTB travel bureau in Tokyo. I imagine you could have phoned the hotel directly. Staff is able to speak some english and greatly desire to speak more. We were treated very well. Public Bus service almost to the door. Grand Bath was great, and there were many small pools around. Temperatures varied, so I could always find one of a good temperature. Breakfast was buffet style, which I like, with lots of choices. Dinners were well presented, had great variety and were super tasty.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stegasaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed today via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews