We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Yoyokaku(Karatsu)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Uohan(Karatsu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Asuka Hotel(Karatsu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
30
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobsterexcellent foodsashimitanksresidencebayseajapanbuildingonsendinner
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017

私は主人と家族とともに九州北部で1週間を過ごしました。私たちはみずの旅館に7日間滞在しましたが、それは私たち皆にとって驚くべきすばらしい経験となりました。
みずの旅館は美しい浜辺に面していて、部屋から望む海のながめはそれは素敵なものでした。
旅館のシェフ(板長)のみつるさんは、考え抜かれた夕食の献立を用意され、常に目をみはらせるような完璧な料理をされました。
旅館の主人(おかみさん)のゆみこさんとスタッフのみなさんには、とても親切にしていただきました。
私たちは日本の伝統が大好きですが、今回、みずの旅館に滞在中、とても暖かくおもてなしいただきましたので、ゆっくりとくつろぐことができ大変ありがたく思っております。
ゆみこさん、みつるさん、そしてスタッフのみなさん、日本のとてもすばらしい思い出をいただきありがとうございました。
日本の伝統文化と日本料理のすばらしさを体験したいという方がいましたら、みずの旅館を是非ともおすすめしようと思っています。

I spent a week in the northern part of Kyushu with my husband and my parents. We stayed at at Mizuno Ryokan for 7 days. It was an amazing experience for all of us. Mizuno Ryokan is situated right next to a beautiful beach. The lookout from our rooms is fantastic ocean view. Mitsuru-san, the Chef of Ryokan continuously impressed us with his perfection in cooking and surprised us with thoughtful dinner menus. The owner of Ryokan, Yumiko-san and her staff were super nice and friendly. We love the tradition of Japan and we were grateful for the warm hospitality and feeling of being home during our stay Ryokan. Thank you so much to Yumiko-san, Mitsuru-san and all staff members for giving us a great memory of Japan. I have no hesitation recommending Mizuno Ryokan to anyone who wants to experience tradition culture of Japan and great taste of Japanese cuisine.

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic ocean view but not all rooms have private bath. When booking hotel room, you may specify your preference.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MauMau427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Hotel is located on the seaside. Small but very good service all staff are very friendly and helpful. We pay for one night dinner and breakfast were included. They expert in seafood all live and fresh. Small town you can find anything and not far from Fukuoka.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sathok V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Finally I could realise my hope and visit this wonderful place again, this time with my husband. We also stayed for 2 nights as I knew the virtues of this place. And indeed we were happy about our decision. We did enjoy the location : quiet, with a simply great view. The comfortable room, Hime room has its own bathroom, with all luxury aspects, including a wooden bath and a fully automatic toilet.
The location is perfect : an easy evening stroll to the castle, a quiet morning walk along the beach, Takatori residence at walking distance.
And then there is the food. Every little aspect a delight.
Mizuno is a perfect place to learn about Japanese luxury, to celebrate any occasion, to relax and recuperate.
I am an onsen aficionado, and there is - alas- no onsen in Mizuno. But I choose to come here because of all the other qualities it offers.
The welcome is so refined, heartfelt and careful.
I do not know when, but I seriously hope to return here in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinjoorAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

There are four features that make Mizuno a wonderful ryokan. First, the views from the rooms are magnificent – straight out onto the bay and islands. Second, the food is truly excellent, with ultra fresh ingredients, superb cooking, and beautiful presentation. Third, it has two lovely inside cedar baths (male and female) which are fine for 2-3 people at a time. These are great to soak in after a day of walking. Finally, the staff are great – helpful, gracious, and always smiling.

We also found the location very handy. Take a stroll along the beach before or after breakfast, alternatively you can easily walk up to the castle for a great view, even though the castle itself is currently subject to restoration works. Mizuno is also just 100 metres from the former Takatori residence which is an architectural wonder. If you enjoy Japanese architecture and its transition to include western features then you will love this huge and rambling Takatori house.

Getting to/from the station is just a short taxi ride, or a 15 minute walk, depending on how much luggage you have with you.

In short, Mizuno is a marvellous town-based ryokan.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with family during their quiet season. We loved all aspects of the experience. A family owned and run Ryokan with stunning seafood, gorgeous view and typical high standard Japanese service. Also located on a large beach and a short walk from the Karatsu castle, one of the main tourist sites.

Pros
- if you like seafood, particularly sashimi, it does not get fresher than this. They have their own tanks so the sashimi is served minutes after preparation. Not for those that arent adventurous eaters though.
- lovely beach and ocean views from all the rooms
- impeccable service. From helping with our booking up until departure they were extremely helpful despite some language issues. Loved how they has a seafood textbook in English so they could explain what we were eating.

Cons:
- its not a fault of the ryokan but Karatsu is a little dull for sightseeing. Easy to cover in a day. Maybe better in Summer
- like with all Ryokan experiences I do warn that the all inclusive price is not cheap. But well worth it.
- Those stone like pillows arent great for us foreigners.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank OzCol1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews