We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pension Ashitanomori
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
US$347
US$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$247/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Bijintei(Tanabe)
Free cancellation until 30/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Yunomineso(Tanabe)
Free cancellation until 30/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$217
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Free cancellation until 26/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$184
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Free cancellation until 30/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$356
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$105
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$145
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Shimogoten(Tanabe)
US$279
US$246
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
US$62
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
44
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand shrineindoor onsenfather and sonafter a long daylocation is beautifulthe riverstayed here for nightsjapanese stylethe buschaletmixstop
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We arrvied at Pension Ashitanomori after a long day trek from Tajikiri and couldn't have arrived at a better place. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the outdoor onsens were a fantastic way to end the days walk. We also used the inside onsens which are family onsens and were really great. Dinner was an absolutely delicious steak and again service was fantastic. We had to leave on the early bus and there was no problem being up to give us a full breakfast at 5:30am. I would really recommend this as your stopping point!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Pension Ashitanomori was a wonderful place to stay. My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute we spent there - walking, spending time in the hot springs just outside the front door of the Ashitanomori, and using the private onsens available inside. The Ashitanomori is family run. We received most attentive and friendly help throughout our stay. For example, one day we wanted to hike on a trail which began 30 minutes drive away. We were offered a free lift to the start. It's the kind of helpfulness which makes a real difference to a holiday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abeech664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Pension Ashitanomori was a terrific find. Kawayu onsen is mostly unknown to travellers and is more of a place frequented by Japanese but Ashitanomori made staying here easy and a real luxury. Very good value for money we were fed a delicious breakfast and dinner of traditional Japanese and Western food which was all part of the cost of a nights stay. Staff were very friendly and courteous. We were invited to use the hotels private onsen which is open 24 hours and were directly across the road to outdoor public onsen which reached 45 degrees. We jumped from hot spring to cold river which was completely invigorating!!!!! Went on a walk through Hongu during the day with a complimentary snack made by Ashitanomori and were collected afterwards by our host. Slept like champions at night. If you want some time away from the frenetic pace of Japanese cities I can highly recommend this quiet and beautiful spot and Pension Ashitanomori!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

http://www.hongu.jp/english/kawayu/stay_kawayu/index.htm
Telephone: --
This family-run hotel on the banks of the Ohtou River in Kansai province of Japan is an exceptional find. The Swiss-style lodge built by the owner from his own cedar timber is bright and clean, with cheery dining room and private bathing rooms with traditional Japan shower and stone tub. We had a comfortable western-style room with desk and windows overlooking the adjacent river with hot springs in the stony riverbank. On the weekend it was like being at the beach, with people rearranging stones to make their own hot pools, kids splashing in the water and people floating downstream in inner tubes. The atmosphere at the guesthouse is very relaxed and a comfortable mix of western and Japanese style. The brother and sister who help run the hotel both speak English and are very accommodating--they helped me get to and from a three-hour walk on the pilgrimage route leading to the nearby Kumano Hongu Taisha shrine. And the food was fabulous--the first night's dinner was steak and roasted vegetables, Japanese style, and our second dinner was a medley of fishes and more traditional Japanese dishes. I would rate this guesthouse as the nicest hotel in Kawayu.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ShirleySanRafael_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews